Softcat Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Jan 18, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 24 of over 350 reviews

4.4
86%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Softcat CEO Graeme Watt
Graeme Watt
146 Ratings
Pros
  • "Culture and office working environment(in 24 reviews)

  • "Great earning potential if you put the hard work in(in 17 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours - you get out what you put in(in 24 reviews)

  • "Basic salary is extremely low - Yes there is commission involved but the good commission only comes from new business(in 17 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "long hours"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Amazing Company - Tough Role

      Oct 16, 2020 - Deputy Team Leader in Dublin, Dublin
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Uncapped commission. The company rewards you for putting in hard work with the ability to earn as much as possible while maintaining a great office culture - Autonomy to do things your way while receiving sufficient support. If you have your own approach that you want to use, no one is going to tell you you can't do it. If it works then perfect, although if you need help with anything the entire office will be more than happy to help you - Ability to progress. This is both up the management route or alternatively solely focusing on sales - Lots of perks and incentives. Accessories, sometimes free lunches, beer fridge on Friday, potential to win holidays or money.

      Cons

      - Stressful sales environment. It's clear the job is tough and you both have to put in lots of work and also can be quite mentally strenuous. - Long hours. The contracted hours are standard, however often it can be longer if you're ambitious. The flip side of this is that the more work you put in the more money you can earn.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Softcat Response

      Recruitment Manager

      Thanks for sharing your feedback with us, it's really appreciated. Thanks

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Place To work

      Jan 18, 2021 - Account Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very supportive, good commission, very transparent, lovely people

      Cons

      Can be long hours, cold-calling can be repetitive

      1 person found this review helpful

      Softcat Response

      Recruitment Manager

      Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we really appreciate it. Thanks Rachel

    3. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Salary

      Jan 5, 2021 - Account Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture, good management, career progression

      Cons

      Long hours, low base salary

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Softcat Response

      Recruitment Manager

      Thanks for your review, we hoped you enjoyed your time with us. On the point with the low base salary you mention, we do offer a very competitive uncapped commission structure and there is potential that within 3 years in Sales you could be earning an OTE of up to £60k, or even more. We do understand that being there for our customers is key, and sometimes deals take a little longer to come through, meaning working longer on some occasions but we do value and encourage our employees to get a worklife balance where possible, and to ensure they look after themselves and enjoy their time when they are at work. Good luck with everything. Thanks Rachel

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Brilliant company

      Nov 20, 2020 - Sales Associate in Manchester, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You work hard and you can earn really good money in sales

      Cons

      Long hours but rewards are there

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Softcat Response

      Recruitment Manager

      Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review and we hope you're keeping well :) Thanks Rachel

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Atmosphere, Great People, Ability to Earn

      Oct 13, 2020 - Account Manager in Manchester, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great atmosphere, particularly in the offices Friendly Co-workers Fantastic commission opportunities Ability to move into other areas of the business Increasingly flexible management

      Cons

      Very low basic salaries Long hours required to succeed

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Softcat Response

      Recruitment Manager

      Thanks for taking time to leave a review, it's really appreciated. We can't wait to get back into the offices properly once it's safe to do so post Covid but we're so proud with how well we've all pulled together and continue the great culture even when working remotely. We're also really proud of the work we put in also around internal mobility, as we understand the role you may join us in isn't always the forever role and we don't want to lose great talent so supporting our employees to move into other roles within the business is important. The point around the basic salaries being low we do take on board and appreciate, but it is something that we do compensate for with the very competitive commission on offer which means packages tend to be above average once you've built up a good level of customers. We do encourage a good work life balance but also appreciate that some d customers will require us to go that extra mile so there may be times where longer hours will be worked to support them the way they require. Thanks

    6. 5.0
      Current Intern, less than 1 year

      Sales

      Sep 16, 2020 - Sales in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun, relaxed, challenging, motivating, innovative

      Cons

      Stressful, unoriginal, hard, long hours, long process

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Softcat Response

      Recruitment Manager

      Thanks for sharing your experience working with us. If you would be open to speaking to us further about the points you've made around the cons just so we can understand it further as there are some points that might need further clarification, that would be appreciated. I am keen we address the elements we can to ensure that we're taking all the feedback on board and can work with making changes where possible. My details are rachelco@softcat.com

    7. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Average

      Nov 20, 2020 - Account Mangers in Marlow, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good people are always around

      Cons

      Very long hours, part of the nature

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Softcat Response

      Recruitment Manager

      Thanks for sharing your feedback, we hope to make the environment for our employees as special as possible, so if you'd like to share any further detail on what we could do to take it that step further please do get in touch on rachelco@softcat.com Thanks Rachel

    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Competitive but opportunity to succeed

      Apr 18, 2020 - Account Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great management and fun atmosphere

      Cons

      Long hours expected to do well

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Softcat Response

      Recruitment Manager

      Thanks for sharing your feedback, it's really appreciated. We wish you the best for a successful career with us! Thanks Rachel Cowell

    9. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      .

      Mar 26, 2020 - Account Manager in Manchester, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      In control of your own success, laid back atmosphere

      Cons

      Long hours if you want to succeed, first 6 months is hell.

      1 person found this review helpful

      Softcat Response

      Recruitment Manager

      Thanks for sharing your experience with us, and wish you every success in your future role. We appreciate that Sales isn't for everyone and there is definitely a requirement at the start to build up your business from scratch and to have that determination and resilience to get to a point where you have your customer base built up to trade with. We're really transparent with new starters about the fact it can be tough at the start, but keeping motivated and driven to succeed can definitely lead to exciting and great things Thanks Rachel Cowell

    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Account Manager

      Jan 20, 2020 - Corporate Merchandiser 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great atmosphere and support. Good commission structure.

      Cons

      Tough, cold sales role. Long hours expected.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Softcat Response

      Recruitment Manager

      Thanks for your review, it's appreciated. We're really glad that your experience has been so positive and that you took advantage of the support and guidance we offered. We wish you well in your future role Thanks Rachel Cowell Recruitment Manager

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 24 Reviews

    Work at Softcat? Share Your Experiences

    Softcat logo
    or