Soho House Reviews

Updated 19 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
59%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Soho House Founder and  CEO  Nick Jones
Nick Jones
76 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay and lots of opportunity(in 10 reviews)

  • "Possible to get promoted/move through the ranks quickly as it is quite fast paced/moving(in 7 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Design and build is ripe with opportunity if you can navigate the chaos"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Designer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Soho House full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Generally colleagues were very sociable & friendly. Good opportunites to move laterally. The work itself is exciting and beautiful. There are many lessons you can take from this place (best and worst practise).

    Cons

    Chain of command is convoluted. Frequent late term changes are standard and stressful. There is a clique culture from the top - if you are favoured, you will move around easier. Pay is ok - not on par with other hospitality companies. Company culture is insincere and made of hollow words. A bit rich for a company known for their 'amazing hospitality'.

    Continue reading
    Soho House2020-05-18
  2. "Challenging Atmosphere"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Soho House full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Cool clientele, social perks, beautiful atmosphere

    Cons

    Long hours, lack of personal life

    Soho House2020-05-19
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good company, if you have worked there for 5 years + and are friends with management"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Soho House full-time

    Pros

    Great projects to work on, if you are given the opportunity.

    Cons

    Working at Soho House is not a level playing field, their 'clique' of staff who have been there for years, and are friends outside of work with management, do the least amount of work and are the most unqualified for their roles have priorities and opportunities over any other staff members and it is unfair. Everyone is aware of this and nobody addresses it.

    Continue reading
    Soho House2020-05-07
  4. "great place to work and develop"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Restaurant Manager in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Soho House full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    willing to train you, great atmosphere, high volume and always evolving

    Cons

    i cant think of any cons

    Soho House2020-04-18
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Ok"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Assistant in London, England

    I worked at Soho House full-time

    Pros

    Fast paced company which will invest money into people by sending People on different types of training

    Cons

    Made me redundant during the culvert 19 coronavirus pandemic

    Soho House2020-04-06
  6. "Amazing"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Receptionist in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Soho House full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice company, fab culture and great food

    Cons

    Nothing much to declare here

    Soho House2020-04-09
  7. "Great company, a pleasure to work for."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Beauty Therapist in Oxford, England

    I have been working at Soho House part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company, lots of on going training.

    Cons

    I have No complaints if I’m honest, staff food could be a little better but it’s free so I shouldn’t moan.

    Soho House2020-04-01
  8. "Bartender"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bartender in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Soho House full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    overall environment, wage, food, team

    Cons

    hours, management, checkbox, was, able, to be placed

    Continue reading
    Soho House2020-03-27
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Vainglorious company"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Soho House full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Brand on your resume as they have a good external brand reputation

    Cons

    -Uppper management is a team of unqualified individuals who simply sucked up to the CEO enough to get their job positions. - Claiming to be the creative house it is , “celebrating” creative individuals applies only if you are a paying member. Employees are relegated and actually encouraged to refrain from visiting the houses they work so hard for. - Unorganized and selfish handling of company during Covid-19 virus.

    Continue reading
    Soho House2020-04-08
  10. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Chef 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Soho House full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Amazing benefits & really cool company to work for.

    Cons

    Difficult at times with the amount of last minute changes from upper corporate management

    Soho House2019-12-20
Found 234 reviews