Find jobs for Data Analyst

Shell Energy Retail Data Analyst Reviews

Updated Mar 20, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 of over 406 reviews

4.1
96%
Recommend to a Friend
Shell Energy Retail CEO Ed Kamm
Ed Kamm
0 Rating

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

  1. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Good company for a starter

    Mar 20, 2021 - Data Analyst in Coventry, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    lot of opportunity to learn no skills

    Cons

    small offices, slow career progression

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Shell Energy Retail Response

    Head of Talent and Enterprise Capability Development

    Thanks very much for taking the time to leave a review! It's great to read that during your time so far with SERLyou've had plenty of opportunities to learn new skills. If you haven't already, please do take a look at our Development Portal available via the Homepage of the Intranet. There you'll find a wealth of information and materials to support your development, from Apprenticeships to Learning Guides and details on our Mentoring Scheme. If you have any questions or would like any support, please do reach out to the Learning and Development Team, we'll be happy to help. Thanks again for your review, Eleanor.

  2. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great place to work

    Oct 3, 2020 - Senior Data Analyst in Coventry, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Modern offices Nice atmosphere Canteen on site

    Cons

    Car parking can be an issue at times

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Shell Energy Retail Response

    Head of Talent and Enterprise Capability Development

    Thanks very much for your positive review! It's great to see that you've particularly mentioned our facilities in the Coventry office. Our Facilities Team take great pride in listening to feedback and work hard to make sure the office is a safe, comfortable and modern space that we can be proud of. It's hugely important that while we continue working remotely in the vast majority, that our office remains a space conducive to the needs of colleagues who may need to be in the office as a necessity or for personal reasons. Thank you for taking the time to mention that and for your contribution in making Shell Energy Retail a great place to work. I'll certainly pass on your feedback to the Facilities Team. Thanks again for your review, Eleanor

  3. 5.0
    Current Freelancer, less than 1 year

    Great Place to work

    Jul 11, 2019 - Consultant, Data Analyst in Westwood, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pleasant environment, clean and tidy with good facilities. Enjoy the work and working with a friendly bunch of colleagues.

    Cons

    Not really found any yet

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Good company, need to brush up on employee retention

    Apr 19, 2018 - Data Analyst in Coventry, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great colleagues, great work/life balance, flexible working

    Cons

    Not enough cross training opportunities, not enough training altogether. Benefits are the bare minimum, no maternity/paternity pay, lowest pension contributions that are a must. Although it's a nice to have, in my opinion fruity Fridays and voucher schemes are not really a benefit.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Nice friendly and flexible environment to work within.

    Oct 17, 2017 - Data Analyst in Warwick, West Midlands, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible Understanding Care for employee needs. Great progression opportunities

    Cons

    Canteen needs improvement because it takes too long to queue up in morning for breakfast when there are only a few people in there. Also sometimes facilities could be a little more understanding when you raise a request to them.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Shell Energy Retail Response

    Chief People Officer

    Thanks very much for the great feedback. You clearly know us well given your length of service with us, thank you for your continued contribution. It's heartening to read your particular mention of our care for our colleagues - It is something often highlighted in our reviews and we're particularly proud that - we couldn't be who we are today without that commitment and fantastic camaraderie. With our efforts to bring our colleagues together into our Coventry office, you've probably heard quite a bit about the upcoming facilities improvements. Part of that is going to be the expansion of the current restaurant and a new structure to ordering hot or cold food to allow a more efficient service - including a smart phone app to support pre-ordering of food. We're adding a barista style coffee area and a 'grab and go' option for food and drink to ease queuing at peak times. We're looking to add a concierge service to support services like Amazon parcel pick up and drop off and dry cleaning. And we're working hard to launch a hairdressing and beauty service just for colleagues to add to the new trim and fitness track being opened in the new year. All this just for colleagues. We want to make First Utility the best choice for our customers and the best choice for our Colleagues too. We'll definitely continue to listen to feedback and be flexible as we can to suit the different needs of our colleagues.

  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    First Utility Employment

    Oct 20, 2017 - Data Analyst in Warwick, West Midlands, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great atmosphere, friendly environment and plenty of opportunities for progression. Really glad i joined the company when i had the opportunity as i have really enjoyed the last 2 years and the team i have worked with!

    Cons

    Maternity/ Paternity benefits could be reviewed

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Shell Energy Retail Response

    Chief People Officer

    It's great to hear your feedback. You're not alone in observing the great, friendly environment and teams at First Utility. Because we're a successful and rapidly growing business there are loads of opportunities for progression and it sounds as though you're working with a great team. We've had a lot of feedback about our benefits. We typically pay a higher base salary instead of benefits rather than benefits. We already offer BUPA to everyone and free parking at our offices. You will have seen our FirstPerks benefit programme which has been incredibly popular with everyone since we launched it a few months ago. We're proposing to add new benefits where we can and to give colleagues flexibility in what they choose. I hope you're career goes from strength to strength. Best wishes.

  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great company to work for

    Oct 18, 2017 - Data Analyst in Warwick, West Midlands, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've been working at First Utility full time for just over 3 years, coming here from a competitor in the Energy market First Utility are definitely setting the bar to all other suppliers. -Great salary in comparison to others - Good hours - Nice office(s) with lovely people

    Cons

    - Benefits are poor - Maternity and paternity poor - Lacks equality across team members and staff for certain scenarios(e.g working from home, change of hours(earlier finishes for some but not others) - Development is lacking in some roles, unless you wish to be a team leader there isn't much room for further development

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Shell Energy Retail Response

    Chief People Officer

    Thanks very much for your feedback. Having been with us for just over 3 years, it's great to hear you say that we set the bar for other energy suppliers, especially given your past experience in the industry. You will have been an integral part of our rapid market success and growth, supporting the evolution that goes hand in hand with that, thank you. We wouldn't be where we are today without our fantastic colleagues, so I'm not surprised that having been with us for a good few years that you've noticed the camaraderie we're proud to enjoy each day at work. With our efforts to bring teams together into our Coventry office, as you've probably heard we've worked hard to understand everyone's preferred working style and will be doing what we can to cater to those preferences as part of our agile working project, led by our wonderful property team. Keep an eye out for further details on this over the next month or so. In terms of development, you're right - we need to provide greater clarity on the career options available. We'll be launching an update on that soon, but in the meantime, please do drop an email or chat to our Head of Talent, who will be happy to answer any immediate questions you have. We'll also be adding to our benefits package in 2018, so watch this space and we'll keep you posted.

  8. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Promises much, delivers little

    Oct 5, 2017 - Data Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    #Fairly steady income #Nice office (that we are moving out of) #Nice working environment

    Cons

    # Lack of a pay rise #Poor career development # No room to develop new skills/training #None existant Mat/Pat pay #New positions are filled before or without being advertised / interviewed for #Severe lack of cross department communication #No benefits / bonus #Lack of parking spaces

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful

    Shell Energy Retail Response

    Chief People Officer

    Hi. Thanks for sharing your experience. I won't be able to do justice to all your comments but, if I may, I will respond to the key points raised. Firstly, in terms of job training we ask individuals to discuss their needs with their team leader or senior manager and jointly agree a development plan. We firmly believe that the best solutions flow from an individual owning their own development and we know from our employee survey feedback that this is shared by many colleagues at First Utility. If this hasn't happened well enough for you can I suggest you talk with your manager or send a note to our Head of Talent who will be happy to help. You've also mentioned our approach to pay. To ensure we pay well and fairly we have pay bands for each role which guide our decisions about individual pay - this means we have a fair way of paying people doing similar jobs in a consistent way. There are very many career progression routes and as a fast growing business it means we can offer new and different career options. Do have a conversation with your team leader or our Head of Talent if you want to know more about the very many options open to you. Finally, we tend to pay better base pay compared to other employers rather than rely on bonus - we offer free parking (with over 750 spaces available in Coventry), free BUPA for everyone, subsidised restaurant with free drinks and fruity Friday, 25 days holiday and ability to buy more; and discounts at major retailers that can save a typical employee around £1000 a year. We launched First Perks earlier in the year and will be adding to our benefits again n 2018.

  9. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Developer

    Jun 21, 2017 - Data Analyst in Warwick, West Midlands, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good place to work. A lot of opportunities to learn new stuff.

    Cons

    Poor benefits make me thinking of leaving

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    Shell Energy Retail Response

    Chief People Officer

    Great feedback, thank you for taking the time to share it. It's great to hear that First Utility is a great place to work with opportunities to learn and grow. And as we expand our the range of products there will be even more career opportunities. We offer colleagues an energy tariff free from our normal business margin - which means we pass on the market rate to our colleagues. Our pay is typically positioned higher than the market which people tell us they prefer and this is supported by free BUPA for everyone as well the nice things like free car parking in Coventry and Warwick, 'Fruity Friday' and career opportunities for advancement. We've just added FirstPerks too. We want to give more choice and flexibility and are working on how we keep our offer fresh and attractive - we'll be adding more things soon.

  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Impressive Data Team!

    Nov 4, 2016 - Data in Warwick, West Midlands, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Knowledge share - very good weekly sessions to share our subjects Internal training process - we have lots of experts in the team, and it's a good opportunity to improve our skills IT transformation - very good vision in the change happening in the Business Intelligence environment. It gives us also the opportunity to learn new technologies. Rewards - very good initiative to Celebrate Success every Fridays - free chocolate for the winner of the week who did an amazing work! Very good colleagues - I am feeling safe around me, everyone is very helpful and we have great times and fun!

    Cons

    Not really - we didn't have a car park that's a shame however it gives us the opportunity to meet other people in the business via the car share program.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 10 English Reviews

Popular Careers with Shell Energy Retail Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Shell Energy Retail? Share Your Experiences

Shell Energy Retail logo
or