Shoprite Supermarkets Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Shoprite Supermarkets Reviews

Updated Oct 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Shoprite Supermarkets CEO David Figurelli
David Figurelli
418 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "No full time positions for overnight, no set schedule(in 93 reviews)

  • "Benefits not good for part time employees, was becoming too much work for what I got paid(in 77 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Shoprite Supermarkets full-time

    Pros

    great work structure, i got a lot of freedom to make my work the way i want to

    Cons

    bad management worst at making multple and on spot decisions . they might be getting money but will still pay yu less

    Advice to Management

    please be firm in your decisions. you need to take care of the employees too along with filling your own pockets

    Shoprite Supermarkets2019-01-30
  2. "Nice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in North West
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shoprite Supermarkets for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good and good and good good good good

    Cons

    Noting to say good

    Shoprite Supermarkets2018-10-17
  3. "I was told I was in the best department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bakery Associate in Lanoka Harbor, NJ

    I worked at Shoprite Supermarkets part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I was put on night shifts to close almost every night for the entire summer, which means I mainly had to just prepare the products for the overnight bakers, answer phone calls to take orders, and occasionally help the late night customers find items. Being in the back allowed me to avoid most customer interactions and I didn't have to be on register often. My manager was great and the job was not difficult at all.

    Cons

    Communication between departments was minimal and it seemed like the front end (registers) were given the most freedom, never came into work, and other departments were expected to give up their own time to be on register to fill in. This meant departments would be down personnel, unable to finish their tasks, or unable to help customers.

    Advice to Management

    Stop allowing the front end to continuously be understaffed and expect the other departments to make up for this.

    Shoprite Supermarkets2019-10-18
  4. "as a cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Cashier in Old Bridge, NJ

    I have been working at Shoprite Supermarkets part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    friendly coworkers and nice environment

    Cons

    theres are no cons here

    Shoprite Supermarkets2019-10-18
  5. "Nice place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Stock Clerk 

    I worked at Shoprite Supermarkets part-time

    Pros

    Nice mangers helped me

    Cons

    Staff always changing but meeting new people was nice

    Advice to Management

    Be nice

    Shoprite Supermarkets2019-10-11
  6. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Cashier 

    I worked at Shoprite Supermarkets part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly coworkers, flexible hours for part time work

    Cons

    customers who have coupons past date

    Shoprite Supermarkets2019-10-08
  7. "Great for college students."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Department Manager in Linden, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shoprite Supermarkets full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Fast paced, great environment for professional and personal development. Food and workers Union.

    Cons

    Micromanagement, District and Corporate disconnection and backstabbing trickled down to the store level. Retail environment and pace 60-70h weeks definately not for everyone.

    Advice to Management

    Silly accusations and backstabbing need to be dealt away with, its childish and will in the end degrade employee morale and force good talented people to leave.

    Shoprite Supermarkets2019-10-19
  8. "!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deli Clerk 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shoprite Supermarkets part-time

    Pros

    A Great place to work

    Cons

    There are none to mention

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Shoprite Supermarkets2019-10-03
  9. "It was okay."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shoprite Supermarkets part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are nice. Customers are sometimes cool.

    Cons

    Management is very heavy handed. Incompetent frequently.

    Advice to Management

    Care more about employees. Be understanding.

    Shoprite Supermarkets2019-10-17
  10. "ShopRite is a place where you can be happy eat well & care deeply for the customers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Cashier in Livingston, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shoprite Supermarkets part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Show gratitude , don’t worry about the next person getting promotion , word hard for what yours .

    Cons

    Don’t be late to work , show that you are committed to the job

    Advice to Management

    Have a nice year .

    Shoprite Supermarkets2019-10-02
Found 1708 reviews