Samsung Research America Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Samsung Research America Reviews

Updated Oct 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Samsung Research America CEO Joon Lee
Joon Lee
43 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "There is no stock so the overall package is medium in Silicon Valley(in 12 reviews)

  • "I think there is always something SRA can improve on, but nothing major at this point that I want to highlight here(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Samsung Research America

    Pros

    Good work experience place to learn

    Cons

    No cons in my view

    Advice to Management

    Nothing , as it is good always

    Samsung Research America2018-08-11

    Samsung Research America Response

    August 23, 2018Sr. manager HR Ops

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate your input and are happy to hear you’re enjoying your experience here. If you have any further feedback to share please email us at HRFeedback@sisa.samsung.com.

  2. "Working at Samsung Research America was very impressive for who has willingness to search disruptive technologies."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Samsung Research America full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Strength of Innovation, Disruptive, Convergence and Interconnection

    Cons

    Just have Short term milestones

    Advice to Management

    Drive employees to have entrepreneurship and product commercialization

    Samsung Research America2019-10-10

    Samsung Research America Response

    October 14, 2019Sr. manager HR Ops

    Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We wish you the best in your future endeavors. Have a great day!

  3. "Staff software engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Samsung Research America full-time

    Pros

    Good work-life balance, interesting topic, good facilities

    Cons

    All the important staff happens in Korea. Difficult to grow proffessionally

    Samsung Research America2019-10-04

    Samsung Research America Response

    October 14, 2019Sr. manager HR Ops

    Thank you for your review! Please know that your feedback is very important to us. If you'd like to further discuss the cons mentioned in your review, please email us at Hrfeedback@samsung.com. Thank you!

  4. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Samsung Research America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Team members are friendly and patient with me. Helped me a lot during my stay

    Cons

    N/A for now. Food is not that good

    Samsung Research America2019-09-24

    Samsung Research America Response

    October 2, 2019Sr. manager HR Ops

    Hello and thank you for your review. Please know that your feedback is very important to us. We are glad to hear you are enjoying your time with us. Have a great day!

  5. "Focused on vision related research"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Researcher 

    I have been working at Samsung Research America full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice managers, very good office location

    Cons

    Projects change every few months, uncertainty is high in general

    Samsung Research America2019-09-15

    Samsung Research America Response

    October 2, 2019Sr. manager HR Ops

    Thank you for your review! Please know that your feedback is very important to us. If you'd like to further discuss the things mentioned in your review, please email us at Hrfeedback@samsung.com . Thank you!

  6. "Pretty good overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Software Test Engineer in San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at Samsung Research America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Challenging and you learn a lot of new things at work

    Cons

    Can tire out people who are not used to demanding day to day tasks

    Advice to Management

    Nothing

    Samsung Research America2019-09-10

    Samsung Research America Response

    October 2, 2019Sr. manager HR Ops

    Hello and thank you for your review! We are glad to hear you are having a good time here at SRA. Have a great day!

  7. "there always some growing pains"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Samsung Research America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    overall path is really fast People are great and nice you don't get trust and credibility, instead you earn it.

    Cons

    culture crush - need to find your own way to balance out poor, incompetent SRA president, should be replaced

    Advice to Management

    find a leader who has R&D mindset to lead SRA

    Samsung Research America2019-10-14
  8. "Bad work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Engineer in Mountain View, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Samsung Research America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Salary with health benefits

    Cons

    Communication problem in every level (manager to higher management). Projects and plans changes very often. Very less chance for the promotion. If you tell the truth in company survey, then you will be in trouble.

    Advice to Management

    Do not trust company survey. Please train the managers to have a regular meeting with employee to discuss the results.

    Samsung Research America2019-10-03

    Samsung Research America Response

    October 7, 2019Sr. manager HR Ops

    Hello and thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear about your negative experience with us. In regards to our company survey, it is completely anonymous and used as a tool to gather employee feedback, anonymously, similar to Glassdoor. Initiatives that can be implemented, are, in our efforts to improve and continue to make SRA a great place to work. We thank you for your time with us and wish you the best in your future endeavors.

    Show Less
  9. "A fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Samsung Research America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of social activities. A really fun place for your professionals.

    Cons

    Work can get demanding sometimes.

    Samsung Research America2019-08-10

    Samsung Research America Response

    October 2, 2019Sr. manager HR Ops

    Hello and thank you for your review! It's great to hear that you are having a good time with us. Please know that your feedback is very important to us and is used to continue to make SRA a great place to work.

  10. "Fast paced R&D environment that is both challenging and rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Research Scientist in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Samsung Research America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You really get a chance to work on world's cutting edge science and engineering problems.

    Cons

    The pressure could build up from time to time and it could be challenging if you are not used to a fast paced environment.

    Samsung Research America2019-08-10

    Samsung Research America Response

    October 2, 2019Sr. manager HR Ops

    Thank you for taking the time to give us a review! Please know that we appreciate your feedback and will communicate it to our management. Your feedback help us continue to make SRA a great place to work.

Found 251 reviews