Robert Walters Employee Reviews about "good training"

Updated 19 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
86%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Robert Walters Chief Executive Officer Robert Walters
Robert Walters
350 Ratings
Pros
  • "Totally not a traditional corporate; relaxed working environment & fun office(in 41 reviews)

  • "Good training programme especially for new people to the industry(in 29 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours But that’s what is required to be successful(in 40 reviews)

  • "Work-life balance, flexibility, KPI based progression(in 25 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "good training"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good career start but needs to invest in improving culture and work/life balance."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Robert Walters full-time

    Pros

    Good place to kick-start career if you have little to no experience. Clear growth trajectory and good training for new starters.

    Cons

    Poor work/life balance - Employees are expected to work overtime regularly, come in early and stay late. There's no flexibility when it comes to hours and you will face resistance when taking sick time or WFH (in regular times, employees often come into the office sick due to this). Little understanding for employees with long commutes, special circumstances, outside commitments, etc. Considering the office is based in SF, there are many other comparable companies with much better work/life culture. Very KPI driven - High pressure and competitive environment (it’s a sales role), although this is to be expected in an agency setting such as this. Inexperienced management - Most managers have worked their way up in the business and have no outside experience. Not very understanding and at times can be unprofessional. Need to invest more here and train managers in good HR practices. Outdated technology - Workflow is slowed down because of regular tech issues and lack of support. Internal software is dated and difficult to use.

    Continue reading
    Robert Walters2020-05-19

    Robert Walters Response

    June 1, 2020Human Resources

    Thanks for your review. I appreciate you being so thorough in your feedback, even if I was disappointed to read much of it. First, I take on board your point about our technology/systems, and I can assure you that we are working on this and that it’s a top priority for the business. Second, you’re right – this is a commercial environment and every member of our team needs to be a high performer, but I also think we reward that hard work with trust, autonomy and as much flexibility as we can. And I’m personally very proud that we’re able to offer our staff a path to management — that’s why we’ve partnered with a market-leading management training firm to develop our managers and ensure we always follow HR best practices. That said, I would never endorse any action by any manager that put the health and wellbeing of our people at risk. I really value the culture we’ve built here, and I want every member of our team to get the support that he/she needs. I’d appreciate the chance to speak to you privately and get some further details about your experience – in complete confidence, of course. Please feel free to email me and we can set something up. Thanks, Simon Bromwell Managing Director – North America

  2. "Great Culture and work environment"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Robert Walters full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Staff Good leader who is always happy to chat Good training programme especially for new people to the industry Very team focussed and everyone is really supportive Good culture and friendly fun work environment

    Cons

    more flexibility around work arrangements

    Robert Walters2019-11-06
  3. "Consultant"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Robert Walters full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good training, autonomy and genuine people.

    Cons

    There has been a lot of change which has impacted the environment. To compensate, management are taking on too much work and not delegating.

    Continue reading
    Robert Walters2019-08-25

    Robert Walters Response

    September 3, 2019Human Resources

    Thanks for your comments. I appreciate your feedback and understand that the recent changes have affected our people in different ways, and I regret that they had a negative impact on your working environment. I’d be interested in getting some more details from you—if you’d like to email me on louise.campbell@robertwalters.com, I’d be happy to arrange to have a confidential conversation. Louise Campbell Managing Director, Robert Walters Ireland

  4. "Fun colleagues, questionable management"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Robert Walters full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good company culture Good training program

    Cons

    No work-life balance Poor salary Unclear bonus structure Strong bias and favouritism by the senior exec team

    Continue reading
    Robert Walters2019-07-03
  5. "Great company with lots of opportunity"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Robert Walters full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good training, great culture and opportunity to progress in your career in Australia or overseas.

    Cons

    Longer hours are needed here and there but nothing unreasonable

    Continue reading
    Robert Walters2019-05-29
  6. "How is working at RW - overall very good!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Tokyo
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Robert Walters full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    good training, fun culture and

    Cons

    bonuses are discretionary, no overtime pay, no flex time or remote work

    Robert Walters2019-05-16
  7. "Robert Walters Dublin"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Robert Walters full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly Staff, Good Location, Good Training

    Cons

    Benefits, Long Hours, Progression Limited

    Continue reading
    Robert Walters2018-11-01
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Bullied, enforce heavy pressure."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Consultant in Tokyo
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Robert Walters full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    [Great System] Robert Walters Japan has a great system, if you make placements you will get promotion and you will get good incentives. There are people who own debts, student loans like fee millions and this job can help them pay it off. It is a money making paradise. [Not bad work life balance] Work life balance is better than Japanese companies (usually last train). If you are experience and hit your targets you can leave 6-7 on time. If not, you will have to stay late night which is only around 3 hours overtime before you are the last one there. But of course depending on teams, some teams even get extra pillow time(come to work late tickets) if you hit your head hunt targets. [Good training programs] Also very good training program, give you classroom sessions for study just like in college. The people who will be teaching you are the best in the world. The training you receive at Robert Walters are priceless. Robert Walters is the best in Tokyo interms of revenue.

    Cons

    People there is horrible, I would say most of them. I am totally fine if sales environment only cares about money but they will bully specially new comers all they can. The worse is that even after I left the company they still do it when they saw me in a restaurant. [Gossip and rumors] People there love to gossip. The company started a rumor about something that is not true about me and the whole company even the payroll knows and when I ask around colleagues who are close to me, they said they had experience similar situations. I am also bullied because of my personal hobbies they think is too childish or “gay”. [Money driven only] People there only cares about money, they will treat you according to your billing record either to have lunch with you or waste of time. The worse is that they treat it to their candidates and clients as well. If a candidate they first though will be a placement, they will buy you diner and spend hours with you, once you get rejected only a email farewell goodbye because you don’t make them money anymore. Consultants don’t spend time preparing candidates or help fixing their resumes and give advisories because that don’t make them money. [Experience after leaving the company] The town is small, sometimes we walk to to each other. It makes no sense to drag work related hatred or old rumors to someone who left already. [Conclusion] This is only my own personal experience, I am sure many people like the company. I wasn’t going to write about it until a I was bullied after I left the company. It had bother me for months. But I guess it is good to let others know the pros and cons about the company.

    Continue reading
    Robert Walters2018-09-04

    Robert Walters Response

    September 21, 2018HR

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We’re very concerned about the issues you’ve raised and are keen to investigate further. Therefore, I’d appreciate it if you could contact me for a confidential conversation at jeremy.sampson@robertwalters.co.jp – Many thanks, Jeremy Sampson - Managing Director Japan & Korea.

  9. "Great for Ex- Pats."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Robert Walters full-time

    Pros

    Good training ground. Opportunity to relocate globally.

    Cons

    Pay is way below compared to their competitors.

    Continue reading
    Robert Walters2018-04-19
  10. "Great company to work for and a good start to a career in London"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Robert Walters full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Very good training from start to finish of your time there. Always available when needed/requested at all levels. - Management is always there when you need help or guidance while also giving you responsibility to run your own desk. - People at the company are friendly and welcoming while a team ethos is encouraged making the environment a lovely place to work. - Creativity is encouraged in trying new things to succeed.

    Cons

    Long working hours but that comes with Recruitment as a whole. New systems are being put in place which causes IT malfunctions from time to time.

    Continue reading
    Robert Walters2018-02-17
Found 29 reviews