Shell Energy Retail Employee Reviews about "working environment"

Updated Dec 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 26 of over 407 reviews

4.1
78%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Shell Energy Retail CEO Ed Kamm
Ed Kamm
43 Ratings
Pros
  • "Motivational and engaging working environment(in 26 reviews)

  • "Great team, flexible working, good management(in 13 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Pension scheme could be improved(in 20 reviews)

  • "No sick pay and longer working hours(in 18 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "working environment"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Former Intern, less than 1 year

      Excellent working environment without pressure

      Nov 29, 2019 - Developer in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent working environment without pressure

      Cons

      I really didn't find any cons working here

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      prepayment specialist

      Dec 21, 2020 - Prepayment Specialist in Stockholm, Stockholm, Stockholm
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Energetic, Positive work environment, coaching, Motivating

      Cons

      customers can be rude which is the main con

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Shell Energy Retail Response

      Head of Talent and Enterprise Capability Development

      Thanks very much for your 5-star review! I'm really pleased that you mentioned the level of positivity, motivation and coaching. 2020 was certainly an extraordinarily challenging year and I know I speak for our Leadership Team across the business when I say, we are immensely proud of how we as a Shell Energy Retail family have supported (and continue to support) each other through the evolving pandemic. It looks like you've been with us for less than a year so perhaps you joined us in the midst of this, with most colleagues working from home, as they are now. That feeling of positivity and of motivation in those circumstances is wonderful - feeling part of the family, even though perhaps you may not yet have met many of your colleagues in person. Wellbeing and mental health remains high on our agenda for this new year, we want to ensure that support is always at hand to help everyone feel as positive as they can and to offer guidance during the times they need extra help. Living a coaching culture is central to our story, helping colleagues feel empowered, particularly to handle difficult conversations and indeed to support our customers through these testing times. We are rolling out further coaching specifically geared to our colleagues who support our customers on the phone, helping them to feel comfortable handling difficult conversations, as ultimately we are here to help and can only do that to our best ability in a mutually respectful space. I hope that the coaching will be helpful for you. Please do feel free to drop me an email with any feedback around it afterwards, all feedback and suggestions welcome! Thanks again! Eleanor.

    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Salary

      Oct 31, 2020 - Project Engineer in Lagos
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good work environment and nice office

      Cons

      time consuming and little work life balance

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Amazing company to work for

      Aug 20, 2020 - Management Information Analyst in Coventry, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great salary, fantastic benefits. Motivational and engaging working environment. And free hot chocolate !

      Cons

      None I have found so far

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Shell Energy Retail Response

      Head of Talent and Enterprise Capability Development

      Many thanks for taking the time to post such a positive review. It's great to hear that you feel rewarded and recognised for the contribution you make. I have to admit that the hot chocolate is one of the things I miss about not being in the office whilst so many of us are working from home. Even with remote working however, it's really encouraging to hear your feedback on the motivational and engaging environment you are experiencing. It's sometimes harder to make those connections at a distance so I'm pleased to hear that the technology is enabling you to do so. Great to have you with us, Eleanor

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to work

      Mar 26, 2020 - Team Manager in Coventry, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Great working environment. - Great Team - Great support from the business during this time

      Cons

      Miss my Team whilst current situation ongoing

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Shell Energy Retail Response

      Chief People Officer

      Many thanks for your five star review. We are all working in uncharted territory at the moment so it's great that you feel so supported by your team and everyone. Working from home can be isolating and it's easy to underestimate the importance of maintaining social contact. I encourage everyone to make use of our remote communication facilities - chat, video conferencing to stay in contact with your team on a regular basis. Although key for continuing with the business, these are equally important in providing emotional support. I am thrilled by the resilience shown by everyone in adapting to new ways of working and would like to reassure you of the continued support of Shell Energy so we can come through these challenging times stronger than ever. Great to have you with us. John.

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company

      Mar 15, 2020 - Digital Service Advisor in Coventry, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits, regular feedback from managers, good working environment

      Cons

      Harder to progress at this place

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Shell Energy Retail Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thanks for taking the time to post such a great review. We have made a number of improvements to our benefits proposition and will continue to review these to ensure we are delivering on what provides most value to our colleagues. It's great that you are receiving regular feedback from your manager. You mention that you are finding progression difficult. I would encourage you to ensure that your sessions with your manager don't just focus on current deliveries but on your career aspirations too - we are developing more ways to help our colleagues learn new skills and to progress to new roles. Please do investigate our Development Portal which is home to a wealth of resource to consolidate and build your skillset. I hope you have a long and successful career with us, John.

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Excellent company to work for

      Dec 10, 2019 - Sales Performance Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Their agile working environment allows for flexible working when required and is encouraged. Benefits package is fairly comprehensive and is always expanding.

      Cons

      The Coventry location is nearby to a university campus which can make rush hour traffic worse than usual.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Shell Energy Retail Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thanks so much for your 5-star review I’m delighted you are experiencing the benefits of our flexible, agile working environment. Rush hour is never fun, but where possible we work hard to provide the flexibility to work remotely or stagger start and finish times to avoid the worst of the peaks. We want to enable our colleagues to enjoy a work / life balance that works for them and the company and the journey to work is all part of this. I’m glad you mentioned our benefits package. As you highlight, this has developed over the last couple of years and we've recently announced improvements to both our pension and bonus propositions which have been very well received. Thanks for your continuing contribution to our success - thank you. John

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Ok

      Oct 17, 2019 - Credit Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working environment, door to door service

      Cons

      Shifting, politics, shared service so far from stakeholders

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Shell Energy Retail Response

      Thanks for posting a positive review. I am pleased to see that you are enjoying your working environment. Your review suggests that you have encountered some shared service issues. I would need to understand more detail of your experience in order to get the full picture to inform the best approach to these. I'd welcome a conversation in confidence if you would like to drop me an email. We can then arrange a time to discuss. Thanks, John.

    9. 4.0
      Current Contractor, more than 1 year

      Great company to work for

      Apr 21, 2019 - Risk Specialist in Durban
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. Competitive salary 2. Conducive working environment 3. Great staff

      Cons

      High labour turnover Immediate resignation so

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      First Utility - Great Place to work

      Feb 11, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very engaging and always have the best interests at heart for all employees. Very flexible working environment and great team spirit.

      Cons

      Can sometimes get very hectic with little time to reflect.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Shell Energy Retail Response

      Head of Talent

      Thanks very much for your review, especially your feedback that we always have the best interests of all employees at heart - having been with us for more than 5 years you'll have experienced the great many changes and strides of progress we've made. None of that would be possible without all of our inspirational colleagues. You may have heard Colin our CEO comment on the 'buzz' he felt from speaking to colleagues from across the business on his first day with us. That level of engagement, support and 'team spirit' as you say, is really fantastic and I'm glad you've noticed it too throughout your time here! You're right (and I agree) it can sometimes get very hectic, especially given our pace and the rate of change to enable us to reach our ambitions. We're definitely encouraging a culture of continuous improvement to help us along the way and that goes for our working practices as well. Many of our colleagues already take advantage of our agile working approach, working from home when they can or finding collaborative or quieter spaces away from their desks. Last year we introduced a wellbeing section within our reward platform, where you can find hints and tips on topics from mindfulness to healthy eating. As we continue to evolve, it's important that our working practices evolve with us, so we can continue to ensure we have everyone's best interests at heart. Thanks again for your feedback and your continued contribution to our success!

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 26 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Shell Energy Retail Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Shell Energy Retail? Share Your Experiences

    Shell Energy Retail logo
    or