Softchoice "senior leadership" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Softchoice Employee Reviews about "senior leadership"

Updated 20 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
73%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Softchoice President and CEO Vince De Palma
Vince De Palma
130 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great culture, dogs to work, great benefits(in 62 reviews)

  • "Great work environment, the leadership trusts hardworking people and have one to one recognition(in 43 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "senior leadership"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Once great company that lost its way"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Softchoice full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Still some good people there that believe in what they do Good place to get entry level experience Fun vendor events

    Cons

    Employees are disposable and interchangeable Culture has taken a nose dive over past 3 years Many of the long time employees and leaders have already left. Expectations are not in line with reality Income is low compared to similar companies Senior leadership isn’t trustworthy

    Continue reading
    Softchoice2019-07-20
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Better resellers out there."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Softchoice full-time

    Pros

    Some good benefits; PTO, nice office space, dog friendly

    Cons

    Buckle up for some bad corporate politics, weak senior leadership that continues to struggle with EBITDA targets and constant profit pressure from private equity firm. Softchoice US office are runner up to Softchoice Toronto and an overall Canada centric viewpoint.

    Continue reading
    Softchoice2019-05-30
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good company, usual leadership pains."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vendor Sales Specialist in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Softchoice full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work environment with knowledgeable staff. Direct leadership is often a pleasure to work with and they seem to care about the people on their teams. Salary is close to market if not market. Decent work life balance (role dependent though)

    Cons

    Senior Leadership appear disorganized and lack clear strategy. It feels like each year they throw out a new buzzword/strategy to see if it sticks and helps the company grow. As you go up the line of leadership they become more disconnected from the people below them - you become more of a number or data point within the system. Overall I believe the company is good to work for and that their challenges within leadership are common across many organisations.

    Continue reading
    Softchoice2018-04-02
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Great people & culture... tired senior leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Softchoice full-time

    Pros

    Some of the best people I have ever met work at Softchoice. It's filled with people who have big hearts and work hard.

    Cons

    In short, the Senior Leadership Team is the problem. Time for some fresh new thinking at the top. The problem is, instead of looking in the mirror and asking how he can improve his own leadership, the CEO will likely ask the leader of People to investigate who posted this review.

    Continue reading
    Softchoice2016-12-16
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Inside Sales Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Account Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softchoice full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    When I first started at Softchoice, I was fresh out of university and I could not have chosen a better company to start my career with! The atmosphere is fun and exciting and I have established friendships that I truly value. The corporate culture is incredible and unlike anything I have heard of and experienced. The supportive environment that surrounds you can get you through any stressful day or task. Softchoice fully embodies the "work hard, play hard" slogan. For me though, what sets Softchoice apart from others, is how engaged their management is and how committed they are to supporting their employees. In my experience, I have found that if you put in the appropriate time and effort, there is an extremely high likelihood that you will be rewarded and promoted within. Another unique aspect of Softchoice is their strong sense of responsibility towards local communities and communities around the world (Shout out to Softchoice Cares!) and as a result, I feel proud to work Softchoice.

    Cons

    I would agree that as a result of the company growing and expanding it's focus, there are some growing pains in some areas at times, but the senior leadership and management as a whole, are always very committed to ensuring that efficiencies are developed and changes implemented to limited any negative impact that could result from these changes. Ultimately, I believe there is a strong agreement from within that while there will be changes in specific areas, that in the end, it will result in an even more successful and impactful company.

    Continue reading
    Softchoice2016-01-21
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Was a great place but things have changed."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Softchoice

    Pros

    The people, the dogs, the free food and beverages from vendors. the office in Seattle is pretty nice with a great view of Puget Sound.

    Cons

    The compensation is horrible. Senior leadership made many unnecessary changes that took the fun, trusting environment where people felt enabled to do their jobs to what it is now. Fear based, no trust, childish micro management that manages their manager rather than their employees. When my manager was let go, most of the team either left or is trying to. The office is not the same and has not improved.

    Continue reading
    Softchoice2015-02-25
  7. "Great and fun place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softchoice full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Softchoice hires great people and it's such a fun place to work. I have made a lot friends in my 4 years tenure at Softchoice and these great people are definitely the reason why I stay. A fun culture exists with this company and they try to retain some of the small mom & pop shop feel. There are great after-work events and a vibrant, fun culture.

    Cons

    The IT industry is always changing. As a result, the company always has to change to keep up with the market. As an operations employee, sometimes it's hard to keep up with all the change and successfully execute in the new asks. We also have a lot of change in Senior Leadership right now but again, I think that's a response to the industry and company going through changes. I like change so I don't mind it but there is a lot!

    Continue reading
    Softchoice2014-10-15
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Use them like they're using you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vendor Sales Specialist in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Softchoice full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great marketing department (probably orchestrated all the positive reviews on 10/8). Softchoice can talk a good game. Great for young person with no industry experience.

    Cons

    No long term vision. Can't execute. Senior Leadership Team is filled yes men. The sales organization is a plug and play model. Once a sales rep gains experience and realizes they can go elsewhere for better pay, Softchoice fills the spot with the next person. So on and so on. No customer retention.

    Continue reading
    Softchoice2014-10-15
  9. "Friendly people but senior leadership is clueless"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Softchoice full-time

    Pros

    Great people and safe environment.

    Cons

    Lack of direction. Senior leadership can't decide whether to be full service or be a CDW. Can't keep employees once they get experience. Lots of talk about being a professional services company but no commitment to actually becoming one. The inability to keep senior sales people has locked out strategic opportunity to the company keeping it in the realm of transactional business. Sorely in need of a change at the C level.

    Continue reading
    Softchoice2014-08-25
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great organization to start your career not grow."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Talent Advisor in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Softchoice full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The environment is what people come to enjoy, cool location, vibrant environment and the dogs. Softchoice does go above and beyond for their employees with their social events and Softchoice Cares

    Cons

    Unless you are in sales there is no distinct career path and the organization as a whole is weak on compensation or growth. You have to wonder about the vision of the organization when a revolving door at senior leadership positions.

    Continue reading
    Softchoice2014-08-12
Found 19 reviews