River Island Clothing Employee Reviews about "minimum wage"

Updated Aug 15, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 49 of over 1,756 reviews

3.8
66%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
River Island Clothing CEO Will Kernan
Will Kernan
182 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits - staff discount, uniform allowance; friendly team(in 150 reviews)

  • "250 plus uniform allowance every 6-8 weeks(in 138 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Christmas is tough, like anywhere else, but I found Christmas tough due to long hours(in 62 reviews)

  • "The salary they offer is only minimum wage(in 49 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "minimum wage"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Was an okay job

      Aug 15, 2020 - Retail Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The discount was really good

      Cons

      Was on minimum wage for the whole time

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Bad company to work for

      Jul 28, 2020 - Sales Assistant in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Company discount you get 40% off full price stuff

      Cons

      The pay is shocking, i started in river island when i was 17 and i started on €6.50, ik am now 20 years old and i only just got minimum wage.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Sales Assistant

      Feb 17, 2020 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Discount on clothes - Locations

      Cons

      - Paid under minimum wage - Bad culture - Poor management - Very little hours

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Sales Advisor

      Sep 12, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great discount on the clothes in the store

      Cons

      The salary they offer is only minimum wage

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Mediocre at best

      Aug 1, 2019 - Sales Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      In my store we have a great team that work well together. My manager is approachable and since there is a larger number of staff it is relatively easy to get a shift covered or changed

      Cons

      Although the pay is slightly over minimum wage I don’t think the company do enough for their staff. There’s no reward scheme that I am aware of. We only get double time on Boxing Day and don’t even get time and a half any other time (Easter, New Year’s Eve/day, July 12th). We are pushed very hard and are expected to complete a lot of work in too short a time frame.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Sales Assistant

      Mar 19, 2019 - Sales Assistant in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible, benefit in kind of clothing, staff discount, understanding managers, friendly staff

      Cons

      minimum wage. Only get time and a hald on Sundays and Bank Holidays, not double time.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Part time sales staff

      Jan 16, 2019 - Sales Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice managers and good training systems.

      Cons

      Poor pay and low hour contracts. Staff under 21 paid below minimum wage.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Disappointed.

      Jun 11, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - 40% discount on clothes - the work is relatively easy - no qualifications/experience necessary

      Cons

      - 40% discount is up to a maximum of €300 worth of full priced items per month. Not allowed to let your friends use it. You must say it is for your family if you want to let close friends/partner use your discount. - Most shifts were 4 hours long. I was on 12 hour contract which meant I worked 4 hours each day for 3 days. - Management had clear favourites. I have seen employees get into trouble because the manager didn't like their outfit. Managers and other staff members will talk about you behind your back. - No clear company policies. Management threw the words "company policy" around when it suited them but often contradicted themselves. - Minimum wage. Even at supervisor level it's not any better. -Must BUY clothes to wear to work. While the discount provided is good (enough) when clothes are no longer on the shop floor or go into sale (which happens regularly) you are no longer allowed wear these clothes to work. This means the majority of your wages go back to the company. -Shops often have little or no security and shop lifting is rife

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Unprofessional management

      Apr 27, 2018 - Sales Advisor in Bury St Edmunds, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Uniform allowance and the staff discount was very generous (40%) Holiday was generally approved if submitted well in advance

      Cons

      Minimum wage, poor hours, management unprofessional Pay was often wrong and needed correcting

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      River Island Clothing Response

      Recruitment Officer

      Thanks for the review, we'll take your comments on board.

    10. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Not pleasant

      Apr 13, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      40% staff discount, management were nice to begin (not after)

      Cons

      below minimum wage if under 20, 8 hours a week to begin

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 49 Reviews

    Popular Careers with River Island Clothing Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at River Island Clothing? Share Your Experiences

    River Island Clothing logo
    or