Shell Energy Retail Birmingham, UK Reviews

Updated 8 Jan 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
89%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Shell Energy Retail CEO Colin Crooks
Colin Crooks
1 Rating
  1. "Innovative and Entrepreneurial"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Warwick, West Midlands, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell Energy Retail full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people, accessible leadership, entrepreneurial spirit, no blame culture, nice working environment, can do and get things done attitude, feel valued as a member of staff, innovative and technology led, willing to take risks, customer focused

    Cons

    multi site location (soon being fixed!)

    Continue reading

    Shell Energy Retail Response

    November 20, 2017Chief People Officer

    Thanks very much for the fantastic feedback! Our entrepreneurial spirit is definitely part of our DNA and our, "get things done and can do attitude", you mention certainly is part of the foundation of our culture, which helps given how quickly we're evolving together! It's so important for our colleagues to feel that they are welcome to share their ideas, so that we can listen and adapt where we can. We value feedback because our colleagues are our business and we're on this journey together. Part of being innovative and tech-led is being brave enough to take the risks you mentioned and being outside a comfort zone is often where the magic happens! We're definitely looking forward to everyone coming together in our Coventry office - a great opportunity to enhance communication and culture. We recently appointed an Enterprise Transformation Director to help us map the way as we diversify our product offering. Thanks once again for your feedback and continued contribution to our success.

  2. "Good company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Agent in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Shell Energy Retail full-time

    Pros

    Good pay & fair benefits/incentives.

    Cons

    Call centre based in Coventry. Heavy adhoc work environment. Slow to act on employee concerns.

    Shell Energy Retail Response

    January 12, 2021Head of Talent and Enterprise Capability Development

    Thanks very much for taking the time to leave a review. It's great to read salary, benefits and incentives in your positive comments - those things are central to job satisfaction aren't they! When you mention a heavy ad-hoc work environment, I'm taking from this that you could mean your workload is heavy...I feel that sometimes too. I think what's important is recognising when that's a normal part of how our workloads fluctuate and when that heavy sense is having a negative impact. Please do know that you can reach out anytime for support if you need to - to your manager, one of our wellbeing champions, our confidential BUPA helpline or to myself in confidence - we're here to help. There's also lots of great advice on the Reward Hub in the Mind section. Thanks again, Eleanor


  3. "Good place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pricing Analyst in Warwick, West Midlands, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shell Energy Retail full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Interesting work, lots to do, nice people

    Cons

    Communication, not always a cohesive strategy, cramped office

    Shell Energy Retail Response

    August 29, 2019Head of Talent

    Thank you for your review. I’m glad you enjoyed your time with us. Since our rebrand earlier in the year we have been going through a period of transformation which we believe is a positive move for us and for our customers. It means that we now have a much clearer strategy and direction that we are all working to deliver, fuelled by future thinking for sustainability. With the consolidation of the operation to one site in Coventry, we have had a considerable focus on improving the facilities here over the last 12 months. We’ve renovated the canteen, extended the car park to provide ample free parking on-site and alongside that, there’s a trim-trail/woodland walk with seating areas that can be enjoyed for meetings outside or taking a break/having lunch. Best of luck with your future career, Ellen.

  4. Helpful (7)

    "Great job, however...."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Warwick, West Midlands, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Shell Energy Retail full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have no faults with my team. Extremely helpful & always there whenever there’s that one difficult situation. The team leader always gives feedback on how I should perform better which I always take on board.

    Cons

    I have two illnesses on where I am unable to walk long distances & facilities won’t adapt to my needs. They are incapable of knowing what a disability is & because of this I have to suffer. The operations manger isn’t very staff friendly & instead of showing staff the right way of doing the job he’d rather humiliate you & make you feel small. You are unable to progress here & instead of moving up the ladder you can only move sideways.

    Continue reading

    Shell Energy Retail Response

    February 13, 2018Head of Talent

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm really pleased to hear you mention how helpful and supportive your team are. It's also great to hear your positive feedback on your manager's guidance and feedback to support your continued development. I'm sorry to hear your feedback on not feeling supported with regards to your individual needs. I'd like to invite you to have a confidential chat, so that I can better understand the details of your particular situation. If you'd be open to that, please do drop me an email and we can arrange a convenient time. It's important that all of our colleagues feel supported and as a HR Team we're here to talk through any reasonable adjustments, based on your circumstances. If you haven't already, please do take a look at our development portal, First Forward, where you'll find information on our mentoring scheme and details on joining the community where our colleagues share their development stories. Thanks once again for your review. Please reach out if you'd like to have a chat in confidence. Many Thanks, Ellen

  5. "You will never get bored at FU"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrator in Warwick, West Midlands, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell Energy Retail part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    No two days are the same.

    Cons

    High turn over, real shame.

    Shell Energy Retail Response

    November 20, 2017Chief People Officer

    Thank you for your review and five star rating. It's great to hear that you're never bored at First Utility! Our fast paced, evolving environment does keep us on our toes, while keeping things innovative and interesting, particularly as we diversify our product offering and move into 2018 - lots to look forward to! We do acknowledge that the pace and level of change isn't for everyone but those who choose to stay with us, as you suggest, will never be bored. We're working hard to keep our building facilities upto scratch and will be adding a barista coffee bar, updated restaurant, new car park for 300 cars and trim trail covering 1 hectare. Thanks again for your feedback and I wish you well

  6. "Great People & Great Working Environment"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Interim Human Resources Manager in Warwick, West Midlands, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell Energy Retail for less than a year

    Pros

    As a challenger utility company, the enthusiasm and camaraderie of the people in the business is very evident. This is a company that has grown rapidly and the people I work with couldn't be better. The working environment is very good. The offices are well equipped and modern. Meeting rooms, rest rooms and restaurant are all well equipped and nicely decorated. The technology is also up to date and good to use. The business is forward looking and is clearly going places despite the challenges in the broader industry. But it's the people that make working life a pleasure or a pain and in the case of First Utility, they are definitely a big positive.

    Cons

    It's early days, but from a work perspective I haven't got any complaints. However, the benefits package could do with modernising and I know this is something that is actively being worked on

    Continue reading
  7. "Nice friendly and flexible environment to work within."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst in Warwick, West Midlands, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell Energy Retail full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible Understanding Care for employee needs. Great progression opportunities

    Cons

    Canteen needs improvement because it takes too long to queue up in morning for breakfast when there are only a few people in there. Also sometimes facilities could be a little more understanding when you raise a request to them.

    Continue reading

    Shell Energy Retail Response

    October 19, 2017Chief People Officer

    Thanks very much for the great feedback. You clearly know us well given your length of service with us, thank you for your continued contribution. It's heartening to read your particular mention of our care for our colleagues - It is something often highlighted in our reviews and we're particularly proud that - we couldn't be who we are today without that commitment and fantastic camaraderie. With our efforts to bring our colleagues together into our Coventry office, you've probably heard quite a bit about the upcoming facilities improvements. Part of that is going to be the expansion of the current restaurant and a new structure to ordering hot or cold food to allow a more efficient service - including a smart phone app to support pre-ordering of food. We're adding a barista style coffee area and a 'grab and go' option for food and drink to ease queuing at peak times. We're looking to add a concierge service to support services like Amazon parcel pick up and drop off and dry cleaning. And we're working hard to launch a hairdressing and beauty service just for colleagues to add to the new trim and fitness track being opened in the new year. All this just for colleagues. We want to make First Utility the best choice for our customers and the best choice for our Colleagues too. We'll definitely continue to listen to feedback and be flexible as we can to suit the different needs of our colleagues.

  8. "First Utility Employment"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Warwick, West Midlands, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Shell Energy Retail full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good progression opportunities , a lot of scope to move teams and to move up. Great colleagues create a friendly and relaxed working environment which makes the office welcoming.

    Cons

    Only receive statutory maternity/paternity pay!!!

    Continue reading

    Shell Energy Retail Response

    October 22, 2017Chief People Officer

    It's great to receive your feedback, thanks. It's quite a common theme amongst our colleagues who observe the career progression opportunities and scope to move teams, as well as take on bigger jobs. Perhaps this is why the Chartered Management Institute assessed First Utility as a 'top 20 best companies to work for' in 2017 - a great accolade and reflection of the great colleagues who work with us. You've mentioned the need for quicker internal communications. You're right and we've recently strengthened with some great people who are really passionate about communication and finding different ways of how we get messages to everyone. We're working with managers to help them too as they have such an important role in making sure everyone knows what's going on. And in terms of employee benefits, we're listening to feedback and that's why we launched FirstPerks earlier this year. We'll add to our benefits when we can. It's great to have you with us. Thanks again,

  9. "First Utility Employment"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst in Warwick, West Midlands, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell Energy Retail full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great atmosphere, friendly environment and plenty of opportunities for progression. Really glad i joined the company when i had the opportunity as i have really enjoyed the last 2 years and the team i have worked with!

    Cons

    Maternity/ Paternity benefits could be reviewed

    Shell Energy Retail Response

    October 22, 2017Chief People Officer

    It's great to hear your feedback. You're not alone in observing the great, friendly environment and teams at First Utility. Because we're a successful and rapidly growing business there are loads of opportunities for progression and it sounds as though you're working with a great team. We've had a lot of feedback about our benefits. We typically pay a higher base salary instead of benefits rather than benefits. We already offer BUPA to everyone and free parking at our offices. You will have seen our FirstPerks benefit programme which has been incredibly popular with everyone since we launched it a few months ago. We're proposing to add new benefits where we can and to give colleagues flexibility in what they choose. I hope you're career goes from strength to strength. Best wishes.

  10. "Great company to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst in Warwick, West Midlands, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shell Energy Retail full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I've been working at First Utility full time for just over 3 years, coming here from a competitor in the Energy market First Utility are definitely setting the bar to all other suppliers. -Great salary in comparison to others - Good hours - Nice office(s) with lovely people

    Cons

    - Benefits are poor - Maternity and paternity poor - Lacks equality across team members and staff for certain scenarios(e.g working from home, change of hours(earlier finishes for some but not others) - Development is lacking in some roles, unless you wish to be a team leader there isn't much room for further development

    Continue reading

    Shell Energy Retail Response

    October 19, 2017Chief People Officer

    Thanks very much for your feedback. Having been with us for just over 3 years, it's great to hear you say that we set the bar for other energy suppliers, especially given your past experience in the industry. You will have been an integral part of our rapid market success and growth, supporting the evolution that goes hand in hand with that, thank you. We wouldn't be where we are today without our fantastic colleagues, so I'm not surprised that having been with us for a good few years that you've noticed the camaraderie we're proud to enjoy each day at work. With our efforts to bring teams together into our Coventry office, as you've probably heard we've worked hard to understand everyone's preferred working style and will be doing what we can to cater to those preferences as part of our agile working project, led by our wonderful property team. Keep an eye out for further details on this over the next month or so. In terms of development, you're right - we need to provide greater clarity on the career options available. We'll be launching an update on that soon, but in the meantime, please do drop an email or chat to our Head of Talent, who will be happy to answer any immediate questions you have. We'll also be adding to our benefits package in 2018, so watch this space and we'll keep you posted.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 30 English Reviews