Samsung Semiconductor Inc (US) Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Samsung Semiconductor Inc (US) Reviews

Updated Sep 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Samsung Semiconductor Inc (US) CEO Dr. Kinam Kim
Dr. Kinam Kim
34 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Collaboration is somewhat limited to Korea R&D counterpart(in 47 reviews)

  • "It is hard to manage a work-life balance(in 22 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Samsung Semiconductor Inc (US) full-time

    Pros

    Excellent team, personal connection to larger goals of the company, great work-life balance!

    Cons

    Long Term projects and huge organisation

    Samsung Semiconductor Inc (US)2018-08-03
  2. "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Samsung Semiconductor Inc (US) full-time

    Pros

    Relaxed work environment Innovation is really appreciated

    Cons

    No policy of working from home

    Samsung Semiconductor Inc (US)2019-09-03
  3. Helpful (1)

    "SSI - Challenging Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Samsung Semiconductor Inc (US) full-time

    Pros

    The gym, cafe, and chill zone arcade are nice.

    Cons

    Culture is opressive. Little autonomy. A lot of micromanagement. New senior leadership is dispatched from Korea every two years and rarely attempts to understand the locals as things must be done the Korean way. The CEO visits the site once or twice per year. The local VPs are not allowed to make any significant decisions or improvements. Tenure is valued over competence or productivity. A very challenging place to... work.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Local management can't do anything about employee advice.

    Samsung Semiconductor Inc (US)2019-07-22

    Samsung Semiconductor Inc (US) Response

    July 26, 2019Human Resources

    We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback. We are a unique organization and we strive to find the balance of diverse perspectives, decision-making and leadership styles. At times, we get it right, and sometimes, we need to do more. We listen to employee advice and we are committed to improving the way we do things, especially your employee experience. We do appreciate your patience, and that we continue to collaborate and make those positive changes together.

    Show Less
  4. "Good Perks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Samsung Semiconductor Inc (US) full-time

    Pros

    Good Transportation and food facility, Bonus is good as they do not give Company Shares.

    Cons

    Work is inferior to Korean Counterparts. But is improving as more IP related work is coming to India

    Advice to Management

    Please Hire Quality Engineers, Don't be in a hurry to fill empty seats

    Samsung Semiconductor Inc (US)2019-02-03
  5. "Hardware Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Samsung Semiconductor Inc (US) full-time

    Pros

    is a Good place to learn

    Cons

    can improve work life balance

    Samsung Semiconductor Inc (US)2018-02-04
  6. "Nice people to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer 

    I have been working at Samsung Semiconductor Inc (US) full-time

    Pros

    smart and perfesional people nice working environment

    Cons

    small space lack of sport room lack of inside cafeteria and restaurant

    Samsung Semiconductor Inc (US)2019-09-30
  7. Helpful (9)

    "Worst and Dishonest Leadership in my 20 year Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Manager in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Samsung Semiconductor Inc (US) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good food and perks and flex work hours.

    Cons

    If you are an HR Professional looking at HR opportunities at Samsung in SanJose, be warned. > 50% annual HR Turnover, dishonest and weak leadership and only manage up.

    Advice to Management

    Change out HR Leadership.

    Samsung Semiconductor Inc (US)2019-09-12
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Nice campus, horrible management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Individual Contributor in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Samsung Semiconductor Inc (US) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice campus, building and cafe.

    Cons

    Low salaries, over-worked, no work-life balance. Management doesn't care and everything is driven by HQ. They don't understand silicon valley culture.

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate your employees and be more like other companies in the bay area as you're in the Silicon Valley, not Korea.

    Samsung Semiconductor Inc (US)2019-09-24
  9. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Process Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Samsung Semiconductor Inc (US) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Salary isn't too bad

    Cons

    Too Korean, not like international company

    Advice to Management

    Give employee more opportunities

    Samsung Semiconductor Inc (US)2019-08-08
  10. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Samsung IP Manager in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Samsung Semiconductor Inc (US) full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great environment, smart coworkers, impressive facilities.

    Cons

    General Bay area problem (e.g., traffic, cost of living, etc.).

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    Samsung Semiconductor Inc (US)2019-08-02
Found 237 reviews