Skyscanner Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Skyscanner Reviews

Updated 12 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Skyscanner CEO Bryan Dove  (no image)
Bryan Dove
47 Ratings
  1. Helpful (11)

    "Heading in the wrong directions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Skyscanner full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Great product for now - Flexibly at work

    Cons

    - Recently taking extremely top down approach and are unconvinced for the most of employees due to lack of rationality perspectives - Some of recent CxOs fail to build trust from employees due to the lack of sense of customer perspectives

    Advice to Management

    Work for customers rather than work for what you want to achieve in your role

    Skyscanner2019-08-13
  2. "Good work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Skyscanner full-time

    Pros

    Flexibility, flat hierarchy, Informal, nice pantry

    Cons

    Few promotion levels, basic graduate program

    Advice to Management

    Be more transparent and truthful.

    Skyscanner2019-08-05
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Growth Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Growth Manager in Singapore
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Skyscanner full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - most "human" and high trust environment I've ever worked for. If you have a newborn, you can basically WFH and dial in for all the meetings - working with a group of a caring yet highly intelligent group will inspire to grow and improve - you can learn and grow whichever way you want in your career

    Cons

    - change strategy or restructure too many times which signals that top management wasn't clear what they want - product improvement or iterations are slower than any competitors in the region

    Skyscanner2019-08-07
  4. "Skyscanner really cares abouts its staff, its customers and its partners"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Skyscanner full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Most engaged and available exec team I have ever worked with - Teams are truly empowered to deliver impact and adapt how they work

    Cons

    - facing the typical challenges of a company going through this stage of growth

    Skyscanner2019-08-01
  5. Helpful (11)

    "Bulling and manipulative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Skyscanner full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Most people are friendly, open and well meaning. - Comp and benefits are excellent. - Great work-life balance and work from home arrangements.

    Cons

    - Skyscanner wants to look open and inclusive, but I have found the middle management to be bulling and manipulative. - Nothing ever gets done: it's all talking, meetings and Confluence pages... not a place if you are an engineer and like doing rather than talking. - Skyscanner is very conservative and very afraid of trying anything new in terms of product or technology. They are much more like a bank or a big... corporate than a tech company. - Office politics is rampant. - The product is going from bad to worse, and nobody cares. - They don't know what they are doing and have no clue about how to go forward. If nothing changes very soon, Skyscanner will disappear.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please, you need to stop the bulling at all levels.

    Skyscanner2019-08-29
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Not great if you aren't at HQ"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager 

    I have been working at Skyscanner full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I guess they are a big deal in Europe? So notoriety?

    Cons

    - Employees are motivated to write blogs about things they've done, rather than actually doing work. If you don't have a paper trail or a Confluence page pointing to what you've done, you don't exist. - Benefits (particularly for acquired companies and/or non-HQ offices) are below market. - Gym benefit is $150 LIFETIME. In California, you can use this to take a handful of yoga classes and/or go to budget... gym for a year.

    Show More
    Skyscanner2019-08-04
  7. Helpful (16)

    "Bullying Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Skyscanner full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work-life balance Free snacks Coffee machine Fruits & snacks

    Cons

    Extreme toxic work culture Management hasn't got a clue how to run the business People resign on a daily basis Only 4 black people work in the London office and a similar number in the Edinburgh head office - lack of diversity and management doesn't seem to want to do anything to rectify this lack of diversity You are expected to accept any feedback given to you regardless of if it is true or not. If you try to... explain/defend or give any feedback you will immediately be fired. I was told nothing that I had to say was important. As a new starter, you are expected to know how their system works on day one and if you make a mistake on day one that will follow you in month 3 even if you are no longer making that one simple mistake that you made on day one of starting with the company Bullying environment Management sit around in meetings all day wondering why so many staff are handing in their notice even though these leavers feedback the exact same things I am describing here to them in their so-called ambushed leavers exit interview and on Glassdoor, they still don't accept these reasons and act oblivious to it Worst company I have ever worked for in my 15 years of working in this field The engineering management team don't have a clue about what they are doing. The manager I supported doesn't seem to know how to open a word document when I was asked to create an end of the day task list in order to micromanage me even though they preach that they are an open inclusive culture where you manage your workload with no micromanagement. He's afraid of making any decisions, hides behind his management team to make key decisions for him If you do join this company be sure to keep your mouth shut and not give any feedback even if they encourage you to do so and say they are open to feedback - this is a trap The company’s future is questionable when compared to their other top competitors who treat staff with respect and value. At Skyscanner, they have a high turnover with staff and are constantly recruiting because people are constantly leaving Their onboarding is extremely poor for new members of staff

    Show More
    Skyscanner2019-08-19
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great culture, amazing place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Manager in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Skyscanner full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great culture, low pressured environment, everyone is easy to talk too, really promotes diversity, good environment

    Cons

    career progression and review periods

    Skyscanner2019-07-16
  9. Helpful (11)

    "When it's good, it's great. When it's bad...it breaks you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Designer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Skyscanner full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It's one of the few moral companies in tech, and the people you work with keep you honest. It's astonishing how easily everyone collaborates - you can sit down with people from commercial, marketing, engineering, product and just come up with amazing ideas for things without any barriers.

    Cons

    Progression and promotion is really bad. There doesn't seem to be any rhyme or reason to reward, and any internal changes just end up rewarding the exact people who already get recognition. Especially in design there's very little career movement in the low and middle end of the team, and recognition seems mainly tied to being given the right project.

    Advice to Management

    Address inconsistent recognition, especially for women in the team. Ask why it is that designer rarely get called up during company-wide reward exercises.

    Skyscanner2019-07-04
  10. "Ambitious company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Skyscanner full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Super smart people to learn from Support provided Opportunities

    Cons

    Hard work and demanding Not for everyone

    Skyscanner2019-07-10
Found 197 reviews