River Island Clothing Employee Reviews about "minimum wage"

Updated 17 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
66%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
River Island Clothing CEO Will Kernan
Will Kernan
20 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Christmas is tough, like anywhere else, but I found Christmas tough due to long hours(in 55 reviews)

  • "Although the pay is slightly over minimum wage I don’t think the company do enough for their staff(in 48 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "minimum wage"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Sales Assistant"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing

    Pros

    - Discount on clothes - Locations

    Cons

    - Paid under minimum wage - Bad culture - Poor management - Very little hours

    River Island Clothing2020-02-17
  2. "Sales Advisor"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time

    Pros

    Great discount on the clothes in the store

    Cons

    The salary they offer is only minimum wage

    River Island Clothing2019-09-12
  3. "Mediocre at best"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    In my store we have a great team that work well together. My manager is approachable and since there is a larger number of staff it is relatively easy to get a shift covered or changed

    Cons

    Although the pay is slightly over minimum wage I don’t think the company do enough for their staff. There’s no reward scheme that I am aware of. We only get double time on Boxing Day and don’t even get time and a half any other time (Easter, New Year’s Eve/day, July 12th). We are pushed very hard and are expected to complete a lot of work in too short a time frame.

    Continue reading
    River Island Clothing2019-08-01
  4. "Good"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing full-time

    Pros

    Great staff, fun environment, discount on clothes

    Cons

    Only cons are the small wages. Minimum wage

    River Island Clothing2019-03-23
  5. "Sales Assistant"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at River Island Clothing part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible, benefit in kind of clothing, staff discount, understanding managers, friendly staff

    Cons

    minimum wage. Only get time and a hald on Sundays and Bank Holidays, not double time.

    River Island Clothing2019-03-19
  6. "Part time sales staff"

    2.0
    Sales Associate 

    I worked at River Island Clothing for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice managers and good training systems.

    Cons

    Poor pay and low hour contracts. Staff under 21 paid below minimum wage.

    Continue reading
    River Island Clothing2019-01-16
  7. "Disappointed."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - 40% discount on clothes - the work is relatively easy - no qualifications/experience necessary

    Cons

    - 40% discount is up to a maximum of €300 worth of full priced items per month. Not allowed to let your friends use it. You must say it is for your family if you want to let close friends/partner use your discount. - Most shifts were 4 hours long. I was on 12 hour contract which meant I worked 4 hours each day for 3 days. - Management had clear favourites. I have seen employees get into trouble because the manager didn't like their outfit. Managers and other staff members will talk about you behind your back. - No clear company policies. Management threw the words "company policy" around when it suited them but often contradicted themselves. - Minimum wage. Even at supervisor level it's not any better. -Must BUY clothes to wear to work. While the discount provided is good (enough) when clothes are no longer on the shop floor or go into sale (which happens regularly) you are no longer allowed wear these clothes to work. This means the majority of your wages go back to the company. -Shops often have little or no security and shop lifting is rife

    Continue reading
    River Island Clothing2018-06-11
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Unprofessional management"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor in Bury St Edmunds, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Uniform allowance and the staff discount was very generous (40%) Holiday was generally approved if submitted well in advance

    Cons

    Minimum wage, poor hours, management unprofessional Pay was often wrong and needed correcting

    Continue reading
    River Island Clothing2018-04-28

    River Island Clothing Response

    November 2, 2018Recruitment Officer

    Thanks for the review, we'll take your comments on board.

  9. "Not pleasant"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at River Island Clothing part-time

    Pros

    40% staff discount, management were nice to begin (not after)

    Cons

    below minimum wage if under 20, 8 hours a week to begin

    Continue reading
    River Island Clothing2018-04-13
  10. "Senior sales advisor"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Associate in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at River Island Clothing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    40% staff discount, not on sale items though

    Cons

    Managers do not look after their staff members , underpay you all the time, cut out your breaks, no respect, make up their own rules, not professional, poor working conditions, presure you to stay for 10 hour shifts as they are always under staffed, minimum wage in comparison to every other retail store, riverisland pages there staff the lowest, no progression in company

    Continue reading
    River Island Clothing2018-04-12

    River Island Clothing Response

    November 2, 2018Recruitment Officer

    Thanks for your feedback.

Found 48 reviews