Rakuten Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Rakuten Reviews

Updated 12 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
68%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Rakuten CEO Hiroshi Mikitani
Hiroshi Mikitani
17 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great office environment, free lunch, fun gatherings and parties often(in 140 reviews)

  • "working in rakuten has helped me achieve a really good work life balance(in 70 reviews)

Cons
  • "Asakai(morning meeting) attendance affect your evaluation(in 33 reviews)

  • "Low salary compared to majority of tech companies(in 29 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Coolest place to work in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rakuten full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. Rakuten culture is very transparent and focus is on quality of work 2. Management is supportive to solve any issues employees are facing 3.Good amount of work to do and lots of learning 4.opportunity is very vast and flexibility to explore multiple options 5.Good mentors , senior level managers and directors are extremely supportive 6.Good amount of benefits given 7.working in rakuten has helped me achieve... a really good work life balance 9. Employees are cared for and feedback is taken regardless of what level you are in the organisation

    Show More

    Cons

    Rewards programme could be little better However it has improved drastically from what it used to be 2 years ago

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Rakuten2019-05-10
  2. "Best place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior QA Engineer II in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rakuten full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very transparent hierarchy. Leadership team is always available. Learning and exploring is encouraged

    Cons

    Parking is little cumbersome. Hope it will be fixed in new office

    Rakuten2019-10-26
  3. "Better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pune City
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rakuten part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible environment,platform to learn things

    Cons

    Work pressure is more, need to be very fast

    Advice to Management

    It’s good

    Rakuten2019-10-29
  4. Helpful (10)

    "Highly disorganised, chaotic, and full of unprofessional people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Development Engineer II in Bangalore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rakuten full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free ok food. Good laptop.

    Cons

    This organisation is highly disorganised, chaotic, and full of unprofessional people. They keep dictating you a set of rules, and nobody them-selves want to follow any rules. Micro management. Worst HRs.

    Rakuten2019-08-03
  5. Helpful (30)

    "Service Company MindSet , NO development , Micro Management in core Principles of the Company !!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Bangalore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rakuten full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Laptop, Free Food which is not good .

    Cons

    where to start , 1 India Rakuten center is established for 24/7 monitoring only and only ,whether you have come from Full stack background or Backend you will be handed over a Support Phone and will be asked to do Application Support . All the good development work is routed to japan teams and monitering and support work is being dumped to india 2 .There is no tech stack here just maintenance and Filling up... confluence pages and Lot of confluence pages 3 .Strict Timing Culture Like it has been followed in service Companies . 4..Asakai meetings on early monday mornings are just pure headache . 5.Infrastructure is not good , no cabins and some meeting rooms does-not have tables and chairs which can result in regular back pain. 6.You can find micro management in core values in rakuten (they will represent this like our unique culture .) i.e Japanese slave culture . 7.They will trap you by giving you good money (off-course ) on your current offer letter . Last but not the Least if you dont consider my review or thinking i am over exaggerating you will defiantly regret after joining there.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Why you are ruining people careers if dont have any work apart from Application support ?

    Rakuten2019-03-15
  6. Helpful (10)

    "Good Place to Learn/Implement and best work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Lead in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rakuten full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Learning Graph is always high Good Use of FullStack/Latest Tools and Technologies Employee Friendly and Good work Life Balance No MicroManagement from Higher level Located near to Trinity Metro station. Good Pay and Free Meals/Breakfast Good Ambience

    Cons

    Needs to invest more in Marketing the Rakuten Brand in India -Bangalore

    Rakuten2018-08-29
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Electrical engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electrical Engineer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rakuten full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    To extract the inner talent under the guidance of extremely talented gentleman with the help of the multi national company

    Cons

    To be genuine will be completing the degree this year so really excited to work under this talent

    Advice to Management

    -

    Rakuten2018-09-01
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Average Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - QA Engineer in Bangalore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rakuten full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Rakuten is a good place to work, just not for me. My co-workers were very friendly after I was there for a couple weeks. The hardest part of the job was moving as fast as management wanted. Sometimes it was not as easy as management thought.

    Cons

    HR policy and not decent HR

    Rakuten2018-08-01
  9. Helpful (22)

    "Worst company I ever worked, Not good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Development Engineer in Bangalore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rakuten full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Free lunch for employees - Good laptop - WorkLife balance is good

    Cons

    - A highly disorganized, chaotic and fragile place to work. There is no proper process of anything in this company. - People here keep putting blames on each other, and throwing work away from their shoulder. - List of rules and no one follow(In India) - No one cares for growth, but every time they tell its for your growth. - Toooo much demotivating meetings. - Managers think they are very much claver and... escape from troubles. - No wide line for carrier growth. - Legacy code and issue fixes. All project and products are developed in Japan. India only maintaince project. - No once cares growth all are stick to existing rules and follows them blindly. - Every one try to inpress Japan team. - All ways Manager try to demotivate.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Managers please listen to employee issues and suggetion and work on them. - Bring good project to team - Motivate team for they carrier growth.

    Rakuten2018-08-01
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Nice Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software QA Engineer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rakuten full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Awesome Infrastructure Good Learning Good Pay Free Meals Free transportation Lot of free trainings

    Cons

    I could not find any

    Rakuten2018-06-07
Found 29 reviews