Shell Energy Retail Customer First Adviser Reviews

Updated Dec 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7 of over 406 reviews

4.3
98%
Recommend to a Friend
Shell Energy Retail CEO Ed Kamm
Ed Kamm
0 Rating

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Opinion at the start of my journey

    Dec 18, 2019 - Customer First Adviser in Kraków
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Comfortable working conditions, decent wage, feeling of being appreciated, possibility to develop myself

    Cons

    Stress, challenging queries, high responsibility for the our decisions

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Shell Energy Retail Response

    Head of Talent and Enterprise Capability Development

    Thanks so much for your 5-star review! I’m glad that you have settled in to your team well and that you feel appreciated for what you contribute. As the business grows, so too will our customer base and our requirements to support this. This will be challenging, but having the autonomy to make decisions will give you the opportunity to develop your skills and confidence and grow with us. Feedback is a key element of this development, so if you feel you are not receiving this from your manager on a regular basis I would encourage you to proactively request this as it should be happening across the business. I hope you have a long and fulfilling journey with us, Eleanor .

  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Well...

    Dec 22, 2019 - Customer First Adviser in Kraków
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - friendly and non-stress atmosphere - a lot of support and help from supervisors and colleagues - open-minded community - free coffee, tea and milk in the office - new ideas to run the training (chats, mock calls, actual calls)

    Cons

    - training was irrevelant to the actual work (important stuff was said at the very end of the training and the most rare and impossible cases had been put first - not much time to focus as we are obliged to do multitasking on daily basis - lack of communication between departments and offices Krakow-Coventry - no clear lesson about office infrastructure, menagers and teams

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Shell Energy Retail Response

    Chief People Officer

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I’m pleased to hear your comments about your working environment and you find your colleagues and management team are approachable and supportive. It’s great that you are finding them open to your ideas on training. I’m sorry you felt that your Induction had some gaps. I’m want to set our colleagues up for success from day one and provide the information they need – background on management and departmental structure is a key element of this. I have forwarded your feedback to the training team to ensure company structure is covered. In your training period there is a lot of material to get through and considerable time is spent on Bereavement and Disputes. These are areas that historically, although less common, new colleagues have experienced more difficulty with as no two situations are the same. I will certainly share your feedback with the training team. Great to have you as part of the team, John.

  3. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    .

    Nov 6, 2019 - Customer First Adviser in Kraków
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    working with English language, completely new customer service professional experience, amazing, knowledgeable and kind managers and coworkers, good coffee

    Cons

    quite stressful due to variety of customers, inbound phone calls during the whole shift ( would be perfect if inbound calls, emails and chats would be included in an 8h day :))

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Shell Energy Retail Response

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I’m glad that you are finding your managers and colleagues supportive and encouraging as that is exactly the type of environment we are trying to cultivate. As you will be aware we have been expanding our office in Krakow, in line with the general expansion of our business. As the business grows, so too will our customer base and our requirements to support this. This will be challenging, but should also give you the opportunity to develop your skills and confidence and grow with the business. I hope you will have a long and fulfilling career with us, John.

  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Broadband First Adviser

    Dec 7, 2018 - Broadband First Adviser in Coventry, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    friendly environment, good perks, steady training and coaching

    Cons

    no negatives as of yet

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Shell Energy Retail Response

    Head of Talent

    Thank you for leaving a review, it's great to hear that your experience on the start of your journey with us has been a friendly welcome. The support from colleagues and from the training team is something we notice is often highlighted. Welcome! I hope your training continues to go well and thank you for helping us continue to make this a great place to work!

  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    They just want positive reviews- a discriminatory member of staff- bias from HR-the great cover-up by a senior employee

    May 13, 2018 - Customer First Adviser in Coventry, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Initially, everything was going well and the training was fantastic. The 4 members of Staff were amazing and they let me perform my prayers during the 4 of 5 week training period. However, my group was meant to be given full 5 weeks of training, as that was part of the scheduled training programme. But we were only given 4 weeks of training. Whilst the other group were given full 5 weeks and my group was told by the discriminatory member of staff 'that you don't need training' not only is this a clear deviation from the required training programme but also preventing one to carry out their role adequately. Even though, a Senior Member of Staff, he clearly said to my group that 'you all still have 1 final week of training which is on the floor' We were told by the discriminatory member of staff that 'help' will be given by the floor walkers, but it was my group who had to walk the floor to get our customer queries resolved. The female floorwalkers were always helpful but the male floorwalkers were lazy and laid back. However, when the time for prayer commenced, the discriminatory member of staff prevented me from going to my prayers and stated that 'you can't go mate, regardless'. Even though I explained to him that, previously I've been permitted to go for my prayers by the other 4 members of staff. Therefore, I don't understand what's his problem? He responded that 'the rules here are different (even though it's still the same company) we can't have the entire row of people (pointing at the row in front) go for prayers'. I responded that the likelihood of that row going for prayers is very unlikely due to most being non-Muslim. I raised a grievance with HR but it was sugar coated by an obnoxious member of staff from HR as an 'issue of miscommunication' rather than religious discrimination. (The member of staff from HR wasn't impartial, if he was, it would've resulted in him acting contrary to his contract, which requires one to 'act in the best interest of the Company' regardless of anything else.) However, thereafter, I was permitted to go for my prayers, but 20 days before my probationary review meeting, I was told by the discriminatory member of staff that my probation is going to be extended. (Even though I was above target for my stats and I was never absent, as well as providing him with 21 customer accounts, whereby customers said that I've been helpful.) I spoke to a senior member of staff and he advised that 'it's your manager's job to gear you towards passing your probation and not failing it. Also, he needs a legitimate reason to extend your probation, not an illegitimate one.' Thereafter, I was constantly being micromanaged and having unnecessary 'coaching sessions' where the discriminatory team manager was using it as an opportunity to bully and harass me. I raised a grievance with HR but it was disregarded by a member of staff from HR and he told me that (the discriminatory member of staff) 'is a professional who wouldn't do that'. Not only is the above response inadequate, it doesn't negate the discriminatory member of staff's inappropriate behavior, nor does it justify extending my probation, 20 days before my probation review meeting. But I came to realise that the points raised in the grievance, were mentioned to the discriminatory member of staff via chat, by a member of staff from HR and those were the points that the discriminatory member of staff was now 'coincidentally' trying to now focus on so he can save himself. Eg I was told by the discriminatory member of staff that he'll give me coaching for Nelly questions. But I wasn't given a single coaching session and when I raised it with him he ignored it and when I raised a grievance about it, he stated that 'his password wasn't working and that's why he couldn't have the session'. I spoke to a Senior Member of Staff but she was not being impartial and was protecting the discriminatory member of staffs behaviour, as she was dependant on his team's stats. Therefore, she let me 'resign with immediate effect' at my 'discretion without force' so everything could be covered up by her. She said that 'she'll look into my concerns and it'll have no bearing on my reference' We left the room and she decided to converse with me about resigning, so the people on the 'floor' cannot know why I'm actually leaving (Religious discrimination, bullying attitude, an extension of my probation 20 days before review meeting) She didn't have the decency to walk me from my desk to out of the building, as she didn't want others to see or know about the true nature of her cover-up. Also, rather than discipline the discriminatory member of staff, she promoted him to a different department so a lid is placed on everything. Lastly, another team member within my team, she left before me and I don't blame her, as I can see why she left. Pros: -was never discriminated by the 4 members of staff during training -was permitted to perform my prayers -met good people throughout -helpful floorwalkers (some, not all) -others from HR are generally helpful and approachable

    Cons

    -discriminatory member of staff -A bias member of staff from HR who is subjective and not objective -constantly micromanaged -Treated as a number, not as a person -I was never off sick, but if you do get sick you'll not get sick pay -You're required to arrive 10-15 mins early each day, which is 50 minutes-1 hour 15mins per week. It's unpaid -I left without another job as it was that bad -It didn't apply to me, but you can't start a family, due to poor maternity and paternity pay -basic pension -Read the customer reviews about the company and some of its employees -Gossipy & nosey/ busybody culture within departments

    Continue reading
    14 people found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    review of first utility as a company

    Jul 19, 2017 - Customer First Adviser in Coventry, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Full training and support at all times

    Cons

    hard to get used to the work with the little knowledge of the industry i possess

    1 person found this review helpful

    Shell Energy Retail Response

    Head of Talent

    Thanks for leaving a review. It's good to hear that you've received the five star support we aim for during your time with us so far. Our Training and Development Team are brilliant and put all of their efforts into making sure the start of your journey with us is as smooth and enjoyable as possible, with plenty of opportunities to learn from those with more experience. I hope with that strong support you're starting to become more and more comfortable with the work. Thanks again for sharing your feedback, Ellen

  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Fantastic Place To Work

    Jul 25, 2017 - Customer First Adviser in Coventry, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great incentives, Great Atmosphere, Events, Great People.

    Cons

    Progression opportunities are sometimes slim.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 7 of 7 English Reviews

Popular Careers with Shell Energy Retail Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Shell Energy Retail? Share Your Experiences

Shell Energy Retail logo
or