Samsung Research America Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Samsung Research America Reviews

Updated 4 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
77%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Samsung Research America CEO Joon Lee
Joon Lee
45 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Samsung Research America

    Pros

    Good work experience place to learn

    Cons

    No cons in my view

    Advice to Management

    Nothing , as it is good always

    Samsung Research America2018-08-11
  2. "Average Bay Area Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Mountain View, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Samsung Research America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Smart Team Members - Amazing Gym - Good cafeteria food - Nice Employee Discounts

    Cons

    - very Low compensation. - No clear long term vision. - No transparency in the management. - HQ leaders are incapable of making decisions. - Still Focus of Hardware, No emphasis on Software Service side. - Product Teams are not capable enough to identify the next big thing. - No scope for career growth or advancement in skills

    Advice to Management

    Try to improve the cons. Faking cultural survey results will not help

    Samsung Research America2020-01-04
  3. "Work and Life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior QA Lead in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Samsung Research America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very good environment for working parents, working with great people and diversity backgrounds

    Cons

    Things can be slow specially when we need to work with engineers in HQ Suwon

    Advice to Management

    Listen to long committed engineers who are passionate above improving products, process and overall quality

    Samsung Research America2019-12-02
  4. "Nice company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant 

    I have been working at Samsung Research America full-time

    Pros

    There Korean and American vibe are mixed.

    Cons

    American vibe is more than Korean.

    Samsung Research America2019-11-21
  5. "Great workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Samsung Research America full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Company provides necessary resources to help engineers

    Cons

    At times when deadline comes up, you need to come in during weekends

    Samsung Research America2019-11-14
  6. "Nice place to work but must be self-motivated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Analyst in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Samsung Research America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - friendly atmosphere - dedicated co-workers - interesting work - cheapish campus food, free coffee (50% off) - work hours flexible, typically 10-6 - FTE can have remote access to work out of the office

    Cons

    - inconsistent management - dog-friendly to the point it's disruptive (ex. dogs barking in labs, wandering over/slobbering to you, laying on couches in common areas) - not a lot of lateral movement available, very stay-in-your-lane work place - Mandatory "fun" events

    Advice to Management

    - Have more check-ins with your teams to make sure everyone is understanding what exactly is expected of them and why you need the things you do. - Consolidate feedback with other managers to see if you are all on the same page re: projects before giving out instructions because some of it is conflicting and causes delays in work being completed. - Consider having dog-free days for those of us that don't like having dogs roaming around.

    Show More
    Samsung Research America2019-11-10
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Politics Driven Organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Product Development Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Samsung Research America full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Compensation Benefits (slowly decreasing in quality) Location

    Cons

    Politics Driven Decision Making Lack of Transparency Infighting

    Advice to Management

    Align job descriptions with responsibilities. People want to ship product.

    Samsung Research America2019-11-21
  8. "Working at Samsung Research America was very impressive for who has willingness to search disruptive technologies."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Samsung Research America full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Strength of Innovation, Disruptive, Convergence and Interconnection

    Cons

    Just have Short term milestones

    Advice to Management

    Drive employees to have entrepreneurship and product commercialization

    Samsung Research America2019-10-10
  9. "Staff software engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Samsung Research America full-time

    Pros

    Good work-life balance, interesting topic, good facilities

    Cons

    All the important staff happens in Korea. Difficult to grow proffessionally

    Samsung Research America2019-10-04
  10. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Samsung Research America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Team members are friendly and patient with me. Helped me a lot during my stay

    Cons

    N/A for now. Food is not that good

    Samsung Research America2019-09-24
Found 255 reviews