Rue Gilt Groupe Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Rue Gilt Groupe Reviews

Updated 2 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
48%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Rue Gilt Groupe CEO Mark McWeeny
Mark McWeeny
66 Ratings
Pros
  • "Young, fast paced, creative environment(in 35 reviews)

  • "Great people, good company culture(in 34 reviews)

Cons
  • "Everything - not since gilt acquirement(in 32 reviews)

  • "There is no work-life balance in the BP department(in 27 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Nice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time

    Pros

    Flexible Timing, friendly work space, helpful

    Cons

    None at all overall a good place to work at

    Rue Gilt Groupe2018-09-03
  2. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager 

    I worked at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time

    Pros

    Ambience was good to work

    Cons

    Marketing team can be more effective

    Continue reading
    Rue Gilt Groupe2020-03-12
  3. "Assistant Site Merchandiser"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Site Merchandiser in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team to work with

    Cons

    Low pay for a n entry level job

    Rue Gilt Groupe2020-03-04
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Run away don’t stop. Do not pass go. U sure won’t collect $200"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Some really nice people - mid level who do all the work and care about each other and were first to be let go during sweeping layoffs today.

    Cons

    Long before Covid-19 pandemic this company has been so poorly run. We were directed to spend ridiculous amount of time on “sprints” and projects - none of which ever actually used to create practical solutions to innovate and stay current. RGG is heartless. HR avoids dealing with problems and chooses to completely overlook poorly performing mangers as long as those managers kiss up to leadership. RGG is like the poor stepchild of the properties owned by Kynetic/Michael Rubin.

    Continue reading
    Rue Gilt Groupe2020-04-03
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Buyer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Buyer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    None it is a toxic work environment

    Cons

    Everything - not since gilt acquirement

    Rue Gilt Groupe2020-03-13
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rue Gilt Groupe part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people were incredibly nice.

    Cons

    Honestly, my experience was incredibly positive.

    Rue Gilt Groupe2020-01-31
  7. "Great culture and team!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Recruiter in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Exciting pace and engaged employees.

    Cons

    Would love to get to see our other offices/locations.

    Rue Gilt Groupe2020-01-12
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Unfortunate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Construction Inspection Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Nice colleagues, some fun perks, great health benefits

    Cons

    No opportunity for advancement in my department, lacks innovation, lots of spinning of wheels and making no real changes

    Rue Gilt Groupe2020-01-10
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Toxic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst 
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free bagels every Friday morning

    Cons

    RGG had the worst workplace culture I have ever seen in my career, I wouldn't wish the kind of treatment I witnessed there upon anybody.   Upper level management are all very smart people with zero concept of manners or social etiquette; several ivy league graduates who have NO IDEA how to be effective managers.  During my time there, I found that good work was merely expected and never acknowledged. Questions were met with anger and frustration instead of understanding and explanation. Emails were rapid-fire and incessant. Personal relationships were mostly fake, and turnover is very high.   All the typical hallmarks of a toxic culture are there: interrupting anyone with an equal or lower status during meetings, raised voices, discussions turned arguments, being told to shut up, public berating for asking questions or not understanding something, rapid-fire emails at all hours of the night, job duties changed without notice or discussion, unrealistic expectations, little to no recognition for work done. The company is well aware that these rude and toxic behaviors exist; feedback was given frequently and honestly by multiple employees during my time there. Everything trickles down from the upper level management, and executives simply don't care as long as they are continuing to perform and hitting their financial targets. It was clear that regardless of how many horrifying reviews or terrible engagement surveys, they will never sacrifice or push their upper level managers to change. They are currently scrambling trying to change their terrible reputation by doing everything except what they need to do.   It took me about 2 weeks from my start date to realize what this place actually was. The bagels are literally the only positive thing I can think of for this company, and free bagels are not enough to make you stop deeply regretting all your decisions/hating your life 5 days a week. Even the co-ops were subject to this mistreatment and routinely tried to quit each cycle.   If you are considering a job here, PLEASE do not overlook the negative reviews like I did. Everything I've read here is true. If you are looking for a healthy work environment where you will be respected and treated in an appropriate and professional manner, RGG is just not it. Do not accept a job here to get out of another job, you will regret it every single day of your life.

    Rue Gilt Groupe2020-01-21

    Rue Gilt Groupe Response

    January 28, 2020Chief People Officer

    I am disappointed and concerned to read your review. You clearly did not have a positive experience at RGG but I don’t believe it is reflective of the overall culture. Our People team is always available (including myself) if you were having issues with your manager and/or department. We are unable to change things/help managers if we are unaware of the situation. To proactively change the culture, employees need to voice their specific concerns in the moment with specific, actionable detail to have them heard and changed. I am sorry about your experience. I would like to speak to you directly so please reach out to me at nzussman@ruegiltgroupe.com.

    Continue reading
  10. "Great company culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Event Coordinator 

    I worked at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Awesome coworkers, very spirited bunch

    Cons

    Little pay with not many benefits

    Continue reading
    Rue Gilt Groupe2019-12-11
Found 494 reviews