Sodexo "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Sodexo Reviews

Updated Sep 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 4400 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Sodexo CEO Denis Machuel (no image)
Denis Machuel
225 Ratings
  1. "General manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in Providence, RI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sodexo full-time

    Pros

    Good pay friendly staff a lot of training enjoyed seeing the people that worked for me still keep in touch with them

    Cons

    Long hours tuff to balence work load and family life always on call,always wondering if you have a job with contracted clients

    Sodexo2016-12-05
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Boxes Hospitality Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sodexo

    Pros

    -Better pay when going direct rather than through an agency -Alerted to available work at other venues run by Sodexo, not just the one you apply to

    Cons

    -Long hours on race days at Ascot (which are potentially good if you want more ££) -Clients are often difficult to deal with (not a fault of Sodexo!)

    Advice to Management

    Enforce a common tip-sharing policy - different floor run different policies, and some do not share any tips to the porters/kitchen staff

    Sodexo2016-11-24
  3. "Evs Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sodexo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, different opportunities throughout the company, lots of thing one can learn on a daily basis, great relationships with different departments .

    Cons

    Unit worked at was a mess for the first 4 months of my employment, 3 different general managers through out my time there, not particularly the company's fault but was of the district manager, not for those who do not like to work long hours, compensation is very average for entry level.

    Advice to Management

    Each unit is different but it would be nice if a system was developed to assure all units meet a certain expectation of quality of life in the work force.

    Sodexo2016-12-07
  4. "senior manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Sodexo

    Pros

    worldwide company,great benefits,interesting workplace,can travel with work

    Cons

    long hours, limited opportunities for advancement

    Sodexo2016-12-02

    Sodexo Response

    December 5, 2016Employment Branding Sourcing Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I'm not sure of your exact location, advancement is a big part of Sodexo culture. In the US, we have many examples of people moving from hourly roles to management and above. It may require you to move to a different unit, ...

    Show More
  5. "High stress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Toronto, ON

    I worked at Sodexo

    Pros

    Company has a good reputation

    Cons

    Long hours, lots of responisibility, no authority, no bonuses for extra extra extra sales work, no work-life balance

    Advice to Management

    The bonus structure is unfair. Take a good look at who is doing the work.

    Sodexo2016-11-25
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Operations Manager II in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sodexo for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits and staff

    Cons

    to much micro management and long hours

    Advice to Management

    none

    Sodexo2016-09-06
  7. "Bar staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sodexo

    Pros

    Great team to work with, lunch and transport provided to event, training was very useful.

    Cons

    long hours working with little breaks, but that is event life.

    Sodexo2016-08-22
  8. "Great place for growth and development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Manager in Lubbock, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Sodexo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I've worked for Sodexo for 3 yrs now and have never found a place where you can grow and develop as a manager. The leadership training and knowledge carried down from the highest ranks. Great place to work.

    Cons

    Long hours except for summers

    Sodexo2016-07-14

    Sodexo Response

    July 18, 2016Employment Branding Sourcing Manager

    I'm very happy to hear about your experience at Sodexo so far. It is our intention to provide training and development so our employees can grow and advance within the company.

  9. "Dietary Aide"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sodexo full-time

    Pros

    Offers health insurance at a lower rate than most (even though I didn't need it) Offers vacation and sick time

    Cons

    Lower wages Very low annual raises Long hours, no breaks, but break was taken out of check Kitchen appliances broke down all the time

    Advice to Management

    Raises should be based on work ethic and performance not how much someone has worked for the company. A $0.03-$0.10 raise does absolutely nothing especially if you cut off at $10/hour because that's how much cook/supervisors get paid. There should have been something mentioned to Manor Care regarding the lack of AC during the summer in a kitchen. The kitchen appliances broke down constantly. Many of my coworkers... including myself were burned from hot water spurting out of the dish machine since it would break all the time.

    Show More
    Sodexo2016-06-30
  10. "Depends on contract /client"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sodexo

    Pros

    Benefits are ok but not extraordinary.

    Cons

    Long hours dispite Quality of Life motto Depending on where your at..Upper management does not care...

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your team. Forcing people to do something that does not benefit neither the client or the company does no one any good. Creates an enviroment of distrust.

    Sodexo2016-06-13
Found 4400 reviews