Sodexo USA "low pay" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Sodexo USA Employee Reviews about "low pay"

Updated Oct 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
58%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Sodexo USA CEO Denis Machuel (no image)
Denis Machuel
4 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "low pay"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Worst Job I Have Ever Had! Run!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Fairfax, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sodexo USA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free meal with each shift you work

    Cons

    Management was absolutely horrible. Low pay compared to same jobs around the area. One person is given the responsibility and work load of 2 and 3 people because of such high turnover rate. I have never been treated and talked to so poorly in my life.

    Advice to Management

    Retrain management, hire more people and increase salary. There is no reason that the temps that we are supervising make more money than the supervisors and full-time/part time employees. That makes absolutely no sense.

    Sodexo USA2019-10-02
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Cashier? or all around general employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Flagstaff, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sodexo USA part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Challenges you -Not all staff was terrible -Free meal for each shift

    Cons

    -No flexible hours -Make you handle food without a food handler's license -Terrible management -Overwork you -No opportunities for employee growth -Low pay -Overall, undesirable environment

    Advice to Management

    Do not be dishonest when hiring a candidate. I was hired as a cashier at one of my University's dining places (owned by Sodexo), and I only worked behind the register 10% of my shifts. The rest of the time I was required to prepare food for students without a food handlers license (which is unacceptable). I couldn't last long in this company because I did not get the help I needed from management. I quit after about... six months.

    Show More
    Sodexo USA2019-08-09
  3. "Fun job but management gap"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food Service Worker in Rockford, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sodexo USA part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun work environment, Flexible Schedule

    Cons

    Low pay, Poor employee-management relationship

    Advice to Management

    Try to get to know your workers as people and not just numbers of employees

    Sodexo USA2019-07-03
  4. "Okay, not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tech Support in Williamsville, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sodexo USA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Employee motivation and appreciation days

    Cons

    Low pay, high expectations Treated like children

    Advice to Management

    Disburse the cliques and manage

    Sodexo USA2019-06-07
  5. "Great atmosphere to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Payroll Account Payable Clerk in Durham, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sodexo USA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Management worked as a team

    Cons

    Low pay rates for job expectations

    Sodexo USA2019-05-13
  6. "Patient Ambassador = Kitchen Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Patient Ambassador in Macon, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sodexo USA part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free food. Relaxed work environment

    Cons

    Low pay Horrible scheduling. Try not to schedule people to work double shifts multiple days in a row, and try to give people 5 day work weeks so they can have 2 days off in a row. People get burned out and are less likely to stay. Also you can offer overtime, but don't force it on people by making them do double shifts. Deceptive job ad. The job description given is misleading. Why are they calling it a "patient... ambassador" when you're more of a "dietary aide"? You work in the kitchen in the back, load the trays and pass them out to the patients in the hospital. I only applied for the job because I believed it was more administrative in nature, I didn't expect to be on the "tray line".

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be honest with the job description. You have a high turnover rate because you're attracting candidates who are expecting a totally different job.

    Sodexo USA2019-04-28
  7. Helpful (1)

    "dietary dept."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dietary Aide in Fountain Valley, CA

    I worked at Sodexo USA part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flexible hours and great coworkers

    Cons

    low pay and terrible management

    Sodexo USA2019-04-23
  8. "Food server at college dorm cafeteria"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Food Server in Hilo, HI

    I have been working at Sodexo USA part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Easy job and flexible hours

    Cons

    Low pay and part time

    Sodexo USA2019-04-08
  9. "Pretty decent job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Caterer/Grill Cook in East Aurora, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sodexo USA part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Awesome co workers, good hours, and holidays off

    Cons

    Low pay, repeative work and secure location

    Sodexo USA2019-03-22
  10. "Okay experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Food Service Worker in Gulf Breeze, FL

    I worked at Sodexo USA part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Steady paycheck helpful co-workers in certain schools, off when students are no weekends

    Cons

    Higher up doesn't listen to concerns or problems low pay no benefits for part time employees, alot of running around for little compensation

    Advice to Management

    Treat employees better

    Sodexo USA2019-03-27
Found 53 reviews