Salesforce Senior Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Salesforce Senior Manager Reviews

Updated 9 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 109 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Salesforce CEO Marc Benioff and Keith Block
Marc Benioff and Keith Block
17 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work and learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Manager in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Employee success matter to the organization - Open door policy. Transparency into organization decisions and outlook - Talented team members - Active support from management for individuals to grow and challenge themselves

    Cons

    - Growing/ scaling challenges (which is good sign) - To many stakeholders involved for decision making

    Salesforce2019-01-28

    Salesforce Response

    February 3, 2019Deepa, Narayan, Sr Director - Employee Success, India

    Thank you for your review. It's great to hear you're enjoying your experience here and we're so glad to have you part of the Ohana!

  2. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Perfect place to be! Strongly recommended

    Cons

    Nothing much, too rapid growth

    Salesforce2018-10-31
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Wonderful company with employee friendly policies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager, Software Engineering in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good stock options provided on joining. ESPP at 15% discount Free food Good perks - gym reimbursement, dental/vision reimbursement Decent base salary

    Cons

    Nothing as of now. No company provided transport, maybe HR can review and address this concern. Also need to ensure that the culture at hyderabad is consistent with that in HQ, San Francisco

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work and ensure that employee friendly policies do not dilute as the company grows further. Also, need to ensure that the company culture remains the same across all geographical locations.

    Salesforce2018-02-01
  4. Helpful (18)

    "Want PTSD - Work for Salesforce"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Program Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Plush office space Snacks Nice view from the upper floors

    Cons

    Salesforce is the most toxic organization I have ever worked for, and I've worked for a lot of organizations as both an FTE, contractor, and consultant over the past two decades. Trying to pare down what I want to warn others of is difficult. I'll just bullet it out and you can decide what would wear you down, disrupt your sleep, and leave you paranoid, the most. - 1:1s with senior management where the most... hateful things are said about your character, etc., and then afterward, the manager acts as though it never happened. -Pressure to give Salesforce a glowing Glassdoor rating after less than 30 days at the company when you do not know enough to provide an accurate review. - No written reviews, something called a 9 box where management provides their opinion of you and tells you it exists but then says you are never allowed to see it, per H/R. - If you want to apply for an internal position, you must have your manager's permission first. If you tell your manager you want to apply for the role and he/she does not want to lose you, he/she just says, no, you do not have my permission. Game over, you are going no where. - If you are allowed a desk (many have to submit to hoteling and never knowing where they will sit day to day), no personal plants, photos, or non SF toys allowed. They want a uniform look to the desks. -Forced volunteerism, if you do not log your 50 hour minimum of volunteer hours per year, you will be shamed at team meetings. Doesn't matter if you have kids, sick parents, 60 hour work week, whatever, you are expected to make the minimum. -No criticism of Benioff permitted. And don't ever say out loud that you found it disturbing to see a laying on of hands and someone praying over him as though he were a prophet at an internal company meeting. Management will quickly remind you that he is leading the 4th industrial revolution and he is the leading mind of our time. -If you are managing young hourly employees, be prepared to be instructed that you are to tell them they MUST go to team dinners, volunteer events, and SF "fun" activities but this is not work, so they don't get paid. If you push back, you will be reprimanded for "not being Ohana." - Teams are run by popularity. Backstabbing, shaming, and shunning are used to get the teams to stay quiet about how bad things are. People who speak out about behaviors, lack of professionalism, etc. are labeled, "unOhana" and told that they are not acting like family. - When you interview and you take a position, there is ZERO guarantee that the role you interviewed for and were hired for is the role you will be doing. The management opinion is to hire highly qualified people, they will be so grateful to be permitted to work at Salesforce, they will do whatever job we give them. I kid you not, you may have more than a decade of experience, be highly technical, have managed teams, and be hired for a technical role, then be told you are going to do data entry level work and you will be glad you are permitted to be at this company doing that. -If you are uncomfortable participating in some public events, e.g. parades, events, etc., and SF is participating in one, there is incredible pressure to spend your weekend in the parade or event. The expectation is that Salesforce and its needs come first. I cannot stress this enough, you are told that Salesforce is YOUR family and your family comes first. A lack of loyalty to the company will get penalized far more significantly and quicker than complete incompetence, maliciousness, or even harassment. Salesforce demands absolute devotion.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hate to break it to you, but you aren't all that. Your technology stack is antiquated, think Oracle lite. You are an employer, you are not and never should be anyone's family. Your employee turn over rates continue to go up, this is not a good sign. The people that remain cannot go anywhere, golden handcuffs, lack of real technical knowledge. As a company you are slow to move, lack agility, and if anyone ever... decides to seriously compete, you are in trouble. Oh, and Benioff is a good businessman, he is not the 2nd coming. The slavish devotion is off putting to anyone with a healthy world view. EVERYONE should be questioned, that is how you learn and grow. Putting him and his views off limits, is not a long term strategy for success.

    Show More
    Salesforce2019-09-09

    Salesforce Response

    September 13, 2019Linda Aiello, SVP International Employee Success

    Thank you for your review. What you've described is concerning and not at all what we want to see at Salesforce. Please reach out to your Employee Success Business Partner to discuss your concerns so we can learn more. If you don't feel comfortable doing that, please reach out anonymously ...

    Show More
  5. "Amazing role with plenty of future opportunities!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Program Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Culture, challenging problems, teamwork mentality

    Cons

    None, Salesforce offers learning opportunities, community involvement, and career support from Day 1.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Salesforce2019-07-31
  6. Helpful (1)

    "So proud to be a part of the Salesforce family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I was working as a contractor at Salesforce for several years and was very impressed with the company culture. They have an incredible sense of inclusion and really value their employees. The work/ life balance is incredible and there is a lot of management encouragement to spend time with the family.

    Cons

    I can't think of any cons... it's likely the most rewarding company that I've worked with.

    Advice to Management

    The Core values are amazing and it's so great to work with my team at Salesforce!

    Salesforce2019-07-12
  7. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Senior Program Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Salesforce for less than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced Aligned goals Fair compensation Socially Conscious Excellent benefits

    Cons

    Sometimes unreasonable expectations Not-invented-here syndrome -- sometimes

    Salesforce2019-06-28
  8. "Great benefits, work ethic and business ethics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Customer Success Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing benefits that cover all life aspects (insurance, well-being, time off, parental leave etc 1:1:1 model where the company donates 1% of it's product, 1% of its profit and 1% of the employees' work hours

    Cons

    Corporate work - politics over territory, long processes, physical distance from high level managers

    Salesforce2019-06-23

    Salesforce Response

    June 27, 2019Linda Aiello, SVP International Employee Success

    Thank you for your review – it's good to see that you enjoy working at Salesforce, our benefits and our giving back model. Regarding the cons, I encourage you to reach out to your manager, or if you feel more comfortable, to your Employee Success Business Partner to discuss how we ...

    Show More
  9. Helpful (29)

    "Going down"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, unlimited PTO, the name of the company, Media and market stronghold, Ruling the cityscapes

    Cons

    Company is imploding. The 3-4% annual merit raises aren’t good enough. Existing employee salaries are sub-par. No RSUs or stocks given to employees anymore. Incentivization by pay is a distant dream. Management and upper management take the meat of the money - typical of any company getting avaricious. Heavy attrition in critical functions is chipping away at all levels. Politics and power grab is the main game and... not quality of work. Nepotism, favoritism is definitely on the rise. Transparency is questionable.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay your existing employees well and you may save yourself from a sure shot downfall.

    Salesforce2019-05-27

    Salesforce Response

    June 13, 2019SVP, ES Business Partners and Global ER

    Thank you for your review. As you said, we're growing fast, but we're very committed to creating and maintaining a great workplace. In order to ensure we're doing that, feedback like yours is very important. If you feel comfortable to do so, can you reach out to your ESBP to provide ...

    Show More
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Good overall, depends what team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineering Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Salesforce full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and pay.

    Cons

    Each team is different. First team had so many re-orgs that it became toxic. Second team is so stuffy that it's hard to be yourself.

    Advice to Management

    not sure.

    Salesforce2019-05-22
Found 109 reviews