Screwfix Reviews

Updated 4 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
76%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Screwfix CEO John Mewett
John Mewett
117 Ratings
  1. "It's a gamble on working at a good store"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Plymouth, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Screwfix part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    At a good store, the team and management are great, Company has ok benefits, You learn a lot in a short time.

    Cons

    At a bad store management tend to be pushy and micromanage staff Head office is out of touch with the store staff, progression is a myth if you're younger than 30.

    Continue reading
    Screwfix2020-02-19

    Screwfix Response

    February 21, 2020Talent Director

    Thanks for your review. I'm happy to hear about your pros however I'm sorry you had a mixed experience. If you'd like to talk to us further about this we'd be more than happy to chat on reviews@screwfix.com

  2. "Very good"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Service Assistant 

    I have been working at Screwfix part-time

    Pros

    Good working environment and team

    Cons

    Nothing to include as I am happy

    Screwfix2020-02-02
  3. "Decent If Studying"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Screwfix part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    20% Discount off anything Laid back environment

    Cons

    Management can be pushy Booking annual leave is a pain

    Continue reading
    Screwfix2020-02-03

    Screwfix Response

    February 6, 2020Talent Director

    Thanks for your review. If you'd like to speak to us further about the cons you've mentioned please email us on reviews@screwfix.com

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Top employer with excellent opportunities to grow within the company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Screwfix full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fantastic pay and holiday packages, flexible working hours, opportunities for growth and development, good work-life balance, well established in the market

    Cons

    Head office is too far from London

    Continue reading
    Screwfix2020-01-28
  5. "Think seriously"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Inside Sales Representative 
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Screwfix

    Pros

    Now with Screwfix into my second year. Pros 20% discount at Screwfix and B&Q (same group of companies). Free parking. Currently a sales team member and have been offered a supervisory role. ( no thanks )

    Cons

    There are lots....... irregular shift patterns, one day starting at the crack of dawn the next day / shift on Lates and finishing at 8pm if you are lucky!!! Last night I got out of the store at 8:30 as there were customers whom came in before 8 still in the store. Multiple managers, assistant managers, trade managers and supervisors in the store and only a couple of sales personnel. 20 min break in a 7 hour shift and when a manager deems it suitable for you to go. Sometimes 6 hours into a shift. And then if you ask for a break you are frowned upon. Recently told its only a 7 hour shift and you go home in an hour ? The local German food stores pay more. Bullying by certain (not all) managers. Many of the team (managers as mentioned above ) will disappear when the shop gets busy yet are just standing around the corner talking about what they did at the weekend. You get set hours contract, mine is 24 pw. I asked if my contract could be changed and upped to 30. No was the answer the following 3 weeks I had to work nearly 40 hours as team members were on holiday

    Continue reading
    Screwfix2020-02-14
  6. "Excellent caring company."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Assistant in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Screwfix part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Everything, wow I love it here.

    Cons

    None. I recommend anyone to apply.

    Continue reading
    Screwfix2020-01-27
  7. "."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Screwfix full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good opportunity for younger people looking for a job

    Cons

    Lied to numerous times about management opportunity.

    Screwfix2020-02-10
  8. "Okay"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Screwfix full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The team at the store

    Cons

    Very varied shifts from week to week

    Screwfix2020-01-25
  9. "The people make the job"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Welwyn, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Screwfix part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible around my studies, relaxed environment for a retail job

    Cons

    Managers can be quite pushy when they need somethings but don't seem to have the same capacity for other employees.

    Continue reading
    Screwfix2020-02-08
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Good, if your face fits and you suck up to management"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Screwfix part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Customers, customers, customers, customers, customers

    Cons

    Toxic work environment, management treat you like you should be grateful for being given basic work rights which are required by law. Like they're doing you a favour. Management are sly and put staff against one another. No sensitivity training in regards to mental health or anything else. The management make it clear that they don't want people with commitments (kids) working there and are slowly pushing parents out. Management are lazy and stand at the desk on Facebook even when it's busy and there's ques to the door. Trade staff are entitled and treat screwfix staff and non trade customers like scum. Nepotism is rife!

    Continue reading
    Screwfix2020-02-23
Found 545 reviews