Samsung Research America Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Samsung Research America Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 236 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Samsung Research America CEO Joon Lee
Joon Lee
32 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Organizational relationships with HQ in Korea can be challenging to navigate(in 12 reviews)

  • "There is no stock so the overall package is medium in Silicon Valley(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Samsung Research America

      Pros

      Good work experience place to learn

      Cons

      No cons in my view

      Advice to Management

      Nothing , as it is good always

      Samsung Research America2018-08-11

      Samsung Research America Response

      August 23, 2018Sr. manager HR Ops

      Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate your input and are happy to hear you’re enjoying your experience here. If you have any further feedback to share please email us at HRFeedback@sisa.samsung.com.

    • "Great work and life balance"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Manager 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Samsung Research America full-time for more than 9 years

      Pros

      Great colleges and perfect job opportunities

      Cons

      lot of dogs in office

      Samsung Research America2019-05-20
    • "Great workplace with well balanced culture"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Director 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Samsung Research America full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      - Great working culture and environment - Varous supports from other Samsung organizations - Wide range of R&D topics from S/W to H/W - More chance to commercialize your ideas with the support of Samsung HQ - Great Cafeteria!!!

      Cons

      - Rising living cost in the area - No shuttle. Commute would not be easy if you live in San Franciso or east bay

      Samsung Research America2019-05-20
    • "great company, unclear vision and direction"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Samsung Research America full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Worked with smart people. Had challenging projects/work that expanded my experience greatly.

      Cons

      poor management (change minds so quickly and get conflicting messages)working in isolation/lacking feedback from peers

      Samsung Research America2019-05-14
    • "Great work environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Current Employee - Software Engineer in Irvine, CA
      Recommends

      I have been working at Samsung Research America full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Great talented people. Ownership and availability to move around the company. Great health benefits.

      Cons

      Communication between teams is slow, sudden deadlines or requirements from HQ (Korea) and paperwork can be too much sometimes.

      Samsung Research America2019-05-12
    • Helpful (1)

      "A unique blend of Silicon Valley and a strong corporate"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Director in Mountain View, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Samsung Research America full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Company is doing well and considers Samsung Research America a strategic subsidiary. Only smart and pleasant to work with people are hired. Employees are values and respected. Working only on new technologies. No legacy code to maintain. Nice facilities and the regular perks you might expect.

      Cons

      Limited exchange of information between different groups. Decision making is happening in Korean headquarters.

      Advice to Management

      Improve information sharing internally.

      Samsung Research America2019-05-01
    • Helpful (1)

      "Excellent WLB, opportunities to learn new things, experiment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Staff Engineer in Mountain View, CA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Samsung Research America full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      As with anything else, it is what you make out of it

      Cons

      Can be too dynamic at times

      Samsung Research America2019-04-22

      Samsung Research America Response

      May 13, 2019Sr. manager HR Ops

      Hello and thank you for your review! It's great to hear you are enjoying your time at SRA. Have a great day!

    • Helpful (1)

      "Glad to be here!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mountain View, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Samsung Research America full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      I have been here for over 1 year. During this year, I can see the Management is putting in a lot of effort in making SRA a better place to be. In general, I see people are more positive (in their work, the campus, management, etc) toward SRA than a year ago. Management - the management is open to feedback and is constantly looking for ways to improve the employees' experience. People - great and smart...

      Show More

      Cons

      I think there is always something SRA can improve on, but nothing major at this point that I want to highlight here.

      Advice to Management

      Don't ever stop listening to the employees. Keep up the good work!

      Samsung Research America2019-04-11

      Samsung Research America Response

      April 18, 2019Sr. manager HR Ops

      Hello there! Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you are enjoying your time with us. Thank you for all you do to make SRA a great place to work!

    • "Too bad for mid engineer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Software QA Engineer 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Samsung Research America full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Better stay with no promotion

      Cons

      Good benefits with health insurance

      Samsung Research America2019-05-13
    • Helpful (1)

      "Work and life balance. Direct to product"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Principal Engineer in Cupertino, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Samsung Research America full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Totally make send for work and life balance. Work from home is available and performance review by results. Direct contribution to Samsung product is a wonderful experience.

      Cons

      In case of urgent situation, sometimes need to join late-night call due to the time difference between the US and South Korea

      Advice to Management

      Great vision and reasonable compensation are always work!

      Samsung Research America2019-03-29

      Samsung Research America Response

      April 9, 2019Sr. manager HR Ops

      Thank you for your review! Please know that we appreciate all you do to make SRA a fantastic place to work. Please feel free to email us your feedback at hrfeedback@samsung.com.. Have a great day!

    Found 236 reviews