Siegel+Gale Employee Reviews about "s g"

Updated 25 Apr 2019

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
71%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Siegel+Gale Co-CEOs David Srere & Howard Belk (no image)
David Srere & Howard Belk
107 Ratings
Pros
  • "You will learn the S&G methods well(in 23 reviews)

  • "smart nice(in 14 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Some of the more senior staff / higher ups can be less understanding of work/life balance and take on more than the staff can accommodate(in 12 reviews)

  • "s g(in 12 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "s g"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Recommended!

      25 Apr 2019 - Senior Strategist in Shanghai, Shanghai, Shanghai
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. This is a drama-free workplace (which is very rare in this industry) where you can concentrate on delivering better work for the clients efficiently; 2. Efficiency is acknowledged and appreciated. Work-life balance is guaranteed, most of the time; 3. Teamwork is great here. There is a subtle difference between 'everyone is trying to help' and 'everyone is helping', in S+G is the latter.

      Cons

      1. Office desks should be renewed, apparently they are not very 'inspiring'; 2. Needs more meeting rooms.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Limited Growth; Toxic Culture

      4 Jan 2019 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Exposure to large brands (though the company's portfolio is skewed towards enterprise/B2B brands, not consumer-centric ones)

      Cons

      - Toxic Culture: Office politics overpowers meritocracy. HR turns a blind eye to special hires that are friends of the CEOs during the interview process, and has even given interviewees a "heads up" to make exceptions for special hires. This not only sends the idea that favoritism influences decisions at the company (which it does), but it also skews people's expectations around special hires, undermining their abilities (e.g. "Person A was hired only because...") and can result in mean-spirited gossip. In a similar vein, employees are less inclined to praise coworkers' strengths and more inclined to talk about their weaknesses/shortcomings behind their backs. - Limited career growth: There is no structure around career management. The only required "check-in" between managers and direct reports happens 2 times a year. The performance review process is outdated and lacks in comparison with new practices (e.g. 360-degree feedback, peer review processes). Furthermore, there seems to be no initiative or incentive for upper management to invest in the growth or development of their reports or teams. The work also does not vary as you get promoted, making promotions purely nominal (i.e. they are a title change only). - Limited Collaboration: While there are many different teams at S+G, there is no cohesion across them. People are expected to stay in their lane (feedback on projects is given within a vertical, not across), which limits opportunities for the company to achieve innovative results. (E.g. Strategy and Design should be sitting down with Marketing and Sales to figure out what our offering is -- we're selling "services", what's our differentiator? Talk to the brains/people who are delivering the work.) - Company misalignment: The goals of the company are understandably sales-driven. However, there are never conversations about how each function can contribute to sales. Teams do not set objectives or measurable goals that align with the company goals.

      Continue reading
      13 people found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Intern, less than 1 year

      Great internship program

      3 Jan 2014 - Summer Intern in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I did a summer internship with Siegel+Gale in 2013, and it was a great experience. This is not one of those "do-nothing" internships for your resume: we were given projects to work on that made real contributions to our respective departments. I learned a lot of valuable skills, having little experience in marketing/branding before the internship. Also, I felt very well taken care of. Working at S+G has lots of nice perks, from the kitchen stocked with coffee, nuts, and yogurt to occasional "intern outings" to NYC including the MoMA. S+G (and Omnicom) also did a lot to prepare us for future jobs/internships, holding workshops and sending us to a career fair. Take this internship if it is offered to you! The best I have ever had...

      Cons

      This internship was a good introduction to the pros and cons of working in corporate America. There is a lot of pandering that goes on at S+G, which can feel disingenuous and corny at times. For instance, there are weekly "Campfire" meetings where senior staff mythologize about their experiences at the company. Also, the company prides itself on "thought leadership," the touting of which inevitably results in some pretentiousness. I found this irritating.

      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      3 Months In: Happy to be here

      7 Jul 2014 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      First and foremost - the people. Everyone works hard here, but they work even harder to keep the average disposition of the overall office at "sunny." Very pleasant because of this. Secondly, the work is very engaging, even if your department is not directly involved in another's. Everyone absorbs everything and is encouraged to discuss and interact with the work we all do, interdepartmentally.

      Cons

      Aside from the AC being on full-blast a bit too often, there's nothing I'd consider a "con" about working at S+G, so far.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      World Class Talent & Culture

      24 Feb 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I'm relatively new to Siegel+Gale, but I've worked in branding for many years, and at other well-known agencies, so I have experience and perspective on how S+G compares. Bottom line: by far the best place I've ever worked, and easily the best-run agency I've seen. An exceptionally smart, motivated, collaborative and nice group of amazingly talented people. An engaged, active management team that genuinely cares about people, and that encourages and enables people to have a healthy work-life balance.

      Cons

      I'd like to see us more inter-office collaboration and communication. There are already online tools and resources in place to help facilitate knowledge sharing, but finding /facilitating more opportunities for teams to cross-pollinate on client work and/or new business pitches would help develop richer insights from a broader, more disparate perspective.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      Siegel+Gale Response

      Chief Talent Officer

      Thanks for your feedback. Smart, Nice and Unstoppable is what we aim for every day!

    6. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Simply Happy...

      18 Nov 2013 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      S+G has really given me the opportunity to have a voice. I greatly value the support of my manager and team members. Throughout my time at S+G I have been able to think outside of the box to bring fresh new ideas to life. I’m so proud to have landed at S+G. Here are some outstanding qualities: + Company size matters- I’ve never felt lost or have had the feeling that I was just another employee + Collaboration is key - The opportunity exists to work with folks in other departments, it’s great to get the opportunity to work on projects with folks in various positions + Work life balance- I’m not just referring to the vacation days, the benefits and perks are great

      Cons

      The only thing I can say about the NY office is that we are in an older building so dress in layers, the office runs hot and cold.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Passionate People / Strong Perspective

      11 Nov 2017 - Strategy in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      For the most part, the teams here are exceptionally passionate and talented. Of course, there are some pockets of dead wood and/or disengaged employees, but the culture eventually weeds those out and they move on (which is necessary in my opinion). The branding landscape has changed significantly from even 3 years ago, and S+G has been (smartly) reshaping its capabilities to be at the forefront of that evolution. There's still much more to do, and while some legacy offerings have been disbanded, new teams have been brought in to enhance the offerings to clients. I do think S+G is well ahead of some of its traditional competitors in that regard. Its philosophy on Simplicity is a differentiator to the market.

      Cons

      As with any work environment, office politics exist here as well.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Intern, less than 1 year

      Marketing Internship

      20 Jul 2016 - Marketing in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company as a whole has been incredibly accommodating to us as interns. Not only have we been given the opportunity to work on projects that specifically relate to our interests, but we have also been exposed to various practices and skills that have, in my experience, expanded my personal interests. The people here are kind and willing to teach, as well as incredibly hard working and passionate about what they do. The drive to create and produce stellar work is contagious. This internship has been unique in both the opportunities that we have gotten, and the valuable skills and assets that we have been given. Overall I feel that this experience has enhanced my ability to think, learn, and embrace curiosity. S+G has set the bar very high.

      Cons

      No cons. Awesome learning and working experience in every way.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      So far so good

      19 Mar 2014 - Resource Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company has got great client base and if you want to work on projects of well known companies you should consider S+G. I can see potential for growth and more months/years to come especially in EMEA region as the office is in growing phase and European companies are looking to invest in branding.

      Cons

      Days seem crazy sometimes as everybody is running to meet deadlines, get from a meeting to a meeting and it feels at times that you have absolutely no idea what you are doing or what is happening.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Growing with Opportunity

      19 Apr 2016 - Associate Creative Director in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've been at Siegel+Gale for over two years and by far it has surpassed anywhere else I've worked in the industry. The company has evolved to a leading branding agency with talented minds coming together. Siegel+Gale allows work/life balance with practical hours, which is especially rare in the creative industry. It's also reassuring to have see so much female leadership. Ultimately, it's a great time to be a part of the Siegel+Gale family.

      Cons

      Cultivating junior roles at Siegel+Gale is often difficult. S+G is fast-paced and often at the will of their clients, so there is little time for junior mentorship. Yet, those who are passionate for their work and put in the extra time often shine brightly.

      3 people found this review helpful

      Siegel+Gale Response

      Chief Talent Officer

      Thank you for your feedback. We strive to offer as much balance as possible while still delivering great work.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 30 Reviews

    Work at Siegel+Gale? Share Your Experiences

    Siegel+Gale logo
    or