RSM Chio Lim "long working hours" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

RSM Chio Lim Employee Reviews about "long working hours"

Updated 7 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.7
31%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
RSM Chio Lim Founding Partner and CEO Chio Kian Huat
Chio Kian Huat
17 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fast pace working environment, strong team bonding, fast learning development and experience gaining(in 13 reviews)

  • "Friendly colleagues at non-management level who are willing to help (if they can find the time)(in 8 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long working hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 

    I worked at RSM Chio Lim

    Pros

    Colleagues are approachable and willing to teach

    Cons

    long working hours especially during peak periods

    RSM Chio Lim2020-03-07
  2. "Senior"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RSM Chio Lim full-time

    Pros

    Friendly working environment. Training oppotunities during non-peak season.

    Cons

    Working hours can be long during peak period.

    RSM Chio Lim2020-01-29
  3. "Entry to singapore"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at RSM Chio Lim full-time

    Pros

    Managers are nice and friendly

    Cons

    Super long working hours

    RSM Chio Lim2019-12-27
  4. "Audit senior"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at RSM Chio Lim full-time

    Pros

    Good working culture and colleagues

    Cons

    Long working hours and lack of guidance and supervision

    Continue reading
    RSM Chio Lim2019-10-06
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Not suitable for generation Z"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at RSM Chio Lim full-time

    Pros

    Friendly colleagues that will accompany you through tough times but only a few of them left in the firm

    Cons

    - Long working hours - high expectation on quality of work when no guidance provided (mere verbal guidance) and unrealistic timeline given by managers due to lack of staff - expect work to be done over the weekend

    Continue reading
    RSM Chio Lim2019-08-10
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at RSM Chio Lim full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Job opportunity for fresh graduates Given overseas opportunities Stepping stone for many to enter other companies Provide adequate training and resources Promotions and yearly bonuses as incentives to keep people

    Cons

    Low remuneration, never ending workload Long working hours and expected to work over the weekends Company hire many foreigners and PRs Locals are made up of several fresh graduates who leave after the 2 years bond Office politics

    Continue reading
    RSM Chio Lim2019-05-11
  7. "Audit Senior"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Audit Senior 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RSM Chio Lim full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good colleagues, n/a, n/a, n/a

    Cons

    Long working hours, forever peak period

    RSM Chio Lim2019-03-04
  8. "good company can work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at RSM Chio Lim full-time

    Pros

    nice colleagues and managers to work with, good bonus

    Cons

    long working hours and relatively lower pay compared with similar companies

    Continue reading
    RSM Chio Lim2018-10-25
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Pros & Cons of working at RSM Chio Lim LLP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at RSM Chio Lim full-time

    Pros

    1. Culture – The environment encourages pro-active learning with a lot of guidance provided from the managers and partners to aid you through the steep learning curve. Team work is strongly emphasised in the organisation and for first year audit assistants, they are each assigned a buddy to simulate them into the company and to provide guidance and on the job training (eg. Familiarisation with the RSM audit methodology, standard operating procedures/protocols, admin matters, how to resolve audit issues, etc) 2. Open door policy – Given the family oriented culture in the company, we are always not afraid to walk in our partner’s room for discussion of matters, be it audit related matters or any issues faced during our career in the organisation. Amidst their busy schedule, they are always willing to spare time for you as your well-being and any issues/concerns you have matter to them. 3. Career progression – As the company is a large SME and in line with expansion plans, there is definitely room for progression in this company based on merit. Together with our managers and partners, as long as career goals and expectations of the employee are aligned with those of the company, ways will be worked out with management to enable the employee to further realise his/her potential in the organisation. 4. Empowerment – As the auditors are 90% of the time out at client’s place to conduct the financial audits, trust in the employee forms the foundation in this organisation. Empowerment is given to the employee to manage his/her schedule without compromising the quality of work and timeliness of deliverables if the employee has proven his/her credibility thus far.

    Cons

    1. Open culture of upward feedback – In the last 4.5 years of my career, appraisal sessions between the employee and management has been a downward feedback model, with the manager/partner providing comments on the performance of the staff and suggestions for room for improvement. It was a one way feedback rather than a two way feedback whereby management too, gets feedback on their performance in terms of eg. management style and room for improvement. However, just recently, the company has implemented a 2 way feedback to obtain feedback from the employees on how management can do things better and to align goals. The company is also encouraging a more open culture on upward feedback and transparency in the organisation. 2. Long working hours – Given the nature of the audit industry and with expansion growth plans of the company (with an exponential increase in new clients on-board), employees may face long working hours and overtime hours depending on the nature of the audit engagement given to them (eg. Listed companies, IPOs have tighter deadlines to be met). Not only the employee, but the manager and partner on the audit engagement work together to meet deliverables set out. This may be a challenge for some, however, on a positive note, these challenges will in turn help the employee growth and develop their potential in their career.

    Continue reading
    RSM Chio Lim2018-04-11
  10. Helpful (8)

    "RSM Chio Lim... "Big 5"? Nah."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Audit Associate in Singapore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at RSM Chio Lim full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I'm fortunate that the people in my team are nice. And that's pretty much it for the pros.

    Cons

    Poor starting salary - Senior partner says it's a tradeoff for "better clientele".... but honestly I don't see any good clients in my department. Their accounts are so messy, figures dont tie, missing files, etc. By right we should disclaim their FS but since the client is friends with our partner.... no choice but to issue a clean opinion. Poor increment - Really poopy increment. Unflexible working hours Lack of manpower and staff

    Continue reading
    RSM Chio Lim2018-04-21
Found 13 reviews