Saipem America Reviews

Updated 19 Apr 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
46%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Saipem America CEO Stefano Cao (no image)
Stefano Cao
4 Ratings
Pros
  • "Wide variety of work venues, opportunity to travel, rewarded for proficiency, good benefits(in 2 reviews)

  • "Saipem gives you the opportunity to learn a lot about the industry(in 2 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Disorganized, highly mismanaged in every sense and if you're not an Italian, you're not viewed as an asset(in 8 reviews)

  • "There is not much room for growth(in 3 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Good company and great People

      19 Apr 2021 - Superintendent in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of work and great people

      Cons

      Closed the Houston office and laid off most of the US Based workers

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Feels good working with Saipem

      28 Jan 2021 - Software Engineer in Texas City, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Really comfortable environment for work

      Cons

      Limited rest time off shore

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      I realized it was all about management getting the best of the best while employees were underappreciated.

      25 Feb 2021 - Operations Engineer Junior in Georgetown
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It has Cultural Diverse work environment

      Cons

      The management seems as thought it's ran by kindergarteners.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Material Coordinador

      17 Jan 2021 - Materials Coordinator 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I love this job a lot

      Cons

      Opportunity, knowledge, direction, respondability, management

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      good overall

      13 Dec 2020 - Senior Tendering Engineer in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      benefits, short work week, no micromanagement, good vacation packages

      Cons

      culture, CEO does not promote growth and has a select preferred employees

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Horrible

      28 Dec 2020 - Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A lot traveling which is good I guess And good exposure

      Cons

      Very disorganized Bad communication Favoritism towards expats Terrible pay No room for improvement because managers want you to stay one place No community/environmental engagement If you can carry news you’ll mostly definitely get better pay and/or position So much room for improvement

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee

      worst company

      9 Sep 2020 - Piping Stress Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      you may find good friend

      Cons

      management is like the MAFIA,..

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good company

      20 Aug 2019 - Tool Pusher in Bogotá, Bogota, Bogota
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      excellent company, good payment, excellent partners

      Cons

      No cons, xxxxx, xxx xxx xx

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      I am very pleased!

      30 Sep 2015 -  in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent Salary, job growth opportunity, life/work balance, and very relax atmosphere To be honest, I'm tired of hearing all these negative Nancy's bashing Saipem and then, we hear you are trying to apply back or you're miserable at your new job! Or those that complain when they don't do their own job right yet they want to be praised and rewarded for being lazy/cocky/or have the feed me with a silver spoon mentality. I have worked here over 3 years and I love it, could it be better? Yes it can, but have I left or plan on leaving? No, because I've grown a lot here and believe I can continue to grow. When I feel capped out, I will leave, but not bitter or negative like most, b/c at one point, they took care of me in at least one way. No one here is trapped into slavery, you can leave if you're so miserable. Also, I believe that your department and the relationship you have with your manager is a HUGE factor. I have noticed that the people that don't get along with their manager is because they are just as hard headed as they are and act like 5 year olds that take everything personal and everything/everyone is out to get them. Those who have a good experience here are those who compromise, follow procedures, and learn to let things go and not take stuff so personal.

      Cons

      The "Italian" Way or no way

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great atmosphere - top notch folks

      26 Jun 2015 - Senior Civil Designer in Calgary, AB
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Good to above average benefits. - Qualified management & staff not hired just "because we had to have somebody" - Everyone here actually speaks English, Management here from Italy who actually are concerned about improving their English skills, and not just avoiding them. ESL Leaders in EPCM companies all over western Canada with their poor English skills and appalling written grammar could learn a lot from this refreshing European attitude towards integration. - Interesting perks like free/reduced membership fees to fitness clubs, $300.00/yr. fitness budget that you'll have no problem spending at MEC 10 minutes walk south of here.

      Cons

      Having recently merged with Saipem Globally, all software upgrades & decisions alike need to be made at head office in Italy. This creates huge problems when trying to get necessary software upgrades for project requirements at all, let alone in a hurry.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 57 Reviews

    Work at Saipem America? Share Your Experiences

    Saipem America logo
    or