Sage Hospitality Reviews

Updated May 19, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 416 of over 418 reviews

4.3
83%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Sage Hospitality President and CEO Walter L. Isenberg
Walter L. Isenberg
239 Ratings
Pros
  • "Support from senior leadership, pretty good benefits, good team members, locations all over(in 14 reviews)

  • "Great company, flexibility, room for growth(in 13 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "The pandemic forced us to close restaurants and hotels(in 22 reviews)

  • "Upper management is out of touch with properties(in 16 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year
      Featured Review

      I have finally found my home!!!

      Mar 17, 2022 - General Manager in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Inspiring. Encouraging. Supportive. Freedom. Sense of Belonging

      Cons

      NONE. Not a single one I can think of. That's kind of a big deal.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Sage Hospitality Response

      People & Culture

      Hello! Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your thoughtful review. It warms our hearts to know that our associates and leaders know they are valued and know they belong. We exist to enrich your life and couldn't be more proud of the culture created by having people like you as part of our organization. Thank you!

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Proud to work here

      May 18, 2022 - Director Of People & Culture in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great management team Many associates with long tenure or who return to the company Home Office are involved and familiar with property level team members

      Cons

      Need more diversity in corporate leadership Could be more competitive with benefits package i.e. 401K matching

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Sage Hospitality Response

      People & Culture

      Dear Associate, Thank you for providing your review for Sage Hospitality! We appreciate you sharing what you love about working here, inclusive of the great management and colleagues. We may be biased, but we think we have the best talent around ;) We also appreciate your constructive feedback. While there is always room for improvement with diversity, please know that Sage's diversity metrics actually far exceed national and industry benchmarks and we have several active initiatives to keep the focus on continuous improvement. We are also constantly evaluating our benefits to remain competitive, so thanks again!

    3. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Best Company Ever

      May 9, 2022 - General Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Sage cares deeply for all of us staff members. They listen and do everything they can to support us. Especially over the past 2 years. The core DNA of the company is to care deeply for all people and to ensure everyone is treated with great worth, dignity and respect. I have experienced that every day for the last 18 years.

      Cons

      None. Sage is a great company. I will never leave.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Sage Hospitality Response

      People & Culture

      Dear Associate: It's hard to type this reply with tears in our eyes. We thank you for your heartfelt review. We could not be more proud to have you as a leader within our organization and are so honored and humbled by the fact that you feel how much we truly care for our associates. We commit to continue driving the heart, soul, and DNA of Sage! #YouBelong

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Amazing company!

      May 9, 2022 - Assistant General Manager in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Culture, community ambassador, focused on development, attentive to personal needs, flexible and understanding.

      Cons

      None. None. None. None. None.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Sage Hospitality Response

      People & Culture

      Hello! First of all, thank you for providing your review. Second, thank you for your years of service and for enriching so many lives! We are sure you have also been an amazing ambassador of our culture, community outreach, development, flexibility, etc. It's because of people like you that we exist #YOUBELONG!

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      LOVE IT

      May 9, 2022 - Operations Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This place has become my second home; I love the people, the culture and the daily work.

      Cons

      Corporate can sometimes be a bit out of touch with what is happening on the property level. No diversity at the Executive corporate level.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Sage Hospitality Response

      People & Culture

      As a hospitality company, we could not ask for anything more than to be a second home for people (both associates and guests alike) -- you are right that the culture and people truly make that a reality! Please know that we all exist to enrich the lives of our associates and support our properties. We would love to hear any additional suggestions you might have at my.voice@sagehospitalitygroup.com. We would also like to share that we have a deliberate DE&I initiative, and while Sage actually has amazing diversity metrics, we are committed to ensuring those are reflected at all levels of the organization. Thank you again, welcome home, and YOU BELONG!

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work

      May 9, 2022 - Director of Marketing 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Positive and collaborative culture Strong core values of hospitality and belonging People are passionate, intelligent, kind, and they genuinely care about the work they do and the people they work with and serve Promotes from within; many employees with long tenures Fair pay Encourages work/life balance

      Cons

      Would be great to see more diversity in senior leadership/executive roles

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Sage Hospitality Response

      People & Culture

      Dear Sage Associate: Thank you for taking the time to write your review! We couldn't be happier to read your comments describing our You Belong culture and the amazing people you work with. We work hard to ensure all associates feel like they belong at Sage. We would also love to mention that we have an active DE&I initiative, and while Sage actually has amazing diversity metrics, we are committed to ensuring those are reflected at all levels of the organization. Thank you!

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Amazing

      May 8, 2022 - Server/Bartender in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Love working for such an inclusive company

      Cons

      Very busy high service bar. Lot of time and effort put into maintaining it.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Sage Hospitality Response

      People & Culture

      Dear Current Associate: Thank you for taking time to leave your review! Many more thanks for all of the hard work that you put into into maintaining a high-service bar in Denver -- it's a happening scene! We so appreciate you enriching the lives of our guests. Please know that Sage exists to enrich your life -- being an inclusive companies is just one of the many ways we seek to do that. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do for you!

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Strong Worker Bonds

      May 2, 2022 - Barista 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fast Paced, Rewarding, Union, Experienced Staff, Upscale Property

      Cons

      Limited Hours Slow seasons because of the Industry

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Sage Hospitality Response

      People & Culture

      Dear Current Associate: Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your review of Sage Hospitality! We appreciate you noting the quality of our properties and rewarding work. We are also really happy to hear that you get to experience strong bonds with your colleagues. We are so proud of and humbled by all of our amazing associates :) As you mention, there are certain ebbs and flows for our industry, which all the more reason why the work and our co-workers are so important! Thanks again.

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      great place and culture

      May 2, 2022 - Director of Culinary Operations 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      care for the employees and lots of growth

      Cons

      lots of growth haha but not a bad con

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Sage Hospitality Response

      People & Culture

      Dear Associate: We appreciate your review! You touch on the thing we care most about, which is enriching the lives of our associates through our culture. We also consider ourselves fortunate to be focused on growing after the past several years and are so excited to go through this journey with our wonderful associates. Thank you for joining us for this ride!

    10. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Eh

      May 16, 2022 - Front Desk Ambassador in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits, people, and schedules.

      Cons

      Any new or startup properties you can expect minimal staffing and under-experienced management.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Sage Hospitality Response

      People & Culture

      Dear Former Associate, Thank you for reaching out. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the benefits, people, and scheduling during your time with Sage. These are important considerations to enriching lives! We have also noted your your constructive feedback. New properties always present many exciting opportunities, which is why we have a dedicated transition teams to help along the way. While it may take time to get fully up and running, please know we are always committed to the success of our new properties. If you would like to provide further detail to help us improve, we invite you to email my.voice@sagehospitalitygroup.com.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 416 Reviews

    Sage Hospitality Reviews FAQs

    Sage Hospitality has an overall rating of 4.3 out of 5, based on over 418 reviews left anonymously by employees. 83% of employees would recommend working at Sage Hospitality to a friend and 79% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 10% over the last 12 months.

    According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Sage Hospitality employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.0 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Sage Hospitality. This rating has improved by 12% over the last 12 months.

    83% of Sage Hospitality employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Sage Hospitality 3.9 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.1 for culture and values and 4.2 for career opportunities.

    Popular Careers with Sage Hospitality Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Sage Hospitality? Share Your Experiences

    Sage Hospitality logo
    or