Softchoice Employee Reviews about "senior leadership"

Updated Jul 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 of over 823 reviews

4.0
84%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Softchoice President and CEO Vince De Palma
Vince De Palma
231 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good culture, fun work environment(in 46 reviews)

  • "Great people and working culture(in 45 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work/Life balance could use work(in 41 reviews)

  • "Senior leadership isn’t trustworthy(in 19 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "senior leadership"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Once great company that lost its way

      Jul 20, 2019 - Sales in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Still some good people there that believe in what they do Good place to get entry level experience Fun vendor events

      Cons

      Employees are disposable and interchangeable Culture has taken a nose dive over past 3 years Many of the long time employees and leaders have already left. Expectations are not in line with reality Income is low compared to similar companies Senior leadership isn’t trustworthy

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Inside Sales Account Manager

      Jan 21, 2016 - Inside Sales Account Manager in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      When I first started at Softchoice, I was fresh out of university and I could not have chosen a better company to start my career with! The atmosphere is fun and exciting and I have established friendships that I truly value. The corporate culture is incredible and unlike anything I have heard of and experienced. The supportive environment that surrounds you can get you through any stressful day or task. Softchoice fully embodies the "work hard, play hard" slogan. For me though, what sets Softchoice apart from others, is how engaged their management is and how committed they are to supporting their employees. In my experience, I have found that if you put in the appropriate time and effort, there is an extremely high likelihood that you will be rewarded and promoted within. Another unique aspect of Softchoice is their strong sense of responsibility towards local communities and communities around the world (Shout out to Softchoice Cares!) and as a result, I feel proud to work Softchoice.

      Cons

      I would agree that as a result of the company growing and expanding it's focus, there are some growing pains in some areas at times, but the senior leadership and management as a whole, are always very committed to ensuring that efficiencies are developed and changes implemented to limited any negative impact that could result from these changes. Ultimately, I believe there is a strong agreement from within that while there will be changes in specific areas, that in the end, it will result in an even more successful and impactful company.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Better resellers out there.

      May 30, 2019 - Sales Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some good benefits; PTO, nice office space, dog friendly

      Cons

      Buckle up for some bad corporate politics, weak senior leadership that continues to struggle with EBITDA targets and constant profit pressure from private equity firm. Softchoice US office are runner up to Softchoice Toronto and an overall Canada centric viewpoint.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great and fun place to work!

      Oct 15, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Softchoice hires great people and it's such a fun place to work. I have made a lot friends in my 4 years tenure at Softchoice and these great people are definitely the reason why I stay. A fun culture exists with this company and they try to retain some of the small mom & pop shop feel. There are great after-work events and a vibrant, fun culture.

      Cons

      The IT industry is always changing. As a result, the company always has to change to keep up with the market. As an operations employee, sometimes it's hard to keep up with all the change and successfully execute in the new asks. We also have a lot of change in Senior Leadership right now but again, I think that's a response to the industry and company going through changes. I like change so I don't mind it but there is a lot!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good company, usual leadership pains.

      Apr 2, 2018 - Vendor Sales Specialist in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work environment with knowledgeable staff. Direct leadership is often a pleasure to work with and they seem to care about the people on their teams. Salary is close to market if not market. Decent work life balance (role dependent though)

      Cons

      Senior Leadership appear disorganized and lack clear strategy. It feels like each year they throw out a new buzzword/strategy to see if it sticks and helps the company grow. As you go up the line of leadership they become more disconnected from the people below them - you become more of a number or data point within the system. Overall I believe the company is good to work for and that their challenges within leadership are common across many organisations.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Poor Leadership

      Jan 19, 2013 - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They let you bring your dog into work. While I do not have a dog, it creates a cool work environment.

      Cons

      I came from the Unis Lumin acquistion, so I have been on board for a little over a year. I have worked for a number of technology companies and have never seen so much incompetent management, starting with the senior leadership team. In the short time I have been here, we are now on our third leader of professional services. The first 2 left saying that they could not be successful building a services practice at Softchoice (alluding to the incompetence of the leadership team to which they reported), even though they were extremely successful doing at previous companies. The person in that role now is also our CIO, so he is not able to focus completely on the PS practice. As far as I know, he has no experience running a PS practice. Our entire focus last year was around growing professional services, but our year end numbers were WAY below 50% of plan. This leads a lot of us to believe that there could be significant changes at the highest levels in the organization. Only time will tell.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Frat boy club where mediocrity is rewarded.

      Mar 18, 2010 - Operations in Toronto, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great location (renovated old factory building). Young, energetic workforce. Sense of fun, and the dogs on premises and monthly beer are kind of fun.

      Cons

      Chaotic environment. Operations employees severely undervalued and underpaid. Senior leadership not interested in new ideas or critical thinking and has knee-jerk negative reaction to anything perceived as disloyalty. Extremely high turnover makes things worse, and no processes in place mean things change constantly for no reason. Horrible place for women to work - frat boy party mentality and almost no senior women (the few the had have all left in last year). Lots of mistrust from employees since they suffered salary cuts and rollbacks during recession and talk of "we're all in this together" and then SLT rewards themselves with 100K + bonuses.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Softchoice Wins Award

      Aug 10, 2012 - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Softchoice cares is a great program that possitively effects the lives of people around the world.

      Cons

      Each year a number of companies have a third party company survey their employees to determine how much they like working there. A few years ago, employees responses rated us as one of the top places to work. Early 2012, they conducted the survey again, however Softchoice is now rated in the lower 25% of places to work. One of the most negative responses were in relation to a basic distrust of and lack of confidence in senior leadership. One of the senior leadership team members flew around the company to conduct round table discussions with employees. One of the most hilarious moments was when an employee asked an honest question, having only been at Softchoice for a short while. This employee wanted to know if we just resell product that other companies make, what makes us different than other organizations that resell. This leader appeared to be caught offguard and responded, "uh, we like to think that we do things better." This is "leadership" at Softchoice :).

      12 people found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Was a great place but things have changed.

      Feb 24, 2015 -  in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people, the dogs, the free food and beverages from vendors. the office in Seattle is pretty nice with a great view of Puget Sound.

      Cons

      The compensation is horrible. Senior leadership made many unnecessary changes that took the fun, trusting environment where people felt enabled to do their jobs to what it is now. Fear based, no trust, childish micro management that manages their manager rather than their employees. When my manager was let go, most of the team either left or is trying to. The office is not the same and has not improved.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Insight from Professional Services

      Jul 27, 2012 - Professional Services in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Softchoice is a company that is trying to grow We can bring our dog into the office. It is cool to meet other workers pets.

      Cons

      I am a billable PS resource. I need to respond to the outbound rep that said that the sales people do not have confidence in the services organization to deliver if they sell our internal services. A service engagement that is "less than successful" is often not the fault of the technical person. Our managers feel such pressure from the top to hit unreasonable ultization numbers, that they often send us on projects where the right thing to do would be to use a partner that has the exact skills necessary to hit a home run. There is a general lack of concern for our customers in senior leadership and in some of our services leadership. PS and Pre-sale technical resources have had enough of the current direction and many have already left. I will not be far behind.

      11 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 19 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Softchoice Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Softchoice? Share Your Experiences

    Softchoice logo
    or