Softcat Reviews

Updated 11 May 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
87%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Softcat CEO Graeme Watt
Graeme Watt
136 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours - you get out what you put in(in 24 reviews)

  • "Basic salary is extremely low - Yes there is commission involved but the good commission only comes from new business(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. "Review"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Team Leader 

    I worked at Softcat full-time

    Pros

    Good place for freshers to learn.

    Cons

    No work life balance, No support from management

    Softcat Response

    October 14, 2020Recruitment Manager

    Thanks for the feedback, but we are disappointed to hear that you feel that there is no work life balance or support from Management. If you'd be open to sharing your experiences with me to explore further, my email is rachelco@softcat.com Thanks

  2. "Management Consultant"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Softcat full-time

    Pros

    Better with the count of leaves

    Cons

    Leadership needs the more Matured People in Management

    Softcat Response

    July 23, 2019Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for your review Rachel Cowell Recruitment Manager


  3. "Amazing company!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Analyst in Marlow, England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People are genuinely nice and caring. Support is offered every step of the way and you are treated like a family member, unlike most companies. Management truly cares about the company and people and they set reasonable expectations. Overall, the atmosphere is very positive, fun and encouraging.

    Cons

    I honestly can't think of any cons.

    Continue reading

    Softcat Response

    May 11, 2021Recruitment Team Leader

    Thank you so much for your positive feedback - it really is so lovely to hear! We can't wait to hopefully work with you for many more years to come, and should you have any further feedback for us moving forward please do not hesitate to get in touch with myself directly Thanks Elisha

  4. "Great people first company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Softcat full-time

    Pros

    Softcat cares about its people, is like a family and people look out for each other. It is ambitious and capable.

    Cons

    High Growth means things are done quickly. you need be a self starter and ensure you don't get left behind.

  5. "It's been fun."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Project Manager in Marlow, England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Softcat full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A great company that takes pride in looking after its staff, whether in the office, or at home working remotely. This list goes on: * Dental and Health insurance * Pension scheme * Share incentive scheme * Ride to work programme * Sebatical rewards for long-term employees * 6-month and 12-month incentive trips * Care packages, BBQs, celebration days, parties, Pride festivities... you name it. * Flexible working hours and flexible home/office working.

    Cons

    There's a great deal of focus on getting the work done, and this will lead into a lot of late evenings. Manage your time wisely, and know when to switch off the laptop. Pay reviews can be very challenging; no bonus schemes available to non-sales. It can be very difficult to convince the company your position is of the market value.

    Continue reading

    Softcat Response

    April 23, 2021Recruitment Team Leader

    Thank you for your feedback, we really value your thoughts. Your experience sounds like an overall positive one. We are consistently looking at our remuneration and our benefits to make sure that we are competitive, and will continue to do so moving forward. Thanks! Elisha

  6. "About compnay"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Dhaka

    I have been working at Softcat full-time

    Pros

    Good environment in the office

    Cons

    Not sufficient resources to complete the jobs

  7. "Happy"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Networking and Security in London, England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great place to work with good energy from the young teams.

    Cons

    Not really any major ones to complain about

    Continue reading

    Softcat Response

    May 11, 2021Recruitment Team Leader

    Thanks for your review and years worth of service with us We appreciate you! Thanks Elisha

  8. "Excellent place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in London, England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great culture and amazing earning potential

    Cons

    None it is an great place to work

    Softcat Response

    May 11, 2021Recruitment Team Leader

    Thank you so much for your review and positive feedback! Thanks Elisha

  9. COVID-19

    "Tough job in a great atmosphere with an opportunity to make good money."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1) Culture-everyone in the office are teammates but more importantly friends. The craic in the office is great and makes working feel a lot more fun. 2) Learning & Development- I came into Softcat as a graduate with no experience selling I.T and every day you learn something new. The development in this job is amazing and I have only scratched the surface. The IT industry is a tough one, but the knowledge you are equipped with from Softcat you learn rapidly. 3) Open office floor plan-I have been seated beside team leaders and sales managers and this type of setting is great for cold calling. You could make a call and it could go well then your sales manager would give you a couple tips on how to improve it and make it even better which helps you sell more. You can also hear everyone around you which helps boost how quickly you learn. 4) Approachable workforce- it doesn’t matter if you have been with the company 5 minutes or 10 years everyone has time to help you improve and develop no matter how senior they are within the company . 5) social events- safe to say the social aspect of the job is great (when the pandemic ends of course). Nights out are very eventful to say the least with plenty of banter had. 6)Commission-you have the ability to go out and make a lot of money if you are smart, hardworking and resilient.

    Cons

    1) advertised as 9-5 which is completely true ! However if you want to make a lot money expect longer hours.

    Continue reading

    Softcat Response

    October 23, 2020Recruitment Manager

    Thanks for sharing such a thorough break down of your experience here, great to hear that you're enjoying your time with us and some of the highlights around the opportunity to continue learning, feeling like you're part of the family and that the ability to earn great commission is achievable by working smart. Thanks

  10. "Great Company to work for!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager 

    I worked at Softcat full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Had a fantastic manager at Softcat, who was brilliant to learn from and improve my ability in the job. Great place to started my sales career.

    Cons

    Accounts were hard to come by at time unless people left.

    Softcat Response

    April 23, 2021Recruitment Team Leader

    Thank you so much for spending your time writing this review, and I'm so pleased to hear that you had such a great experience with your management team during your time with us. Thanks again, and good luck in your new role! Elisha

Viewing 1 - 10 of 322 Reviews

Work at Softcat? Share Your Experiences

Softcat logo
or