SUSE Employee Reviews about "open source"

Updated Mar 7, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 of over 349 reviews

4.2
85%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
SUSE CEO Melissa Di Donato (no image)
Melissa Di Donato
167 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible working arrangements built on trust with home based working the norm(in 20 reviews)

  • "Rancher acquisition game changer , really great people(in 17 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "This is the "closed-open" company that keeps on churning out new proprietary (yet open-source) software that have minimal use to the wider(in 11 reviews)

  • "New management don't understand SUSE business(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Tech India

    Join the conversation on

    Tech India

    15.3K Members 

    Ask candid career questions

    -1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/tech-india/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.co.in&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=SUSE~466462
    Join the conversation on

    Reviews about "open source"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      The "closed-open" company

      Mar 7, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in Nuremberg
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Friendly and fun-loving colleagues - A company-wide culture for innovation

      Cons

      - This is the "closed-open" company that keeps on churning out new proprietary (yet open-source) software that have minimal use to the wider open-source world. - Non-technical persons have been appointed positions to lead technical team, diverting their normal decision making process to irrelevant, political discussions. - Some engineering colleagues who had been with the company for 10+ years enjoy the complacency offered by their position and display minimal willingness to adapt new technology.

      2 people found this review helpful

      SUSE Response

      Thank you for your comments. The SUSE team spirit, collaboration, and innovation characterize so much of what’s great about the company’s culture. The Rancher Labs acquisition is about our commitment to upstream open source projects. That said, we work closely with our customers to drive the innovations they need to make their business successful. –SG

    2. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Impossible Sales Targets

      Dec 22, 2020 - Account Executive 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some very loyal customers, but mostly in the legacy space The purchase of Rancher has opened up new conversations

      Cons

      Less than 15% of sales execs hit target, but the company did hit its number... Senior management are getting rid of people who have been at SUSE for many years and are clueless around the open source business model There is a big culture clash with Rancher which is starting to cause friction within the teams

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful

      SUSE Response

      Thank you for your feedback. We’re pleased that you recognize the acquisition of Rancher brings the opportunity for growth. Even before the acquisition we’ve been scaling our business and employ more people than we did a year ago. It’s the growth potential and our shared culture rooted in open source that makes us a winning combination. SUSE understands the importance of providing open source solutions – it was material in the company’s successful Q4 results and will continue to drive us in the future. The size of the market opportunity drives our sales targets and we’re confident we’ll deliver our growth ambitions. Please contact me to discuss your concerns. –SG

    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Receipe for failure

      Dec 18, 2020 - Sales Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Open source adoption and cloud computing growing Strong EMEA base Good product spread

      Cons

      New management under New CEO has no clue of open source business No clarity on short term or mid term goals, bound for failure Management only ex SAP buddies . Time to party or time to pack up

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful

      SUSE Response

      Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are naturally disappointed to read your comments. We are always open to feedback, particularly when it highlights concerns about our continued success. SUSE’s open source ethos underpins who we are, what we do, and how we manage the company. Please contact me directly as I would like more details about the points you have raised. –SG

    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Fantastic place to work once upon a time...New senior management are poor

      Nov 12, 2020 - Systems Architect in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Open Source vendor with a very stable reputation for engineering quality

      Cons

      New Management Team seem unable to grasp the fact that SUSE sells Open Source solutions that drive infrastructure not SAP applications.

      Continue reading
      17 people found this review helpful

      SUSE Response

      Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We are sorry that you feel this way. Ensuring that SUSE remains true to our open source ideals and continues to enjoy sustainable success is a priority for the management team. Please get in touch with me directly if you have outstanding questions so we can discuss and take action where necessary. In the meantime good luck in the future. Thanks again. – SG

    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      No longer an "open" open source company, No product vision!

      Nov 8, 2020 - Software Engineer in Nuremberg
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible timing Work from Home options Had a culture where technology used to drive decisions

      Cons

      No product vision. After a change of leadership after acquisition, the company seems to have completely lost its way. It fires developers at will, marketing and product folks stay even though it is usually a failure of management vision in most cases. In spite of supposed positive growth, software engineers are not valued at the company and let go at will, even though the company plans "expansions". Most products seem to be just upstream products where SUSE is nowhere close to the top contributor, or the products they were top contributors were businesses SUSE exited. If you're a software developer, note that you might be on the chopping block in spite of your performance as the company's idea of reassigning software developers to work on other projects is non existant. Probably an okay company for sales/marketing folks for the flexibility to work from home. At present at least the company doesn't really seem to need software developers, just marketing and support folks to get upstream open source products running. You can see twitter threads from leaving employees have more social momentum than anything from the company's official handle

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful

      SUSE Response

      We are taking the points you raise very seriously and are disappointed to hear that you feel this way. Ensuring that SUSE is a great place to work in all functions and remains true to our open source ideals is a key priority for us. SUSE absolutely provides an environment where software engineers can thrive, grow and share in our long term success. Please get in touch with me directly if you have outstanding questions and good luck in the future. Thanks again. – TDG

    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      2/20 Management vision in a brick wall

      Oct 26, 2020 - Software Developer in Berlin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Used to be great technological company with a great culture. Now it is all show and no content, nowhere keeping up with the fast technological pace and innovation. Okayish pay that you would expect in a tech company. Flexible hours. Used to have a great culture where software engineers were valued. Currently the company has more management openings than software engineers.

      Cons

      After a change of management, the new management seems to be very new in running a company, all they seem to have is a tunnel 2 year vision to save their skins and achieve the requisite management targets. Overall the company is doing a google in terms of failing more products than it creates, and of course nowhere near the technical prowess or the power to pull it off. Other than the core operating system which has its strengths around SAP, every other open source product has been a failure. Of course the competitors with the same technology are doing well, which can be primarily attributed to a failure in management and business vision. The company seems to be intent to fire existing software engineers and hire more management position, even though as a technological company, software engineers can be reused in other newer technologies and are hard to get and train. No news from the higher management on future product vision other than marketing content.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful

      SUSE Response

      We appreciate you posting a review and want you to know we take this type of feedback very seriously. The management team has a clear vision and execution plan in place to continue to deliver innovative and market leading solutions going forward. Ensuring that SUSE is a great place to work in all geos and functions and remains true to our open source ideals is a key priority also and we would be glad to receive more details on the issues that you reference in your post. Please get in touch should you wish to discuss your feedback in more detail. Thanks again. – TDG

    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good company to work for, if you love opensource

      Mar 2, 2020 - Senior Software Engineer in Nuremberg
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people to work with, very close to upstream opensource, lots of freedom, opportunities to learn

      Cons

      Mid-management and director level in some areas are disconnected from the reality, and so are some project managers. Too much Open Source driven people, give hard time when decisions are made (i.e, picking a closed source software instead of an opensource) without considering non-technical people's problems

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      SUSE Response

      We appreciate you posting a review and want you to know we take this type of feedback very seriously. Ensuring that SUSE is a great place to work, which includes our systems, processes and tools, is a key priority for the management team and we would be glad to receive more details on the issues that you reference in your post. Please get in touch with me directly so we can discuss and take action where necessary. Thanks again. – SG

    8. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Potential wasted by new Executive Team without clue

      Feb 11, 2020 - Field Sales Account Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Big presence in some Opens Source communities Strong OS portfolio Fantastic Support Team

      Cons

      The new Sales Management Team does not have a clue about Open Source Lack of strategy already one quarter behind in fixing targets Group of ex SAP friends called to lead a vastly different business

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful

      SUSE Response

      Thanks for taking the time to post a review and please rest assured that it is being taken seriously. Building a world class sales organization capable of tackling market opportunities effectively is a top priority for us at SUSE and we would be glad to receive more details on the specific issues that have caused you to feel this way. I welcome you getting in touch directly with me so we can discuss and take action where necessary. Thanks again. – PD

    9. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      So so...still trying hard to make a name in the industry

      May 19, 2019 - Marketing Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Somewhat stable company that has gone through a lot of different ownership changes during the history. Great player in EMEA and with the SAP partnership.

      Cons

      Not much room for advancement unless you work in sales and climb over people to move up. Open-source Linux distribution company, so very hard to differentiate compared to the leader Red Hat.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to work and develop your knowledge and skills

      Jun 8, 2018 - Developer in Nuremberg
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Wide range of latest technologies to choose to work from - Highly knowledgeable and helpful colleagues - Nice work environment in office - Flexible work hours is not just in papers. Its a reality and helps in getting work-life balance for any situation - Approachable management with no barriers for communication - Lot of opportunities for those who want to get ahead in the open-source world and be a known expert - The company is adapting to new technologies - Engineers/Developers are respected and not micromanaged.

      Cons

      - Development processes in some teams are not well documented which may be a bit hard for new-comers to adapt - With the ongoing open source revolution, its difficult to choose and focus on particular technology to be an expert. - Your work may become absolete very fast due to changing technology priorities which is true with every opensource technology. So there is a constant pressure on ramping up to new technologies and adapt fast. This is good for those who want constant learning and unlearning and not for those who cannot adapt quick. - Salary may be sub-par considering the range and standard of skills expected. - Some uncertainties from the parent company tickles down sometimes which may disturb the otherwise happy balance.

      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 11 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with SUSE Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at SUSE? Share Your Experiences

    or