Samsung Electronics America Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Samsung Electronics America Reviews

Updated 26 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.6
35%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
Samsung Electronics America President and CEO YH Eom
YH Eom
26 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work life balance does not exist(in 153 reviews)

  • "Korea headquarters culture can still work its way into day-to-day work(in 72 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Samsung Electronics America full-time

    Pros

    Good great place to work and good carrier growth

    Cons

    Nothing as such was great experience

    Samsung Electronics America2020-02-04
  2. "MANAGER"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Salem, Tamil Nadu
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Samsung Electronics America full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Best relationship to everyone and easy conversation.

    Cons

    Stress because I have to complete the monthly target.

    Continue reading
    Samsung Electronics America2017-10-10

    Samsung Electronics America Response

    October 16, 2017Employer Branding

    Thank you so much for your awesome review! We love hearing how much you enjoyed getting to know our fantastic employees and we will utilize your advice as we look for ways to improve. Sincerely, The Employee Engagement Team

    Continue reading
  3. "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Samsung Electronics America full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good exposure to fast track working culture.

    Cons

    No time to spend on family.

    Samsung Electronics America2017-07-26

    Samsung Electronics America Response

    July 26, 2017Employer Branding

    Thank you for your review. We have some of the most dedicated and hard-working individuals in the industry and we encourage them to take time off to relax and recharge. As you mentioned, we are a fast-paced tech company, and we recognize this can be a challenge. We take this topic seriously and strive to create a culture that encourages work-life balance. Sincerely, The Employee Engagement Team

    Continue reading
  4. "Overall good."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Bangalore

    I have been working at Samsung Electronics America

    Pros

    Good payer, perks, gifts, events, onsites, varied work oppurtunities.

    Cons

    Appraisals are not guaranteed to be fairest although it varies with ability/attitude of managers. Work pressure sometimes. Time strict. No work from home.

    Continue reading
    Samsung Electronics America2011-08-19
  5. "Diverse, dynamic and open"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director, Corporate Strategy in Ridgefield Park, Bergen, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Samsung Electronics America full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    (1) Diversity and inclusion: mix of various professional and cultural/ethnic backgrounds of employees, C-level female leadership. And at the same time, feels like one team. (2) Dynamic: an organization that is constantly trying to reinvent/transform itself (and the industry) - never boring (3) Open leadership: listening, continuously trying to improve, valuing employees as individuals and being open to their needs

    Cons

    Not everyone might enjoy a continuous change

    Continue reading
    Samsung Electronics America2020-02-26
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Toxic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Samsung Electronics America full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Competitive Salary and excellent benefits if you can stomach the work culture. (Negotiate well in advance, once in there is very little to be gained) Some products are quite good and given what a horrible place it is to work, brand has surprisingly good global rating.

    Cons

    Overall chaotic and toxic atmosphere. There are incomprehensible processes that are unchangeable, management is paranoid, HR is a disaster, US teams have very little authority to act independently so work feels more like a factory line than a place of innovation. Anyone who has worked here has heard or witnessed the absolute nightmares of HQ dispatcher behavior. Given the troubles at the top at HQ, it isn't surprising .

    Continue reading
    Samsung Electronics America2020-02-22
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good experience to work and learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director Marketing in Ridgefield Park, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Samsung Electronics America full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Industry leading technology and products. Also working with many talented and passionate people in USA and S.Korea. Very good benefits

    Cons

    Need to understand and respect the company's rules and processes pretty well.

    Samsung Electronics America2020-02-11
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Surprisingly backwards"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Ridgefield Park, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Samsung Electronics America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, huge company, hard-working culture

    Cons

    Highly political, military-culture, poor communication, unclear processes

    Samsung Electronics America2020-02-18
  9. "50/50"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Sales Manager in Edison, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Samsung Electronics America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    First hand knowledge of latest innovation Benefits Prestige

    Cons

    Work life balance does not exist Travel per diem Flexibility

    Continue reading
    Samsung Electronics America2020-02-05
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Good place for cruising"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Samsung Electronics America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice offices and pretty good food if you like Korean food at the cafeteria. Both large campuses in the bay area are nice. If you ARE happy be with good above average salary and can put up with crap it's a great place so spend a.couple years and build a house or something. Mid senior level where you avoid contact with Korean bosses are best positions.

    Cons

    Top down hierarchical and patriarchal culture with added process that want a reciept for every dollar. Yes that's not just statement they want a reciept for every 1 dollar. The processes are mind numbing. Performance reviews and projects need to go to Korea for approval and you will be treated 2nd class at higher levels but money's pretty good for a short time.

    Continue reading
    Samsung Electronics America2020-02-08

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 826 reviews