Sky "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Sky Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 16 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
70%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Sky CEO  Jeremy Darroch
Jeremy Darroch
927 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work life balance, frequently changing direction of middle management layer(in 78 reviews)

  • "Long hours, underpaid, nothing else(in 61 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insight Analyst in Dunfermline, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sky full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Salary, benefits, pension, colleagues, work environment

    Cons

    Work life balance, frequently changing direction of middle management layer

    Sky2020-01-16
  2. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Test and Delivery Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sky full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice atmosphere and work life balance

    Cons

    Some things are contracted to internal or external. Not everybody willing to share knowledge

    Sky2019-12-17
  3. Helpful (1)

    "no good for your health"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sky Customer Experience Advisor in Cardiff, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sky full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    free sky but that would be it

    Cons

    Never work for sky it will literally drain the life out of you you sit there for 10 hours a day not able to speak to anyone on your team but because if you do the management give you a disciplinary they want you to sell everything on every single call and pressure you to but if you make a mistake its your fault even though they forced you oh and their training as they call it is watching slide shows which is shocking towards the end of my time there i was diagnosed with depression and stress due to the job as there is no work life balance they do not care if you have to take family member to the hospital and once they didn't even notify me that my daughter had been taken to hospital

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    get off your high horse as some of you haven't even taken a call if your life and you think its easy but its not

    Sky2019-12-28
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Analyst in Brighton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Sky for more than a year

    Pros

    Forward thinking, latest technologies, good Agile adoption, good culture, great work/life balance

    Cons

    Isleworth is a bit out of the way

    Sky2019-11-19
  5. "Great Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Manager in Livingston, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sky full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great work life balance Excellent benefits

    Cons

    Parking difficult Salary average for industry

    Sky2019-11-07
  6. "Out of touch with technology"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Livingston, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sky full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits , good work life balance

    Cons

    Lots of journey men happy with status quo

    Sky2019-11-19
  7. "Field engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Home Service Field Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sky full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Salary is not dependent on completion of jobs

    Cons

    Work/life balance is comprimisied frequently

    Sky2019-11-11
  8. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PMO Analyst 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sky full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work Life Balance, Benefits, Great Colleagues and a fun place!

    Cons

    I can't think of any

    Sky2019-10-24
  9. "Not worth it..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Sky

    Pros

    Benefits, Office campus, Pay, Food, Good coffee

    Cons

    Bullying Poor management Unfair treatment Relentless pace - poor work life balance

    Sky2019-11-07
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Not really a tech company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Software Engineer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sky full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Some of the best benefits in the business (9% company pension contribution, free Sky TV, on-site gym) - Great approach to work-life balance - Actively engaged in the well-being (mental and physical) of staff

    Cons

    - All major technical decisions are made by non-technical staff based on financials - All changes must be costed - Recruitment works on a "yes to everyone that applies" basis due to high churn - Grad scheme effectiveness depends on patronage - A highly political promotion environment - you are far more likely to be promoted if the hiring manager is your friend than if you are actually competent - The system admin departments still think it's the 90s - Middle management has no real training at managing people

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Allow technical decisions to be made by technical staff responsible for enacting that decision irrespective of finance - Use independent panels for promotion processes - Reduce the use of contractors who do not care about the long-term of a project - Have an external auditor assess the impact and cost of the "devops" departments

    Sky2019-10-13
Found 163 reviews
</>Embed