ResMed Employee Reviews about "growing pains"

Updated Oct 12, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 of over 619 reviews

4.1
79%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
ResMed CEO Mick Farrell
Mick Farrell
346 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good work-life balance-you have to create it(in 58 reviews)

  • "Great benefits, good work/life balance, challenging(in 27 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work life balance has all but vanished(in 14 reviews)

  • "Company has suffered greatly from growing pains(in 11 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "growing pains"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      ResMed Halifax is one of the best places to work in the region

      Oct 12, 2017 - Software Development Engineer in Halifax, NS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Meaningful work, that literally helps to improve improve health and potentially save lives - Strong benefits packages and very competitive salaries - Good work life balance - Excellent culture - Strong leadership that wants to focus on continuous improvement

      Cons

      - Some growing pains as the company expands, but everyone is quite supportive and understanding during transition periods - Lacking some clear direction at the program level--still trying to figure out what makes sense and truly adds value - Parking can be an issue in the winter months

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Poor training. Poor communication. Ineffective management.

      Jun 18, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Halifax, NS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good salary, excellent benefit package, nice office facility, free coffee and snacks, monthly social events. Most people are nice in the office.

      Cons

      Growing pains as company expands and resources are not in place to keep up. Terrible training. Poor communication from manager to team and between departments. The kind of place where you'll do well if you pretend you are accomplishing something and know how to use the right catch phrases.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful

      ResMed Response

      Senior HR Business Partner

      I want to thank you for taking time to give us your feedback. It is clear from your review that you care about our team and have ideas for how we can improve. Our goal is to create an engaging, transparent and collaborative environment for all our employees. People are our greatest resource and our team and culture have provided us the foundation to be recognized by Progress Magazine Best Places to Work, Atlantic Canada’s Top Employers and Nova Scotia’s Top Employers lists. That said, you’re right – we are growing and as we grow we will need to continue looking to each of our team members to champion the change that they want to see in our organization. I would love to hear some of your ideas so we can talk through an actionable plan to drive an even better environment at ResMed. Thanks again for the feedback.

    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      ResMed

      May 1, 2017 - Manager in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Competitive Salary. Beautiful Facility.

      Cons

      Work/Life balance is said to be encouraged but by personal experience was not supported. Company has suffered greatly from growing pains. High turnover from career seekers wanting to gain experience then moving on.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful

      ResMed Response

      CEO

      Thanks for the feedback - work/life balance is incredibly important here at ResMed, and I'm sorry you didn't experience that support. Maybe some folks think I'm joking when I say that the best ResMedian is someone who shows up Monday powered-up by a beautiful weekend with family and friends... I'm not joking, I know it's true! I'll keep fighting to drive the true ResMed culture! Thanks again for sharing your thoughts.

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Work life balance / Supportive upper management

      Jul 29, 2016 - Senior Administrative Assistant in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work life balance is here. At times I need flexibility due to outside obligations. ResMed gives you the tools to do your job outside of the office when necessary and trust in their employees to get the job done without micromanagement (but with that said I prefer being at the office as I work with such amazing people and have made wonderful friends - great amenities and energy at the office as well). Lastly, several of those in my department have been promoted in the year that I have been here. If you work hard and add value you will be recognized; simple. The culture here is really wonderful. I have previously worked at companies in San Diego who are considered heavy hitters and ResMed is by far head and shoulders above any of my previous employers primarily b/c the culture outshines the others. My supervisor is kind and calm and yet has a very demanding role. I feel very lucky.

      Cons

      Honestly, I cannot really think of any cons. We are growing every day and are very busy here so there are some minor growing pains, but this to me is ultimately a pro, not a con as it will serve us all well in the long run.

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      GREAT place to work!

      Aug 8, 2016 - Solutions Consulting 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Small company culture within large global organization. Innovative, results driven, fun and rewarding environment. Can't beat it!

      Cons

      Typical growing pains that any company growing this quickly would go through. Generally managed well when issues arise.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work

      Jul 15, 2016 -  in Halifax, NS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people and culture are excellent. A group of motivated and talented people making amazing products. Everyone is genuinely willing to help everyone else do amazing work as well.

      Cons

      I am too new to have many cons. My only concern is that company is growing rapidly so we may suffer the growing pains later.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      ResMed Halifax=fun, productive environment

      Jul 12, 2016 -  in Halifax, NS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Combine the best parts of a laid back, fun environment with productivity and people who have each other's back

      Cons

      some growing pains - it has rapidly expanded in 2015-16 and has the resulting challenges of needing to forge new methods of communication and new hierarchies to deal with its size. Now its a part of a global organization that has different methods and tools, and the effort to collaborate can be awkward at times

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to work in Halifax

      Apr 21, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Halifax, NS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great People Great Culture Product teams have great people Benefits are top notch

      Cons

      Company is growing rapidly - so growing pains are expected and there. Company is going through many structural changes to keep up with the growth.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Company, Great People

      Mar 22, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Halifax, NS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      ResMed is fantastic place to work. Lots of enthusiastic employees who are always willing to help each other out. Everyone works hard but also takes time to have fun. I love that leadership asks for feedback and takes that feedback serious. They provide regular updates on how they are addressing any issues or concerns raised in the feedback.

      Cons

      The rapid growth ResMed is experiencing is great, but it may be causing some growing pains in regards to coordination, communication and collaboration across the various locations. The good news though is that the company recognizes this and is working hard to find the appropriate solutions.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      One of San Diego's best employers!

      Feb 23, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've been fortunate enough to work for some of the best companies in SD and ResMed is definitely at the top of that list. After coming from a small company with few people and fewer resources, it's refreshing to be at a company that has people, resources, and cares to invest in everyone's success. For the most part people are very friendly, positive, and helpful regardless of what department or team they're on. We're united by a common goal of making an impact in the health of others and it's great to come to work with a purpose.

      Cons

      Typical growing pains as the company shifts from a smaller business with unstructured processes to a large company that needs more consistent workflows. Nothing that the company can't overcome. It's just going to take some time.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 11 Reviews

    Popular Careers with ResMed Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at ResMed? Share Your Experiences

    ResMed logo
    or