Saint-Gobain Performance Plastics Research Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Saint-Gobain Performance Plastics Research Engineer Reviews

Updated Jun 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
95%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Saint-Gobain Performance Plastics CEO Laurent Guillot
Laurent Guillot
1 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Good company to start out with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Saint-Gobain Performance Plastics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent benefits and pay. Overall good work culture and coworkers.

    Cons

    This company is quite heavy on the upper management. The employees doing the work get pulled in different directions depending on the particular upper manager.

    Advice to Management

    Make a decision, form a plan, communicate to the entire business and workforce, and stick to what you plan. We have seen managers back down hours before executing a plan because they changed their mind at the last minute.

    Saint-Gobain Performance Plastics2019-06-20
  2. Helpful (1)

    "R&D Engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Research and Development Engineer in Akron, OH
    Recommends

    I have been working at Saint-Gobain Performance Plastics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very good benefit and schedule

    Cons

    Can't think of anything at the moment

    Saint-Gobain Performance Plastics2017-05-08
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Difficult for career growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Research Engineer in Northborough, MA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Saint-Gobain Performance Plastics full-time

    Pros

    Corporate responsibility, Reasonable benefits and salary, Gender diversity

    Cons

    Management lacks focus, little opportunity for growth, lack of HR engagement

    Advice to Management

    Take some effort and implement methodologies to identify your valuable resources and encourage them for growth. Promoting gender diversity is good, but it should not happen at the cost of everything else!

    Saint-Gobain Performance Plastics2016-03-28
  4. Helpful (1)

    "A Fun and Innovative Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Engineer in Northborough, MA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Saint-Gobain Performance Plastics full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    This company really cares about its employees and it shows. The employee moral is high, innovation is great, attitudes are great... all leading to a great working experience. Everyone is committed to doing quality work and proud of what they do. It makes for great teamwork and a great environment.

    Cons

    Being a large company, sometimes management can seem a bit disconnected. However this has improved greatly over the last few years for the positive.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up with the innitiatives to create a great place to work. PPL has improved greatly over my time with SG and I look forward to the continued improvement.

    Saint-Gobain Performance Plastics2014-06-23

    Saint-Gobain Performance Plastics Response

    July 9, 2014Director of HR

    Thanks for the great feedback on our culture and work environment! We are working hard to make sure that our managers take the time to sustain their connections and relationships within their business but there is still room for improvement on this front. We will continue with our ...

    Show More
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Ok experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Research Engineer in Northborough, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Saint-Gobain Performance Plastics full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It is a job, ok?

    Cons

    Large international company with many branches

    Advice to Management

    Keep the talent by treating them we'll

    Saint-Gobain Performance Plastics2013-10-04
  6. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Research Engineer in Northborough, MA
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Saint-Gobain Performance Plastics full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good work enviroment, Dynamic Projects

    Cons

    Matrix organization and fast paced working schedule

    Saint-Gobain Performance Plastics2012-12-07
  7. Helpful (1)

    "It is just okay!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Engineer in Worcester, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Saint-Gobain Performance Plastics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    overall flexibility and good benefits

    Cons

    not easy to grow with the company especially as someone who has only BS. Don't feel sense of belonging. Too crazy about everything.

    Advice to Management

    Motivate people to grow and be easy going.

    Saint-Gobain Performance Plastics2012-11-20
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Stable, Boring Job that goes nowhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Research Engineer in Northborough, MA
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Saint-Gobain Performance Plastics

    Pros

    Stable Job. Decent people. A few talented people at the R&D center. Ok benefits

    Cons

    Very bureaucratic. Arrogant Management. Technical competancy low. Intellectually dissatisfying work.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on retaining talented people by allowig them to do more science and/or better advancement opportunities.

    Saint-Gobain Performance Plastics2010-05-26
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to start your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Research Engineer II in Northborough, MA
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Saint-Gobain Performance Plastics

    Pros

    Great learning experience Work amongst best engineers Innovative environment High heath and Safety Standards Travel opportunities Exposure to Corporate Culture Job Security

    Cons

    MS and BS engineers treated like technicians instead of engineers. Non PhD engineers not welcomed at meetings, presentations etc. The career growth is also very different for both. Too much Red Tape and bureaucracy, as could be expected in a big company

    Advice to Management

    Overall, Saint Gobain is a great company to work for. The technical and other opportunities (training, travel, growth) are wonderful. However, there is a vast career growth gap between MS/BS and PhD engineers. That could be narrowed a little bit.

    Saint-Gobain Performance Plastics2010-04-14
  10. "Good place to start your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Research Engineer in Northborough, MA
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Saint-Gobain Performance Plastics

    Pros

    Large, diverse, talented group of scientists and engineers. Perhaps too inward looking when trying to find new approaches to solving problems. However, diversity aids talent and skill development of newly minted MS and PhD employees. Good cross fertilization of talent from different technical backgrounds. Could have been supported with improved business interactions

    Cons

    If you are not French and want a leadership role - look elsewhere.

    Advice to Management

    Look outside of the Grand Ecoles for your leadership. While talented - you are inbred as well

    Saint-Gobain Performance Plastics2010-02-09
Found 10 reviews