SayABC Employee Reviews about "work from home"

Updated Sep 15, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 28 of over 402 reviews

3.5
60%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
SayABC Owner Guan Wang
Guan Wang
204 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good Pay, Bonuses & Communication(in 38 reviews)

  • "Work from home and team communication(in 28 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "The only downside I've experienced is the lack of bookings(in 41 reviews)

  • "Not enough slots filled for classes(in 27 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "work from home"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Hi

      Sep 15, 2020 - Front Desk Receptionist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work from home and team communication

      Cons

      Nothing nothing nothing nothing nothing

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Ok for a part-time job

      Jan 12, 2020 - Outbound Sales Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Well prepared lessons. - Great students. - Work from home

      Cons

      - Less pay was given than offered. - Terrible teacher support or feedback. They sometimes do not reply to important questions. - Fewer classes have been assigned over time

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      UK teachers caution: Pay not great, good for second job or supplementary work. Not full time!

      Nov 8, 2019 - ESL Teacher in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Take on inexperienced online ESL teachers. I had teaching experience in the past, but no online ESL teaching and they took a chance on me. The whole application process is easy, interview was booked within a week and after presenting my qualifications I was able to start with trial classes. If you're starting out, I would absolutely recomend starting with Say ABC. The platform is easy to use, and the material interactive and fun for the kids. If like me, you can't work at the moment due to health or other issues but still want to be productive and work from home, this is a great way to begin and still feel like you're working.

      Cons

      PAY: It really isn't enough to live on, and so I have to sadly substitute with benefits. It's frustrating as this is the first time I've been so ill that I was unable to work without pain or fatigue or fainting, and I have been advised by my doctor to no longer work my hospital job due to health issues. However, the pay (for me is $13/hr) this isn't enough to live on, and when I first started I only earned $107/month! roughly £80. Despite having all my slots open currently, I only have 3 homerooms. Thats 6 classes a week, or $312/month. After bank charges and transfer costs, this comes to £250. LACK OF SUPPORT: I have tried to contact the company numerous times regarding some issues, and also to enquire about giving feedback more often as sometimes its hard to remember 3 lessons worth of feedback if a pupil has been interrupting the class or not paying attention, or perhaps not understood the lesson, i'd love to be able to alert the parents straight away so that they can practice in their own time. I also have been having issues with them regarding feedback, I'm always early with it, but the one time that my internet was being changed, I was late in giving feedback. I tried explaining this to them, but I still got my incentive cut. LACK OF HOMEROOMS/CLASSES: I have all my hours open, everyday. If you are in the UK like me, the only classes you can teach are the 9:40-12:10, 4 in total, as the saturday "early ones" are 2&3am UK time. For $13/hr, if I filled all the available classes everyday. (MIRACULOUSLY!!!) then I would in that month hypothetically earn $1456/£1136.76 and thats with every single day being filled and taking no breaks in between for the WHOLE MONTH!! This never happens by the way. The most i've earned like i said was £250. What can you do with 250? TRIAL CLASSES: If you somehow manage to get a locked trial class slot, and you teach it successfully and are able to do feedback on time, you get $15. However if you get no class assigned to you, you get only $5!!! I now don't like being booked for trial classes because i have cancelled plans, rearranged appointments to do the class, and you are there for the whole 40 minutes and get paid $5! I get scared of even doing my household duties as they say you stay by the computer. It's not just about a successful class being taught, it's also about the time the teacher wastes, and they don't acknowledge this. One of my home rooms finishes next week, and i'm so worried about what next. I have decided to take the hard decision of looking for other ESL jobs, as I don't want December, with all the expenses that come with it, to be like this.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Not renewing and won't give reason

      Sep 11, 2019 - Online English Teacher in Wellington, Wellington
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Platform No lesson planning required Reasonable hourly rate Work from home

      Cons

      Staff feel undervalued Dissenting voices silenced Many non-US teachers have not had contracts renewed (spotless records, TEFL qualifications, no complaints) Do not give reasons why not renewing, don’t answer emails, delete posts on FB group, remove you from group Support staff not native English speakers, so messages insensitive Can’t take leave without losing homerooms Lack of bookings. Take on new teachers when many teachers do not have full schedules Home rooms are twice a week. Only one combination does not include a weekend. High technical requirements - ethernet

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Contractor, less than 1 year

      Dissappointing treatment of teachers

      Aug 14, 2019 - Online English Teacher 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good platform, freedom to work from home, flexible hours

      Cons

      No growth opportunity; poor treatment of teachers

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Current Contractor, more than 1 year

      They keep getting worse

      Jul 29, 2019 - ESL Teacher in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You can work from home They DO actually pay

      Cons

      You only get homerooms when you're new and then NEVER again. They don't give you a reason or admit that's how things are set up. They lowered pay and are looking to get rid of teachers who are senior because they make more money than they pay now. Parents complain about a tech issue that is all on them and Say blames you for it and will never remove a bad review. They keep changing computer specs and want you to get a new computer when they are taking classes away. They are combining classes and making them with 6 students instead of 4. Rather than taking away a class with only 2 students, they took away a class with 4, that had been with me for a YEAR. You can't complain or ask anything on their FB page anymore without them deleting it BUT they allow young teachers who think they know everything to control the page. They do NOT use good judgment in who they hire. They have hired a number of teachers who have NOT completed college and China laws now require the diploma but they let S. African teachers go with degrees rather than letting those w/o a diploma go. They do NOT care about their teachers even though we are why students stay and are happy. I would be surprised if the are still around in a year because they haven't done a good job making their comfortable profitable. They rely on teachers teaching trials to gain students but don't qualify them to make sure they are good possibilities. There are not enough classes to go around so don't plan on ever getting enough classes and what you get when you start is it. You're wasting your time asking for more classes. BTW, any response Say makes here would be a lie. They are never honest and say if we have issues to contact them via email but they don't answer the emails. Teacher Support does not support teachers and the one person who actually answered questions from Community is gone now. It is a sinking ship. And you can't take off for any reason. One absence (one class is one absence) means you lose half of the bonus that they already cut. No vacations, no illness, no deaths in the family. If you miss two classes you are in danger of losing the class. But the most vile part of all of this is the way they allow some teachers to act on their FB page. They allow the bullying to go on and support the teachers doing the bullying. If you say anything these teachers don't like, they will take a screenshot and send it to Say. Please go elsewhere for a job unless you like being treated poorly and making less money.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      SayABC Response

      International recruitment manager

      Thank you very much for your review! We are sincerely sorry about your personal experience with SayABC. We try our best to keep our Facebook group a helpful resource for our teachers, and we monitor it based on our group rules. While we are unsure what "bullying" you are referring to, we will absolutely not allow it once we see it or receive a report. Please don't hesitate to contact us if you experience any "bullying" or discrimination in our Facebook group. As for bookings, we do give about 20% of the new classes to new teachers. Please understand that new teachers need something to start with. Some senior teachers can lose classes but for different causes. And we are gradually standardize our teacher requirements. As we are transferring to a new classroom platform which give our students better in-class experience but requires teachers to use more advanced computers, we have to ask teachers to upgrade computers. We are giving current teachers time to make that change as we still keep some old classroom format that does not need too advanced computers during the company's transformation period. Our policy is to ensure that we could provide reliable and supportive customer service to our students. At the same time, we try our best to support teachers who experience hard time in their life. Your feedback is very important to us and we will always seek for more improvement as we are growing. Your feedback is deeply appreciated and will motivate us to do better. Thank you!

    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Don't care about their Teachers

      Jul 26, 2019 - Teacher 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You can work from home

      Cons

      Useless teacher support. They don't care about their teachers. You can't complain about a student unless you want that class to be taken away. They have been cutting the pay for the last year despite the fact that they are growing. New teachers take preference over long standing teachers. They will cancel your contract renewal and give you absolutely no reason as to why. Extremely unreliable.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      SayABC Response

      International recruitment manager

      Thank you for your reviews. We always take teachers' feedback seriously. If there is any feedback for students, we will deliver it to our student support as soon as possible. We are sorry about what you have experienced. We will continue to improve our communication and try our best to support teachers.

    8. 5.0
      Current Contractor, less than 1 year

      Wonderful!

      Jun 10, 2019 - ESL Teacher in Beijin, Heilongjiang, Heilongjiang
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay. On time. Great students. Lots of support from staff. Good curriculum. I really like this company they are new and doing their best to help teachers. Work from home.

      Cons

      The number of bookings is less than desired. Not enough training or information on new platform.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      SayABC Response

      International recruitment manager

      Hi Teacher Thanks for sharing your feedback here, SayABC really appreciates you kind words. We are glad that you are enjoying teaching with SayABC. Happy teaching!

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Love working from home with SayABC

      May 18, 2019 - Teacher 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've had a great experience working for SayABC. I love the opportunity to work from home. They have a great teaching platform and I really like the homerooms. I have been teaching some of the same students since I started 7 months ago. You get to know your students and can really teach to their individual needs and level. It is a great benefit for both the students and the teacher.

      Cons

      It can sometimes be diffiult to teach 4 students at once, but it is nice to see the students become friends and interact with each other in class.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      SayABC Response

      International recruitment manager

      Hi Teacher, Thanks for sharing your feedback here! SayABC appreciate your kind words!We will definitely take your suggestion into consideration and provide an even better teaching environment for our amazing teachers!

    10. 5.0
      Current Contractor, less than 1 year

      Review of Sayabc by contract teacher

      May 20, 2019 - Educator in Bangkok
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work from home. Great salary. Platform is great and the material is fantastic. The material keeps the students engaged and on task throughout the lesson.

      Cons

      Hard to replace homerooms that have been consolidated. Leave policy could be better.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      SayABC Response

      International recruitment manager

      Hi Teacher, thanks for sharing your feedback here. As always, we really do appreciate your feedback on areas for potential improvements or adjustments. We are glad that you love using SayABC platform. Happy teaching!

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 28 Reviews

    Popular Careers with SayABC Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at SayABC? Share Your Experiences

    SayABC logo
    or