Ross Stores Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Ross Stores Reviews

Updated 7 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
53%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Ross Stores CEO Barbara Rentler
Barbara Rentler
1,069 Ratings
  1. "Horrible field leadership changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ross Stores full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There is no pro items anymore

    Cons

    Hours, pay, cut throat, all about bottom line not the people, fake and poor company changes

    Advice to Management

    You lost your way on what made ROSS such a great company The People who works for you! Yes price is important and so is product line but if you forget the employees then you have missed the target and soon a once proud profit making company will just be a memory

    Ross Stores2019-12-07
  2. "Good for Starting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Protection Specialist in Covina, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ross Stores part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get access to security cameras which helps keep an eye on suspicious people. You also get walkie talkies for effective communication.

    Cons

    Standing the whole shift, no chair, stuck in one place unless you are a mobile, ridiculous self rating just to make sure you know your job when in reality its pretty instinctive to figure out what to do. If I had to restructure the organization for loss prevention I could clean it up and maintain high retention rates for the company at a slightly lower pay. You also have to stand in dress shoes and keep in mind you... are standing the whole time. Definitely go buy some comfort soles and if you are flat footed don't show up to your first day to work without it.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If I had to restructure the organization for loss prevention I could clean it up and maintain high retention rates for the company at a slightly lower pay.

    Ross Stores2019-12-06
  3. "Not a bad company to work for. Definitely had its perks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ross Stores

    Pros

    Discount! Love the clothes and purses.

    Cons

    Management was a little unorganized and some employees were difficult to work with.

    Ross Stores2019-12-06
  4. "Warning do not work here!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stock Associate in Carbondale, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ross Stores full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is no Pros to working at this company

    Cons

    The biggest problem I had is they expect you to do all this work in a certain amount of time and usually the time that they give you is not reasonable and if you do not complete it you can be fired for it and also do not trust anyone not even your own supervisor because they will lie to your face and go behind you and stab you in the back the first chance they get this company does not care about it employees at all... I worked for this company for over a year-and-a-half and they do not care about their employees

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Management needs to start telling the truth and not lying to their employees

    Ross Stores2019-12-05
  5. "Can be fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Store Manager 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ross Stores full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Really good discount and you can move up quickly

    Cons

    Payroll and some upper management

    Ross Stores2019-12-04
  6. "Nice Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ross Stores full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I have been with Ross Stores for a number of years. It's a nice place to work, but it all depends on whom you work for. I am lucky that I work for a really nice person. Benefits are decent. Medical is OK, dental needs to improve. Nothing but basic is covered under dental. Work balance is good. Company is trying. Would love flexible hours.

    Cons

    Dental needs to be better. No flexible hours. No option to work from home

    Advice to Management

    Management needs to have training for their Admin along with room to grow. All focus is but on other employees, but if an Admin would like to grow, what opportunity is available?

    Ross Stores2019-12-04
  7. "Great Start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Buyer I in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ross Stores full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The on-boarding process is great, very thorough and really helps you get started in your new role. A great work/life balance, no unnecessary long days, summer Fridays, unlimited sick time. Good benefits package.

    Cons

    Recent restructuring of the merchant roles doesn't give as much exposure for growth, it made it more limiting. Processes need updating, behind from a technology standpoint. Need an option for remote work at all levels. Need more opportunity to build connections with teams.

    Advice to Management

    Work to make sure all buyers are giving assistants the ability to work in a collaborative environment. It helps for growth if assistants can DO/OWN more of the business.

    Ross Stores2019-12-03
  8. "A settled corporate environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ross Stores full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A settled environment: is good for those who want a secure and stable job.

    Cons

    A settled environment: not much space for the creativity due to heavy bureaucracy, and, thus, limited personal growth.

    Advice to Management

    Advice to Middle Management: Be more flexible and creative

    Ross Stores2019-12-03
  9. "Toxic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Floor Associate/Cashier 
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ross Stores part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    20% discount was the only thing

    Cons

    Bad hours, horrible management, when I got another job I realized how toxic Ross was they didn’t care about me they only cared about the work and management would get mad at me whenever I would do something eventhough they never taught me how. They would delay teaching me stuff and my coworkers would tell me to do this and I would do it but would get in trouble because that’s not how you do it and there was this... manager who was really rude. When I started they bragged about how much I was going to love it but it was awful and they would overwork me. On top of that customers would treat you like garbage for trying to do your job and follow the company policy. Everyone I worked with at Ross wouldn’t do their job correctly, the only person happy to be working there was the store manager, there was one assistant manager who was constantly giving attitude to customers. Ross doesn’t care about their employees or customers they only care about the money

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Do a better job

    Ross Stores2019-12-03
  10. "Simple job with decent pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Ross Stores

    Pros

    Laid back and easy work

    Cons

    Difficult Scheduling and customer service at times

    Ross Stores2019-11-30
Found 4647 reviews