Robert Walters Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Jan 20, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 50 of over 879 reviews

4.0
79%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Robert Walters CEO Toby Fowlston
Toby Fowlston
6 Ratings
Pros
  • "Friendly, collaborative working environment(in 48 reviews)

  • "good training and support, international environment(in 34 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "long hours but to be expected in recruitment(in 50 reviews)

  • "Work-life balance, flexibility, KPI based progression(in 27 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "long hours"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great training and culture

      Jan 20, 2021 - Researcher in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Training Culture Autonomy Mature working environment Great staff retention during pandemic

      Cons

      Can be cutthroat but that is recruitment Long hours but that is also expected in rec

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Really good

      Jan 17, 2021 - Consultant in Tokyo
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture, training, people and salary

      Cons

      Fairly long hours, very kpi driven

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good place to learn

      Dec 22, 2020 - Senior Consultant in Melbourne
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -leading agency -reputable brand -clear progression plans -great PSA accounts -fun culture

      Cons

      -discretionary bonus structure is unclear -long hours expected -you will be micro managed through your kpi’s -can be a bit of a high school environment with politics

      3 people found this review helpful

      Robert Walters Response

      Human Resources

      Thanks for your review. I agree with your points about our fun culture and clear progression opportunities and I think we’ve made a lot of great investments to address work/life balance. Indeed, I want all our people to have the flexibility and autonomy they need to do their jobs well, without being held back by micromanagement or office politics. I’d be really keen to get some more details from you so that we can make any necessary improvements, so please feel free to email me at at james.dalrymple@robertwalters.com.au and we can set up a confidential conversation. James Dalrymple Director – Robert Walters Melbourne

    4. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      If you're not a recruiter you get shafted - back office, IT in particular stay away.

      Jan 15, 2021 - IT Support in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Better than being unemployed I suppose

      Cons

      Work hard all year round, go above and beyond to get a disgrace (if anything) come bonus/review time. - 3 years in a row now and always a new excuse "poor year/Covid/Brexit" even though if you check the annual reports the company always seems to be making a decent profit. Long hours, expected to work evenings and weekends for a pat on the back and a "this will be remembered come bonus time", which clearly is not the case. A new CIO came in a couple of years ago and to be fair he seems good, but should have cycled out some of the old SMT's in particular ones who change country every 3 months, cant really be productive when constantly changing country/continent. Will be blocked for promotion/team change by a certain SMT despite educating yourself and proving you are capable of doing the job and the manger of said team wants you in the team, if you are not a favourite for bowing down to him.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Robert Walters Response

      Human Resources

      Thanks for your review. I understand your frustrations and appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. I am, of course, disappointed to read your comments; I want all our team members to have access to the opportunities they deserve. I’d been keen to get a few more details about your experience — if you’re keen to do so, please email me (kevin.bulmer@robertwalters.com) directly and we can set up a completely confidential call. Kev Bulmer Group IT Director

    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Global company with a corporate environment

      Nov 23, 2020 - Recruitment Consultant in Brisbane
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good people and a fun culture

      Cons

      Long working hours. Too many managers

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Robert Walters Response

      HR

      Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I'm pleased to hear that you found our culture fun and enjoyable - our strong team culture is something that we’re really proud of. I know that getting the right work/life balance isn't always easy, and it's been tough at times as we and lots of other organisations have navigated the challenges posed by Covid-19. We are fortunate to have a robust tech setup which enables flexibility for our staff, but I know there's always more we can do to improve. If you have any other comments or feedback, I’d be happy to hear them – feel free to email me and we can set up a confidential chat -sinead.hourigan@robertwalters.com.au Thanks, Sinead Hourigan - Managing Director – Brisbane

    6. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Bad

      Dec 12, 2020 - Candidate Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Centrally based office in the heart of London

      Cons

      None - a dreadful company. Long hours, lack of respect. Toxic

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Robert Walters Response

      Human Resources

      Thank you for your review. Naturally, we’re disappointed that you didn’t have a good experience with us, but we would be very keen to get some additional details. If you like, you can email us at hr.admin@robertwalters.com and we can help set up a confidential conversation with the appropriate person to discuss your feedback further.

    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great Career Launchpad w/ Int'l Opportunities

      Oct 14, 2020 - Senior Consultant in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Fast-paced work environment working with diverse and interesting client base -Good place for young professionals to jump into a recruitment/sales career with opportunities for rapid career advancement -Fun, lively, and inclusive office culture w/ plenty of external events -Opportunities for international relocation after 2 years -Good training and onboarding process for people without prior recruitment experience

      Cons

      -Comparatively long hours (just the nature of recruitment in general) -Benefits package is improving all the time, but still lagged other companies in the SF Bay Area in certain areas. 401K matching starts after a year.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Decent benefits but pay not so great

      Oct 15, 2020 - Coordinator in Manchester, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good team, no micromanagement, flexible working

      Cons

      Long hours, lower than average pay

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Robert Walters Response

      Human Resources

      Thanks for your review. I’m glad to read that you enjoy working with your team and that the role offers the flexibility you want. Indeed, I believe our strong team-based culture sets us apart from our competitors. Regarding your critiques, I hear you — I understand that times are tough for everyone right now, and I thank you for your hard work in these unusual times. In that light, I hope you’ll make full use of the benefits you mentioned, from flexible benefits (through Choices) to our industry-leading training, and more. If you have any other comments or feedback, I’d be happy to hear them – feel free to email me and we can set up a confidential chat. Thank you, Chris Poole Managing Director – Robert Walters Manchester

    9. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Make sure you please your senior well!!!

      Sep 17, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Hong Kong
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Plenty of incentives Good annual leave and employee's insurance package Well organized training sessions, great for the less experienced recruiters Lively company culture Very multicultural Colleagues do tend to support each other ie great team spirit Workload does come in waves from time to time, which is normal in a recruitment firm Company system is well structured, database is neat and well built in general, quite convenient in terms of daily operation

      Cons

      Life is hard if you are not your senior's favorite Was guaranteed a Discretionary Bonus, never receive one (mind: not that I did not perform well!) Total compensation is low in general compared to other commission houses, sometimes even considered unfair Typically very KPI driven in general, hence merciless micro management. This also leads to some individuals mass spamming emails to candidates with irrelevant job experiences or some even calling their private phones just to meet call time targets Long hours (not because of work load, but because the senior is still around, and you WON'T want to be the one leaving earlier even though it is way after work hours) Be ready to anticipate work-related messages from your senior at non-office hours/weekends Team culture and mentality is too diverse among different teams, more of like a heaven and hell kind of situation Seriously political among seniors across teams

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Robert Walters Response

      Human Resources

      Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I agree with you when you say that our workplace culture is lively and diverse — that’s something we’re really proud of. Of course, I was disappointed to read your comments about your experience with management, and if it’s alright with you, I’d like to get a few more details about your time with us so that I can look into what happened and how we can make things better for the future. If so, please feel free to email me at sommer.nisbet@robertwalters.com.hk and we can arrange a confidential conversation. Sommer Nisbet HR Director, Greater China

    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Lots of opportunities to grow if you're new to recruitment

      Sep 16, 2020 - Consultant in Melbourne
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Opportunities for progression and clearly defined career paths - Freedom to manage your own desk, generous allowances for client-related expenses - Pleasant social culture (well-organised events each quarter, Friday drinks, team bonding sessions) - Lots of training & development, particularly for Associate Consultants

      Cons

      - Discretionary bonus - Long working hours expected and not a lot of flexibility here - Some managers promoted based on tenure and billings - High staff turnover across the business

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Robert Walters Response

      Human Resources

      Thanks for your review — feedback like this is helpful. I understand that work/life balance is something that can be a struggle at times in our industry, we are very aware of this and are working hard to promote and encourage a more balanced approach, we are lucky enough to have fantastic technology and resources available to us to help enable this. If you have any other comments or feedback please don’t hesitate to contact me directly. Thanks, James Dalrymple Director, Melbourne

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 50 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Robert Walters Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Robert Walters? Share Your Experiences

    Robert Walters logo
    or