Sidoti & Company Reviews

Updated 6 May 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.5
43%
Recommend to a Friend
41%
Approve of CEO
Sidoti & Company Chairman and CEO Peter T. Sidoti (no image)
Peter T. Sidoti
37 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Would stay far far away"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sidoti & Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Maybe a subpar place to get you foot in the door, but would completely avoid looking in retrospect.

    Cons

    No structure whatsoever. Some good analysts, but majority (and especially management) are more concerned about booking non-deal roadshow days , than the actual research product itself. The models and notes are a complete joke. Toxic environment - I would stay far far away.

    Continue reading
    Sidoti & Company2019-05-06
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Equity research analyst"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sidoti & Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Got my foot in the door for equity research

    Cons

    Wish I left sooner than I did

    Sidoti & Company2018-11-29
  3. Helpful (1)

    "A great opportunity"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Institutional Sales 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sidoti & Company full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I started at Sidoti when I was 24. Our Founder and CEO Peter Sidoti has given me a tremendous amount of opportunity. Sidoti & Co provides research and valuable insight on profitable public equities that for one reason or another, are ignored by the rest of the sell-side community. We run a solid, niche business. Peter created the firm in 1999 and along with our President Marie Conway, has built a brand that is unrivaled in the micro and small-cap world. Our core analysts do a great job finding and covering underfollowed growth companies which our sales force utilizes to generate value with our institutional clients across the US. I am lucky to be a part of an organization that I feel provides a differentiated product in an area of the equity research market where few other firms will go. Peter has continued to emphasize our focus on what we do best: small-cap. We have many smart and talented employees who make my life easier on a daily basis. As an institutional sales rep, I have the opportunity to work with two groups of very bright and accomplished individuals. I interact daily with the portfolio managers, analysts and other employees of our mutual fund, hedge fund and pension fund client base. I also travel regularly with the C-level executives of our companies under coverage. All of these people are much smarter than I am. I try to remind myself often how much knowledge surrounds the business we run. I place a great deal of value on the opportunity to be around and learn from professional investors, company executives, our equity research analysts and our senior management.

    Cons

    Change in the world of finance is perpetual and unfortunately, we are in a period of headwinds. There are a number of secular topics facing equity research - MiFID, the rise of low cost index funds/ ETFs, and continued consolidation in many industries which has led to a reduction in the number of public companies. Sidoti is focused on winning profitably in our core business and also changing and growing in new areas to provide stability. But we need to move faster and truly align incentives with this transition. During this period of change we must do all that we can to incentivize our best people to not only stay, but also improve. We all need to do more and expand our reach because that is how we will take share now and when things turn. And one day, when we least expect it, they will.

    Continue reading
    Sidoti & Company2018-10-08
  4. "great work-life balance"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sidoti & Company full-time

    Pros

    Terrific opportunity to work with smart people at the firm, with institutional investor clients and management teams. The ability to work remotely enables an improved work-life balance and reduces travel time and costs. New revenue streams (CSR and conferences) are helping.

    Cons

    Sell-side equity research is admittedly a tough business.

    Continue reading
    Sidoti & Company2018-10-09
  5. "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sidoti & Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Passionate management committed to moving the business forward despite industry headwinds. Access to world class investors and c-level management teams. Flexible environment. Great conferences. There are a lot of great, smart people working at Sidoti.

    Cons

    Tough environment for sell-side research. Occasional long travel days.

    Continue reading
    Sidoti & Company2018-10-05
  6. "Great Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sidoti & Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule, friendly environment, open to suggestions on growth and change.

    Cons

    Sometimes requires long hours... not sure this is really a con, because every job requires that on occasion.

    Sidoti & Company2018-10-04
  7. Helpful (8)

    "ANALYST"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sidoti & Company full-time

    Pros

    The firm provides professional development for those inexperienced in equity research .

    Cons

    Wow...what not to say. As a former employee who has moved on to greener pastures (where companies actually understand the concept of equity research) this firm is a laughingstock across Wall St. "Management " is a joke, captained by the company's feckless leader Peter Sidoti. Peter is an insecure, emotionally unstable, out of touch, loudmouth, blowhard bully (and this is being kind). His petulant and random outbursts and tantrums severely damage team morale and undermine a constructive working atmosphere, which is a shame because the firm does have some talent. President Marie Conway is a do nothing sycophant who is basically a glorified editor making $1mn+ a year (check the figures on the co's FAILED IPO filing). She provides absolutely no positive guidance to new employees and is on her way out the door at 4:05 to catch her pilates clsss. Base pay is an absolute joke compared to reputable firms and bonuses are promised but never fully paid, as there is always some excuse about "business conditions " or caveats on performance. Net/net this place is a junkshow that should be avoided at all costs. Newbies would be better served studying and paying personally for CFA exam to get foot in door than entering these depths of hell.

    Continue reading
    Sidoti & Company2018-10-19
  8. "Sales"

    3.0
    Marketing in New York, NY
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sidoti & Company for less than a year

    Pros

    access to sell side experience and brilliant research analysts

    Cons

    the company has let some good people get away because they have not been open to feedback that could help drive new revenue opportunities.

    Sidoti & Company2017-05-16
  9. "Sidoti & Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Equity Sales in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sidoti & Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Worked here for 5 years. If you're able to open an account or two you will quickly be able to grow your book of business. Direct exposure to the sharpest small cap investors in the country and C Level executives.

    Cons

    Equity research is a much tougher business now than it once was

    Sidoti & Company2016-11-29
  10. "A Great Experience"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sidoti & Company

    Pros

    I have been at Sidoti for 11 years. The amount I have learned and the relationships I have built over that span are invaluable. The biggest pro for Sidoti is the exposure you get to the equity research industry. The industry is in a transitional period and thus times have been difficult but I expect Sidoti will manage the downturn and emerge better at the other end.

    Cons

    The biggest con would be the structural change in the equity research business.

    Continue reading
    Sidoti & Company2016-09-16
Found 44 reviews