Reynolds American Reviews

Updated Dec 3, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1,215 of over 1,266 reviews

2.3
24%
Recommend to a Friend
21%
Approve of CEO
Reynolds American President and CEO Guy Meldrum
Guy Meldrum
158 Ratings
Pros
  • "Dynamic & challenging work; great benefits(in 131 reviews)

  • "Awesome benefits and work life balance(in 92 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "The acquisition company BAT is smothering all the pros of Reynolds and moving jobs out of Winston Salem(in 66 reviews)

  • "Lots of admin to keep up with after the work day is over- finding work life balance can be difficult(in 65 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Great Company Top-Down

      Jun 6, 2021 - Territory Manager in Greenville, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you graduated college in Business, Marketing, Management basically it what you learn in school. Territory/Outside Sales, Great culture, diverse and inclusion great teamwork. You make Upper Management decisions for the company. It's sales but you put your own SPIN to it. RJR was my dream job. Company Car, Business Credit Card, Fleet Card for Gas, Overnight travel at nice hotel for training and meetings. Above average 401k match and benefits.

      Cons

      It can get lonely in your territory, Management and try not take constructive criticism personal its to elevate you not criticize you.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Reynolds American Response

      Employer Brand, Lead Manager

      Thank you for the review. We're happy to hear about your positive experience as a territory manager and have made us your employer of choice! We pride ourselves on offering a robust benefits package to our employees. It's great to have you join us.

    2. 4.0
      Current Employee

      BI Architect/DevOps

      Jul 23, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I am working on offshore model but overall the company's overall processes are laid perfectly

      Cons

      Have no specific reasons to consider

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      very good

      Jul 26, 2019 - Programmer Analyst in Bangalore
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good work environment gud work culture

      Cons

      no as such very good company

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee

      ok

      Jun 25, 2016 -  in Mumbai
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      rules and regulation and the working culture

      Cons

      over time no commitment culture

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Avoid at all costs

      Nov 24, 2021 - Territory Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good 401k match, company car, minimally acceptable vacation.

      Cons

      Entire organization is going through a several year reboot. Chaos from the top down and no one wants to be accountable for any decisions. Company vastly underpays its labor force using the excuse that other CPG companies do as well. 70% of 2020 net profits were given away to investors while employees who create that wealth were given shorted bonuses and less than cost of living raises. This company absolutely does not value its employees at all. Only take this job as a fresh from college graduate, and then stay only long enough to use it to get a better job.

      Continue reading
      44 people found this review helpful

      Reynolds American Response

      Reynolds American Team

      Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Creating a culture of diversity and inclusion is one of our top priorities. To maintain the continuous progress we’re making, we have set bold, new diversity and inclusion ambitions. By 2025, we aim to reach gender parity in management roles and to significantly increase minority representation in management and senior management roles.

    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Could be an amazing company but isn’t

      Nov 18, 2021 - Territory Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Company car for personal use -Make your own schedule -Division managers are harsh but fair -Lots of fantastic people in this organization -Quarterly bonus

      Cons

      -Cig industry is declining every year. Industry is a very slowly sinking battleship. -Be ready to relocate or fear for your job on a semi annual basis -Never ending change of plans on regular basis. -Higher ups push near unobtainable goals unless you work longer and longer hours. -Lots of difficult conversations with customers putting out self induced fires.

      Continue reading
      40 people found this review helpful

      Reynolds American Response

      Reynolds American Team

      Our organization is on a transformation journey. We appreciate your feedback.

    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Miss the Old Reynolds

      Dec 3, 2021 - Marketing Director in Winston-Salem, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good competitive salary and benefits.

      Cons

      Lost family feel with BAT acquisition. International assignees take away growth opportunities for US based employees.

      Continue reading
      13 people found this review helpful

      Reynolds American Response

      Reynolds American Team

      We appreciate your review. Hearing your perspective of the pros and cons helps us improve our processes and make the company a better place to work.

    8. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Demotivated, Unhappy and Disheartened

      Jul 11, 2021 - Leadership Role 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The heart that old Reynolds people have for this company and watching them fight for a glimmer of hope in the future.

      Cons

      Where do you start? Honestly, there are no words to sum up the last 12 months. I am no longer proud to work for this organization. I put in long hours, always have and always will be willing to give 150%, for what? To be ridiculed and to have to ridicule my people? Sacrificing my kids baseball or football games was always a part of the job, then it turned to my vacation days and now it is just my life. It’s not worth it, none of this is anymore. What are we doing here? Putting up dub lights, window clings and corex? Resetting fixtures? The only thing that we are doing that makes sense today is the drive on inventory levels, the rest of our plans are garbage. The way the current leadership team makes their people feel makes me sick to my stomach. If I could leave, I would. I would be 100% willing to give this feedback face to face if I didn’t believe I would be demoted but there is zero trust. They don’t trust us and I sure do not trust them. I have given my entire career to this company, to leading people in this company and now I can barely look my people in the face. I’m over it, something better change soon or… oh wait, or nothing. We have no power, our leadership has not demonstrated that they care about us in any way shape or form and I have no choice but to stay until I can replace my salary.

      Continue reading
      135 people found this review helpful

      Reynolds American Response

      Employer Brand, Lead Manager

      Thank you for being a part of our company over the years. Our organization is embarking on an exciting transformation journey. We will continue to provide our employees with an environment that each person feels heard.

    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      This is a job not a career

      Nov 8, 2021 - Territory Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      *Solid health benefits *401k match plus a percentage over dependent upon what your contribution is *Company car that you can use personally/plus gas and maintenance *You're not in an office so you have some autonomy over what your day looks like * Quarterly bonuses

      Cons

      *Company is going through a lot of changes which results in miscommunication and overall chaos * No consistency in bonus payouts. We had a yearly bonus but it was changed to quarterly with moving target quotas. I would literally watch my targets change from week to week * Our roles and expectations would change on a whim. * The most difficult thing to accept was how little BAT respected the TM role. We launched their brands, leveraged our relationships to get them to accept their programs and they repaid us reducing severance and laying the most tenured people off without the option to fill open roles.

      Continue reading
      37 people found this review helpful

      Reynolds American Response

      Reynolds American Team

      Thank you for your review. Your feedback regarding Reynolds American benefits is appreciated.

    10. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Company sets impossible goals for TM'S to attain because there were never enough completed products to sell in the U.S.

      Nov 16, 2021 - Territory Sales Manager in Fort Worth, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      High level of autonomy if your DM is a great leader flexible schedule vacation and PTO

      Cons

      Bad planning from the top down when it pertains to goal setting Leadership team was vague, low transparency Leadership began leading with fear Job Security LOW opportunities for advancement

      Continue reading
      27 people found this review helpful

      Reynolds American Response

      Reynolds American Team

      We look to ensure successful careers for all our employees at Reynolds American. Hearing your perspective of the pros and cons helps us improve our processes and make the company a better place to work.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,215 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Reynolds American Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Reynolds American? Share Your Experiences

    Reynolds American logo
    or