Sodexo USA Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Sodexo USA Reviews

Updated Nov 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
57%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Sodexo USA CEO Denis Machuel (no image)
Denis Machuel
4 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Modern slave wages"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Custodian in Piscataway, NJ
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sodexo USA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good place and good managers at lower level. Lower managers are cooperative and will help you in anything they can. Also, Colgate employees are very respectful and nice people to work for and with.

    Cons

    Horrible salary. I believe, if it was not prohibited in the US constitution, whomever is in charged of the salary in here would’ve gladly purchased a few slaves in order to avoid paying their employees and saving that money for the company. This company severely underpaid workers to the point which is straight up unethical. They take the maximum advantage of people with lower working skills, those who don’t believe... in themselves that they could not get another job or migrate to another company, and severely underpaid them. An example of this is that you would need to work for this company in here for over a decade if you want to receive at least the national average salary on many of their position. I wish Colgate, like other big companies such as Apple and Google currently do, would hold their long-term contractors to some ethical standards with their employees.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop seeing lower level employees as a necessary evil and pay them decently.

    Sodexo USA2019-11-11
  2. "Easy job friendly environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier 

    I have been working at Sodexo USA part-time

    Pros

    great people, great pay for the work

    Cons

    Not to many things wrong, I really like my job

    Sodexo USA2019-10-24
  3. "i like it alot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Little Rock, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sodexo USA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    its great to work here

    Cons

    on our feet too much

    Advice to Management

    help out some

    Sodexo USA2019-10-14
  4. "Incompetent and Awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Executive in Boston, MA
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sodexo USA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Career growth on paper, but it doesn’t mean much in action

    Cons

    Awful team environment, no collaboration because of incompetence, and not putting employee safety as #1 priority.

    Advice to Management

    Fire Boston children’s A client.

    Sodexo USA2019-11-13
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Lunch lady"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lunch Lady in Cinnaminson, NJ
    Recommends

    I have been working at Sodexo USA part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Unemployment in summer, kids school schedule , 14 paid days off, uniform allowance

    Cons

    Rarely good coverage when someone is out, micro managed,

    Advice to Management

    Get a full time sub

    Sodexo USA2019-10-02
  6. "Decent pay, do not reward EMPLOYEES"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Registered Dietitian 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sodexo USA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good people love the patients I work with

    Cons

    compensation, management style, work-life balance

    Sodexo USA2019-10-15
  7. "Decent Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Reliability Engineer in Kalamazoo, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sodexo USA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It really feels like anyone can succeed in Sodexo, if you like the services industry

    Cons

    You almost have to be salesman to significantly make strides in your career

    Advice to Management

    Pay better attention at employees who are at regional sites, your oldest clients don't give you growth, the new ones do

    Sodexo USA2019-09-29
  8. "Started from the bottom and worked my way up."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chief Cook in Camp Pendleton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sodexo USA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A lot of promotional opportunities.

    Cons

    Hard to communicate to upper management and workingfor a union, really doesnt accomplish nothing.

    Advice to Management

    Management should be knowledgeable in the position there managing or at least try to lean.

    Sodexo USA2019-09-25
  9. "Maintenance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Utility Worker in Fort Valley, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sodexo USA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I had a wonderful opportunity learning all machines throughout the function of the shift

    Cons

    There were no cons pertaining to Sodexo

    Advice to Management

    More hours

    Sodexo USA2019-09-21
  10. "Sink or Swim"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dining Room Manager in Batavia, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sodexo USA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Always feeling busy and on your toes, never a dull moment. Generally, the other management team members are passionate about their area and want you to succeed and grow. Their reviews weigh some on how much they prepare the next line of staff for the next level in the company.

    Cons

    Communication. At times, the business side gets priority and its hard to remember who is doing what/where/when/how when communication is lacking or regularly abrupt. Felt like the wheel kept on getting re-invented (from general lack of sharing best practices/resources) for processes and it wasn't long before it wore on me. High management turn over at this particular unit which I have chalked up to politics. Doesn't... have to be that way, hope to see it has improved.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I expressed what communication helps me to thrive from the beginning to management: talking through things regularly helps me understand we're on the same page -- and along the way instead, it felt as though I was expected to be a mind-reader, and often found myself stressed and not knowing what to do/who best to ask for help. Towards the end of my time, meetings began to be more regular and communication felt more... like it should be, but it should have happened much much sooner! On my end, I frankly couldn't keep it up in that environment. Senior Management always seemed so busy and preoccupied with their own politics which was frustrating and therefore not reciprocal in their welcome. More concerned about the client than their own team. Balance between both could have been better. VPs seemed to get it!!

    Show More
    Sodexo USA2019-09-21
Found 1725 reviews