Ross Stores Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Ross Stores Reviews

Updated Oct 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 4581 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Ross Stores CEO Barbara Rentler
Barbara Rentler
1,046 Ratings
Pros
  • "Employee discount of 20% all time and 40% occasionally(in 278 reviews)

  • "20% discount applies everyday and as many times as you want(in 232 reviews)

Cons
  • "In other words it's a typical Bullhead City part time retail job(in 207 reviews)

  • "Minimum wage , no opportunities to grow(in 177 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Calcutta
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Ross Stores part-time

    Pros

    Earning opportunity is great. A person willing to earn finds lots of opportunity to earn. The manager are very efficient and impartial. Respect and safety of employees were always concern for the company. Lots of scope to hone skills in all the departments if one is willing. Leaders always explains thoroughly whenever asked to help.

    Cons

    Almost none as much as I can remember. The thefts were alarming. Sometimes threatening because impact of theft on company profit may end in loss of hours and even jobs for associates.

    Advice to Management

    Remain as you are as long as possible. Keep explaining work and benefits and safety and security.

    Ross Stores2016-06-01
  2. "Dress for less"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Service Representative in Mumbai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Ross Stores for more than a year

    Pros

    Very good job learning was amazing from this company

    Cons

    Easy to be laid off

    Advice to Management

    Help your workers advance

    Ross Stores2016-12-18
  3. "Business Development Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - BDM in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Ross Stores full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. BDM is generally Target Oriented Profile but Never pressurized for Target. 2. Manager was flexible and lenient regarding Time. 3. Ontime Salary.

    Cons

    1. Salary was less But Good for a starter. 2. Asking to come on alternative Saturdays.

    Advice to Management

    Though Good for Employees But put some target.

    Ross Stores2015-07-29
  4. "Good in-between job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in American Fork, UT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ross Stores full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The corporate rules do make for a smooth working experience. I also liked the discount, and the way we were treated as employees. They take into account ways to improve.

    Cons

    Long hours on your feet, sometimes difficulty arises when early morning teams don't sort out the merchandise correctly. Putting the go-backs away after closing is a big pain.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to encourage creative thinking of your employees.

    Ross Stores2019-10-05

    Ross Stores Response

    October 9, 2019Human Resources

    Thank you for sharing your experience! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with Ross!

  5. "Great place to work meet interesting people every day."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Cashier/Store Associate 

    I worked at Ross Stores part-time

    Pros

    coworkers, atmosphere, discount were benefits

    Cons

    can be boring if your stuck in the fitting room

    Ross Stores2019-10-04
  6. "Great Training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Buyer II in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ross Stores full-time

    Pros

    Great opportunity to learn Buying, good work/life balance for the industry.

    Cons

    Depending on the buyer/buddy you get training can be subpar, can be pretty political, salary can be very low, it is hard to make it to buyer without relocating to the LA office.

    Ross Stores2019-10-04
  7. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front End Supervisor in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at Ross Stores part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Helpful peers and company with great values.

    Cons

    A typical day can feel somewhat understaffed especially on weekends.

    Ross Stores2019-09-27

    Ross Stores Response

    September 30, 2019Human Resources

    Thank you for sharing your experience! We are so glad to hear that you have been enjoying your time with Ross as a Front End Supervisor.

  8. "Crazy Busy, Messy Store!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Mesa, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ross Stores part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Employee discount, Make friends, Cool supervisors

    Cons

    Little pay, Dress code, Customers treat the store poorly

    Advice to Management

    Hire more employees Give longer breaks

    Ross Stores2019-10-12
  9. "My Ross Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Protection Specialist in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ross Stores part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity to work in other stores in case of short staffing, coworkers willing to adjust/swap shifts with you, the main manager of the store is very receptive and friendly

    Cons

    Most of the assistant managers were a little hostile towards me, scheduling wasn't the most flexible at times, abnormal wait times to be excused to use the facilities or any legally required breaks, would get chastised over my health.

    Advice to Management

    You need to have more patient and receptive assistant managers, or else the employees will not be satisfied with wrongful and unjust treatment.

    Ross Stores2019-10-10
  10. "Not bad but got tired of it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fitting Room Trainer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ross Stores part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    this might be my experience there and might not be for everyone who works at Ross but they were very flexible with my schedule and the managers are really nice. One of them what's sometimes passive aggressive against me but that just might be me misinterpreting the situation.

    Cons

    It is a lot of hard work honestly I may have just only been fitting room but you still work your butt off after all it is customer service also you'll run into a lot of dumb people that shop there and also entitled people and a lot of theft.

    Advice to Management

    I have no advice management because they did a great job with what they had

    Ross Stores2019-09-24

    Ross Stores Response

    September 30, 2019Human Resources

    Thank you for sharing your experience. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your management team and we appreciate all of the hard work you put in to covering our fitting rooms!

Found 4581 reviews