River Island Clothing Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

River Island Clothing Reviews

Updated 19 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
66%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
River Island Clothing CEO Will Kernan
Will Kernan
17 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Christmas is tough, like anywhere else, but I found Christmas tough due to long hours(in 54 reviews)

  • "Although the pay is slightly over minimum wage I don’t think the company do enough for their staff(in 48 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Consultant 

    I worked at River Island Clothing full-time

    Pros

    Good employer to work for

    Cons

    Long hours Required to work

    River Island Clothing2020-03-14
  2. "Love River Island"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor in Guildford, England

    I have been working at River Island Clothing part-time

    Pros

    Friendly team and staff discount

    Cons

    No cons they were all good

    River Island Clothing2020-03-11
  3. "Retail Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Usual plain work Everyone is nice

    Cons

    Nothing at all really, just a normal retail job.

    River Island Clothing2020-02-28
  4. "Good part time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good management, free clothing, supportive team, younger workforce

    Cons

    Cutting back on hours so the team would be short on staff

    River Island Clothing2020-02-26
  5. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Staff discount very good Overtime

    Cons

    Very difficult to contact HR and sort out issues relating Limited progression

    River Island Clothing2020-02-25
  6. "Perfect Part Time role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Assistant in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Company Benefits - Sociable Role

    Cons

    - Inconsistency of rotas and roles

    River Island Clothing2020-03-11
  7. "Understanding management but not very rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Royal Leamington Spa, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good employee discount and interesting interview process

    Cons

    Takes a long time to receive your uniform allowance (made me wait longer than I should have) and can be very dull, especially on the men's floor

    River Island Clothing2020-02-22
  8. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I have been working at River Island Clothing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People are lovely to work with

    Cons

    Wages Could be a lot better

    Continue reading
    River Island Clothing2020-03-06
  9. "**"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Lead in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Exploring new technologies, hence good opportunities for learning.

    Cons

    IT Management needs to be sanitized.

    River Island Clothing2020-03-06
  10. "Couldn't recommend this company more"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Commercial Manager in Gravesend, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    When part of either and small or large team you immediately gained a good team ethic. Working hard got you places. If you set a high pace, showed huge amounts of enthusiasm and was keen to learn then you succeeded in this business. I started as a 21 Year old Sales Manager and each year set myself goals to achieve, if you have high ambitions this was portrayed to the management who are keen to progress people that showed that enthusiasm. I ended up leaving as 26 year old into a new industry and left with no bad feeling with this company. If I was to go back into Retail I would 100% consider River Island. Bluewater and Thurrock Stores were the best stores that I experienced. If you showed all of the above, pay reflected this, as did mine.

    Cons

    Christmas is tough, like anywhere else, but I found Christmas tough due to long hours. This is a reflection across Retail.

    Continue reading
    River Island Clothing2020-02-20
Found 1047 reviews