SkyWest Airlines Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

SkyWest Airlines Reviews

Updated 27 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
83%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
SkyWest Airlines President and Chief Executive Officer  Chip Childs
Chip Childs
237 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Lots for hard work for very low pay but this is standard for regional airlines(in 73 reviews)

  • "The flight attendants vote for bad pay packages(in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fresher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kollam

    I have been working at SkyWest Airlines full-time

    Pros

    Childhood dream to work in airlines

    Cons

    100% efficient to the company

    SkyWest Airlines2019-05-10
  2. "Line Maintenance Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead AMT in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SkyWest Airlines full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good managers and friendly employees to work with

    Cons

    Company is not opening back in Atlanta

    SkyWest Airlines2020-03-27
  3. "The most stable regional airline. Enough said. Family environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Airline Pilot in Boise, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SkyWest Airlines full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    SkyWest has done a great job of always preparing for bad times. Even now as a junior pilot I am not worried about not getting a paycheck in these COVID-19. Many of the other pilots are taking voluntary unpaid leave and some a reduced paid leave. This shows you their heart and willingness to make room for the younger pilots coming in. Working for 4 different airlines also gives SkyWest the ability to not have all their eggs in one basket with one specific carrier. Their on time performance also provides new routes and different flying as well. They also lease aircraft to other companies and have other forms of income that promote redundancy in their business model. I feel very safe here as an employee. Cadet program is a great way to skip seniority off of SSN number so I recommend anyone coming in to join the program. Very safe maintenance program.

    Cons

    Not the highest pay in the industry. New hire bonuses are only for people in their partner schools which isn't fair to those who worked just as hard to get there.

    SkyWest Airlines2020-03-24
  4. "Fantastic company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SkyWest Airlines full-time

    Pros

    They greatly care for the employees

    Cons

    I was away from home alot

    SkyWest Airlines2020-03-19
  5. "Skywest rocks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cross-Utilized Agent in Pocatello, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SkyWest Airlines part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I love the people and the company

    Cons

    None I love it !

    SkyWest Airlines2020-03-17
  6. "Great company doing great things"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pilot, First Officer in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SkyWest Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Safety culture, training, mentoring, AQP, management not only listens but wants input, instructors fly the line as well, domicile options, transparency from management, 2 new contracts, growth

    Cons

    Reserve to start out, classes are large, classes are becoming more and more backed up, new instructors are becoming more common due to growth

    SkyWest Airlines2020-03-15
  7. "Good reviews"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cross-Utilized Agent in Springfield, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SkyWest Airlines part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits stocks shares 401k

    Cons

    Health insurance for part time workers And higher discounts

    Continue reading
    SkyWest Airlines2020-03-14
  8. "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - First Officer in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SkyWest Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Skywest has a really great training program. It is structured very well and while intense at times, builds off of every phase of training. They also are very understanding when unforeseen circumstances come up. I got sick in the middle of training for a few days and it was a simple phone call. They rescheduled me as soon as I was ready to resume.

    Cons

    Haven’t seen anything yet to be negative. Schedules can be tough sometimes especially as a new hire, but they will work with you which I’m grateful for.

    SkyWest Airlines2020-03-14
  9. "job review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cross-Utilized Agent in Eau Claire, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SkyWest Airlines part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    interesting job with multiple duties; easy access to training; computer training is easily understood and completed; Elyse was a great trainer and mentor when she was at the station

    Cons

    EAU does not have a permanent manager and there is some chaos and differences of opinions on how to complete a task; some staff not customer friendly; lots of computer training for part-time position;

    Continue reading
    SkyWest Airlines2020-03-14
  10. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cross-Utilized Agent in Lewisburg, WV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SkyWest Airlines part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very good place to work.

    Cons

    Pay is a little low

    SkyWest Airlines2020-03-14
Found 718 reviews