Rue Gilt Groupe Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Rue Gilt Groupe Reviews

Updated Oct 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
45%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Rue Gilt Groupe CEO Mark McWeeny
Mark McWeeny
61 Ratings
Pros
  • "Young, fast paced, creative environment(in 35 reviews)

  • "Great people, good company culture(in 35 reviews)

Cons
  • "You do not practice you own core values Since buying Gilt you have kicked some of your best worker in the teeth to make room some(in 31 reviews)

  • "There is no work-life balance in the BP department(in 27 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Nice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time

    Pros

    Flexible Timing, friendly work space, helpful

    Cons

    None at all overall a good place to work at

    Rue Gilt Groupe2018-09-03
  2. "Good not great place to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Event Coordinator 

    I worked at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time

    Pros

    Unlimited PTO days are included

    Cons

    Long hours are required to succeed

    Rue Gilt Groupe2019-10-14
  3. "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Picker/Packer in Brooks, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy laid back friendly management

    Cons

    None for them basically I don't have any in kind

    Advice to Management

    None

    Rue Gilt Groupe2019-10-10
  4. "Good environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in New York, NY

    I worked at Rue Gilt Groupe part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fully stocked kitchen, fun ppl

    Cons

    Sucks they closed our dept down but not much con

    Rue Gilt Groupe2019-10-10
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Service needs a lot of work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Stylist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rue Gilt Groupe part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Was able to work from home which is a plus if you are a self starter. Management did a great job at making us feel like a team even though we worked remotely. Coworkers are really nice and always willing to help.

    Cons

    The turnover rate is pretty high. The top stylists are treated differently than the rest of the pack (get more top tier clients etc). A system that keeps top stylists at the top and the rest of the stylists scrambling to try and make things work with the clients they have. There are a lot of issues with the way this service is structured (some are pretty obvious). Firing people every other month won’t fix it.

    Advice to Management

    Stop using stylists as scapegoats and focus on implementing changes to the service that may actually give it a fighting chance at longevity.

    Rue Gilt Groupe2019-09-11
  6. Helpful (3)

    "A Sinking Ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible time off. A lot of great people on the creative team.

    Cons

    Disorganized Poor leadership Low morale LAUGHABLE salary Burn out

    Advice to Management

    I’ve worked here almost five years, and I can’t get out fast enough. Since the Gilt acquisition, I feel that the culture has shifted to a toxic one. I love a lot of the people on my team, but leadership is tragic— I feel as though they’re completely turning the other cheek to the fact that a lot of us are absolutely miserable. I cry nearly once a week because I do not make a living wage for the Boston area, I... literally live paycheck to paycheck while people with my title at other companies make 20K more. HR has said for years they’d “look into it” re: salary comp but nothing ever comes of it, so I’ve decided to actively begin my job search. Long story short, I’m embarrassed to tell people I work here because while a lot of people my age are managers and making decent money, I have hardly any growth opportunity and poor pay.

    Show More
    Rue Gilt Groupe2019-09-21
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Poor Communication. Little Transparency. Big Disconnect. Strange Atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some weekly food perks...nothing that I would write home about.

    Cons

    Too many to list....Lack of Integrity

    Advice to Management

    Stop acting like a startup

    Rue Gilt Groupe2019-10-10
  8. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Receiving in Shepherdsville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy work for a factory, pay was decent, a lot of opportunities to advance in company, lunch was provided once or twice a month.

    Cons

    i couldn’t say there are any

    Rue Gilt Groupe2019-09-04

    Rue Gilt Groupe Response

    September 23, 2019HR Business Partner

    Thank you for your feedback, we are glad to hear about your positive experience! -Liz Walker

  9. "I love working at RGG"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Shepherdsville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people are great! Company focuses on the people and member experience. They truly live the values of the company: Passionate, Innovative, Collaborative, Kind, Empowered, and Tenacious.

    Cons

    Business is sometimes unpredictable but company is tenacious and responds.

    Rue Gilt Groupe2019-08-27
  10. "Challenging & Rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rue Gilt Groupe full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    RGG is overall a great place to work. I feel that I am always collaborating with people who are smarter than me and challenge me to perform at my best. I am always given the tools to succeed and associates, for the most part, are very dedicated and passionate around what they do. The culture and the people that I get to work with every day are the best part of working here!

    Cons

    There are many changes happening with the business currently and it can cause a frantic/fast-paced environment for associates. While this can be a negative, it also can provide great growth and development opps for those that enjoy a faced-past, pivoting and thinking-on-your-feet work environment.

    Rue Gilt Groupe2019-08-27

    Rue Gilt Groupe Response

    September 23, 2019HR Business Partner

    Thanks for your feedback! We agree that we have great employees at RGG. As you know, our fast paced and nimble business model isn't for everyone. We are thrilled to hear you see the learning and growth opportunities it brings! Should this ever change - please don't hesitate to reach out. Enjoy. -Liz Walker, HRBP

    Show Less
Found 484 reviews