Find jobs for Assistant Store Manager

Screwfix Assistant Store Manager Reviews

Updated 7 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.6
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Screwfix CEO John Mewett
John Mewett
6 Ratings
  1. "Positive Change"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Peterborough, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Screwfix full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good working times work life balance

    Cons

    Are worse off stores, which may struggle to improve

    Continue reading
    Screwfix2020-03-07
  2. "Outstanding Conpany to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Screwfix full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Salary, 20% Staff Discount, Job progression, Work life balance.

    Cons

    Haven't come across any cons as of yet

    Continue reading
    Screwfix2020-01-15
  3. "Great"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ASM- Assistant Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Screwfix full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay, great atmosphere

    Cons

    No progression past bm

    Screwfix2019-10-21

    Screwfix Response

    November 7, 2019Talent Director

    Thank you for leaving a review, we really appreciate it. We are really glad to hear you enjoy working here. We are always trying to help people progress with our progression programmes so we are sorry you feel this way. If you would like to discuss this further please contact reviews@screwfix.com

  4. "Excellent company to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Gillingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Screwfix full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities for progression - if you are willing to push yourself and work for it. The company are really people focused. The "family" atmosphere in store.

    Cons

    Pay rates on all levels. The "banding" of stores is outdated resulting in some stores being paid unfairly for the level of work involved.

    Continue reading
    Screwfix2019-10-22

    Screwfix Response

    November 7, 2019Talent Director

    Thank you for leaving your feedback, it’s very much appreciated! We always aim to do the best we can for our people, so your feedback is really helpful. We understand your frustration with store bandings, if you would like to discuss this further please email reviews@screwfix.com

  5. "Easy retail if you don’t mind heavy lifting"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager 
    Recommends

    I worked at Screwfix full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent pay. Always something to do. Enjoyable work most of the time

    Cons

    Moved around a lot, usually just as you've got a store working correctly & built a relationship with regular customers. Too many incompetent managers making work life unbearable forcing people to leave a job they did love.

    Continue reading
    Screwfix2019-07-20

    Screwfix Response

    July 30, 2019Talent Director

    Thanks for leaving your review. Great to hear you enjoyed working with us. If you have any further details about stores and management pease drop us a line on reviews@screwfix.com

  6. "Amazing"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ASM- Assistant Store Manager in Basingstoke, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Screwfix full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    work life balance, lot's of changes for the better

    Cons

    don't have any yet. great place to work.

    Continue reading
    Screwfix2018-10-21

    Screwfix Response

    January 14, 2019Talent Director

    Glad to hear that you have such a good worklife balance and that the changes taking place are adding value.

  7. "Such a shame"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Screwfix full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    As a company great benefits and a overall good company to work for.

    Cons

    Inner store issues that area management either over look are in aware which then causes unhappiness with staff which lead them to move on when this could be prevented.

    Continue reading
    Screwfix2018-07-17
  8. "Excellent company!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Dunfermline, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Screwfix full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great pay, chances to progress, great team and great management

    Cons

    Some of the IT equipment can be slow but change is happening

    Continue reading
    Screwfix2018-06-10
  9. "Great people"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ASM- Assistant Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Screwfix full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people I have worked with in numerous Screwfix trade counters have all been great to work with. The internal progression programmes are readily available for any who would like to take part and the support network is solid.

    Cons

    The hours! The shift patterns are not set, and due to the long opening hours your shifts can end up being all over the place. Since I have worked for Screwfix, the opening hours on a Sunday have been extended and the opening hours on a bank holiday are now just 'Normal Hours'. I'm sure this is great for customers (however more of the DIY'ers then the Trade customers), but I feel that no consideration was made for the staff. Yes, we get paid more on a Bank Holiday (unless you're a Branch Manager), but I'm pretty sure that most staff would still rather spend some time with their family. The work/life balance has been lost as the hours have gotten longer.

    Continue reading
    Screwfix2018-06-13
  10. Helpful (2)

    "No two days are the same, exciting being a part of such a fast growing business."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Rugeley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Screwfix full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Progression of you want it, good work life balance, less pressure than other retailers. Bonus scheme is fair and allows you to increase your salary through hitting targets which are not unachievable.

    Cons

    Pay needs to be more competitive, some systems that are used are old and out dated and hold the company neck from increasing growth.

    Continue reading
    Screwfix2018-02-11
Found 15 reviews