Respawn Entertainment Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Respawn Entertainment Reviews

Updated 11 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .
4.7
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Respawn Entertainment CEO Vince Zampella
Vince Zampella
16 Ratings
  1. "Good start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - QA Tester 

    I worked at Respawn Entertainment part-time

    Pros

    Great time to work as a QA test

    Cons

    There's no cons on it they're just great

    Respawn Entertainment2019-10-12
  2. "Great place to start working in the industry!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Environmental Artist in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Respawn Entertainment full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everything about the company is great.

    Cons

    Cons are are not a big deal

    Respawn Entertainment2019-10-08
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Top tier company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Production Artist in Chatsworth, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Respawn Entertainment full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    One of the better companies to work for. Still has small team friendly vibe even though EA has taken over and the company is growing! The company really and truly works towards not crunching the teams. They are not the type of company that wants you to work late hours or weekends. The company usually lives up to and follows through with their promises Competitive pay compared to other companies.

    Cons

    Fear of EA ownership and what that means for the future of the company Company is growing too fast

    Respawn Entertainment2018-11-20
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Amazing Creative Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sound Designer in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Respawn Entertainment full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The crew treats you like family. Every single employee is a badass, there is tons of freedom because everyone just expects and trusts you will get your work done so no one is looking over your shoulder. Tons of creative freedom and control over your work, you always have the ability to express your thoughts and feelings on the project without fear of being neglected or punished for honest criticism. Just the coolest place to grow and learn and become and epic level game developer

    Cons

    Design team has a bad habit of not ever fully committing to a decision. This makes great games in the end but the artists further down the pipeline suffer greatly and were still trying to get designers to understand how much harder we have to work because of it.

    Continue reading
    Respawn Entertainment2018-07-26
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Concept Artist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Concept Artist in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Respawn Entertainment full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The teams work great together and the management makes everyone's life easy. The company culture is healthy and friendly to new faces.

    Cons

    Up in the valley it can get quiet warm in the summer

    Respawn Entertainment2018-07-23
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Q.A Tester"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - QA Tester 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Respawn Entertainment full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very good location and a great studio to work for.

    Cons

    Not much opportunity for growth if you are a Q.A Tester and want to explore other areas of game development. However, other big studios do the same.

    Continue reading
    Respawn Entertainment2018-02-10
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Great people, great games, more "improv" than "on script""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Respawn Entertainment full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Transparent leadership, esp. about big movements. -Know-how to ship great games with a smaller, more intimate team, in less time -Not a cog in a machine, "Family" vibe -Great ideas come from anywhere culture -Everyone pulls their weight (I don't think this is an exaggeration) -No heavy politics where people are gunning for your job -Collaborative culture, everyone is there to help everyone else out -Great place to grow, management helps you pursue your interests -EA has not negatively affected Respawn's dev culture -Leadership and production are there to support, not let processes disrupt -Leadership culture is humble and dedicated to becoming better at leading -CEO takes care of his people, has a good track record, and I trust him -Get to work on cool IPs!

    Cons

    -Not a strong emphases on top down communication (still transparent though) -Relies heavily on individuals asserting for answers, reactive communication -Bias towards being light on processes, means communication can break -Small teams mean big scope reduction if direction isn't solved quick (e.g. no SP) -"Laying the tracks while driving the train" sometimes means wasted work

    Continue reading
    Respawn Entertainment2018-01-26
  8. Helpful (6)

    "A New Guy's Perspective"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graphic Designer in Chatsworth, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Respawn Entertainment full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Since I am new to the company, I am writing from the perspective of someone joining a culture where everyone has been working together for some time. This can be really intimidating, especially with the amount of collective experience everyone has, but I have never felt more welcomed by any previous employer or team. The hiring process was a great experience, although felt pretty lengthy as it usually is with most larger studios. However, HR was very personable and kept in touch throughout, ensuring that there was still interest in the position. Once I received an offer and accepted, I requested to start as soon as possible and was given two weeks before my start date which worked out great. After the first week of working there, I noticed a great deal of transparency between the leads and those working on the project. There is a great deal of trust and respect everyone seems to have for each other and even though I am a new hire, I already feel like my opinion carries some weight. I was also able to get caught up on the team's workflow and status of the project relatively quickly. The amount of freedom to work on different areas of the project was also a big plus to me since I have many interests within design. Because my experience has been so positive, I felt compelled to give a review from the the new guy's perspective to anyone considering joining the team. I am hoping Respawn is a place that I'll be able to call home well into the future.

    Cons

    I feel like there wasn't much emphasis on job title or what that means, which I know could be an issue for some, but not for those who prefer a more flat structure.

    Continue reading
    Respawn Entertainment2017-10-28
  9. "Managment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Respawn Entertainment full-time

    Pros

    plenty of perks and benefits

    Cons

    Really unhapy w/ mangment, otherwise great place.

    Continue reading
    Respawn Entertainment2017-10-02
  10. Helpful (12)

    "Tricky second act"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Graphic Artist in Chatsworth, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Respawn Entertainment full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Respawn has some seriously talented veterans at the middle of both their development teams. Each team demonstrates a completely different personality so choose the team wisely if you get the chance. Easy working environment as long as you get the task completed, you can come and go as you please and start or end as you see fit. Incredible flexibility for Designers to add, change or delete features on a whim. This flexibility if used wisely is what allows great games to be made. If you're in a reactive department you'll pull your hair out as Designers have no filters or checks to their whims, fortunately the majority are well meaning and their track record stands. Almost unlimited spending on whatever you want. Just ask and it appears with very little in the way of justification or push back. Not as many people abuse this as you'd expect which is a good reflection of the people that work here. You get to make ambitious products, a rare luxury these days. Flat structure.

    Cons

    The original core of the company are cliquey and they protect their own interests and positions as you'd expect. It's best to just keep your head down and not make a noise as limited review will be taken against your concerns. Production skills on the old project teams are non existent (see clique above). Burnout is very real and usually lasts the entire second half of the project as Designers thrash and flip without being pushed to make a decision. This can have terrible effects on your time despite best efforts. The internal tool-chain is archaic and no time will be opened up for engineers to fix or replace what is sometimes a command line tool that's nearing a decade old. Royalties have always been based on a non existing formula so who you're friends with is seen as a significant contributor to what this number will be. Little career advancement is possible.

    Continue reading
    Respawn Entertainment2017-08-10
Found 20 reviews