REI Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

REI Reviews

Updated Oct 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
REI CEO Eric Artz
Eric Artz
23 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great coworkers and management really does a good job of working with you to create a satisfying work/life balance(in 157 reviews)

  • "great company with great people(in 97 reviews)

Cons
  • "They keep expenses down by not providing full-time work for most of the staff(in 106 reviews)

  • "When you are working part time you cannot expect large paychecks(in 100 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Forecast Analyst in Kent, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at REI full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    People and benefits are great.

    Cons

    Heavy workload can be difficult.

    REI2019-10-16
  2. "A relaxed and fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in West Des Moines, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at REI part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You receive really nice benefits, even working part-time, including health care, 401K, and you get paid to go outside sometimes. You receive amazing insight into the outdoor industry and are expected to know the ins and outs to better serve the customers. A great environment to work in, new ideas are constantly asked for and welcomed, teamwork is a huge part of company culture, and work life balance is very... important as well.

    Show More

    Cons

    You will have to work weekends. Can be stressful at times. It's hard not to spend your money on the crazy deals you receive.

    REI2019-10-14
  3. "Sales Lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Lead 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at REI full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Culture, Balance, Pay, and Benefits,

    Cons

    Employee turnover (as is the case with any retail company)

    REI2019-10-02
  4. "Great place to work. Still retail."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Service Lead 

    I worked at REI full-time

    Pros

    Great flexibility and human staff companions

    Cons

    You are still in retail and have to deal with some poor mannered people.

    REI2019-10-02
  5. "Rei is great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Part Time Sales Associate in Dallas, TX
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at REI part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Outdoor days are awesome

    Cons

    Not a lot of pay

    REI2019-10-01
  6. "Great People, Ever Changing Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate Employee in Kent, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at REI full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I can't say enough good things about the people and the vision of the company. The leadership at REI really walks the talk when it comes to being true to the outdoors and environmental stewardship. I was challenged and encouraged to try new things and take control over my own growth.

    Cons

    While the benefits are good, the salary is not as competitive as it should be for a company relocating to Bellevue. Leadership should also be more transparent in it's decision making and growth plans. Their seems to be a schism growing between retail and corporate, changing the benefits package between what corporate receives and what retail receives didn't seem very equitable.

    Advice to Management

    Take a risk and start looking at internal talent - also start looking at diversity as a company wide focus, this needs to be addressed in all aspects of the business, not just hiring and where you donate money.

    REI2019-09-27
  7. "Awesome place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Specialist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at REI part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very good team management style

    Cons

    It is very hard because of traffic

    REI2019-10-10
  8. "great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 

    I have been working at REI full-time

    Pros

    good pay, good managers, good environment

    Cons

    not organized, not enough communicatio

    REI2019-09-25
  9. "Great company. Fun atmosphere."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier and Customer Service in Colorado Springs, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at REI part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly leadership. Wonderful coworkers. Most customers are pleasant and enjoyable to assist. Amazing discounts on REI brand and other brands. Laid back and fun atmosphere.

    Cons

    As with any job, some times the evenings would go by so S-L-O-W. But other than that, no complaints!

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you’re doing! Working at REI is one of my fondest memories. I truly loved working there.

    REI2019-09-23
  10. "Great member Co-OP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Customer Service in Pittsburgh, PA

    I worked at REI part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Membership - savings, pro tips, classes, discounts, awareness

    Cons

    Low pay, too few hours

    Advice to Management

    Higher pay and more hours

    REI2019-09-23
Found 1571 reviews
</>Embed