Rail Gourmet Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Rail Gourmet Reviews

Updated Jul 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 reviews

2.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
12%
Recommend to a Friend
16%
Approve of CEO
Edy Fischer
5 Ratings
  1. "Steward"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cork

    I worked at Rail Gourmet full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good place to improve your language skills if not you are not a native English speaker.

    Cons

    Trolleys are very heavy and difficult to get between carriages. Long shifts sometimes..

    Rail Gourmet2019-07-19
  2. "Not Recommended"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - On Board Host in Derby, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rail Gourmet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * work on your own *simple job requirements

    Cons

    * Incredibly poor pay *Awful disorganised management *Very erratic hours *No benefits

    Rail Gourmet2019-07-17
  3. "terrible company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Train Steward in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Rail Gourmet part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    you get a discount card for ssp

    Cons

    this company is awful for months not paid correctly, no reasonable explanation. I think because paid hourly they hope i cant keep track of my hours , this is backed up by the confusing payslip and replys from hr. do not get a job with this company

    Advice to Management

    make payslips simple the least u can do is pay your staff correctly

    Rail Gourmet2019-06-06
  4. "Enjoyed the experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Train Steward in Wexford
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rail Gourmet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I love serving customers as there travelling so for me it was an enjoyable job to be constantly on the go and moving to different places.

    Cons

    No security on the trolleys you have to be very aware of your till there was no lock for the tills. I didn't enjoy dealing with people drinking a lot onboard and annoying other passengers as I was the only trolley attendant onboard no security. Also, the spare shifts were one of the main reasons I left coming in on your day off to make sure the other person gets on the train. They should trust there staff to come in...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Progression is limited but as a job, while you study to go up the ladder it's great!

    Rail Gourmet2019-02-12
  5. "Sale assistant on board on Irish trains"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sale Assistant in Carrigaline
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rail Gourmet full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexibilities,someghing new every day,good collegue

    Cons

    Work by your own mostly of the time

    Advice to Management

    Management to appriciate more their workrs

    Rail Gourmet2018-10-24
  6. "You can find better job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Steward in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rail Gourmet part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    You get to know lovely people and you can make friends for life

    Cons

    Bad management, looks down at staff

    Advice to Management

    Start respecting others

    Rail Gourmet2018-09-18
  7. "A sinking ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CSA in Sheffield, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rail Gourmet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free tea and coffee and a staff discount (although we use to get free staff issue of any stock in the service centre)

    Cons

    Poor management, huge staff turnover, poor wages, treated like a number rather then a person, all they've bothered about is how much money they can make, poor staff training and people skills, instead of taking responsibility management shift the blame onto you, no official breaks expected to work non stop for 8 hours (although you do get some quite periods) full of two faced back stabbers.

    Advice to Management

    Take responsibility Insted of passing the buck and blaming your employees for your poor management and lack of proper training. Send supervisors/team leaders on management and people skills courses so they can learn how to do their job properly. Don't just promote anyone, treat your employees like people. Pay higher wages.

    Rail Gourmet2017-11-02
  8. "Hard job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Steward in Westport
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rail Gourmet part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Chance to work as a single unit, commission from sales, long hours, less days to work, time spent waiting for Train back is paid

    Cons

    Bad management, low salary, stressful job, unsociable hours to work, poor staff food, no career progress possible, no pay rise after years...

    Rail Gourmet2017-10-04
  9. "worked on board"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Rail Gourmet full-time

    Pros

    to meet some new people, some of them could be famous as well. to meet new friends

    Cons

    long hours; management attitude to personal stuff

    Rail Gourmet2017-09-28
  10. "Just another number"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Steward 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rail Gourmet part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free lunch Free water Free coffee Commission Friendly coworkers Decent amount of holiday time given (see cons) Tips from customers

    Cons

    Management don't listen to employee suggestions or complaints, they're just ignored Quick to blame employees for problems Management show favouritism Long days with awkward hours Very early starts Need to book holidays early or you may not get them Can be called in to work last minute, on call on days off No raise in pay after years of service High staff turnover

    Rail Gourmet2017-07-04
Found 19 reviews