SolutionSet Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

SolutionSet Reviews

Updated Aug 30, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
62%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
SolutionSet CEO Tim Ross  (no image)
Tim Ross
4 Ratings
  1. "Great gig, while it lasted"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at SolutionSet full-time

    Pros

    Competitive pay, PTO, flexible schedule

    Cons

    No room to advance, company downsized and laid off the majority of their staff

    SolutionSet2017-08-31
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Nepotism Galore. Stay Away!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Palo Alto, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SolutionSet for more than a year

    Pros

    They hire off Craigslist, so landing the job is pretty easy.

    Cons

    Nepotism galore. Unless you are a master of navigating office politics and nepotism, your career will certainly run aground while here.

    SolutionSet2016-03-30
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Lot of interesting projects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SolutionSet full-time

    Pros

    Different clients means different technical problems to solve. Lots of learning of new technologies and applying on the job. My reporting chain really pushed for a quality 40 hours a week and that's it. So good work life balance there.

    Cons

    You are creating stuff for another company. Once the contract is done, the thing you created is taken away by the client and sometimes destroyed.

    SolutionSet2016-01-13
  4. "Good salary for a first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SolutionSet

    Pros

    CEO had great vision and ideas

    Cons

    Middle management couldn't incorporate CEO's vision into existing projects

    SolutionSet2015-09-24
  5. "HTML Developer @ Google"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    HTML Developer in Mountain View, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SolutionSet for less than a year

    Pros

    Google's perks Fun team members Decent pay since the job was so easy

    Cons

    Management was nice but not very effective Redundant work Lack of meaningful work No upward mobility Picky client

    SolutionSet2015-06-11
  6. "Account Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Account Director in San Francisco, CA

    I worked at SolutionSet for less than a year

    Pros

    This was a good company with good leadership. I worked there for many years and learned a lot and was able to manage a successful team.

    Cons

    Once they this company was bought out, everything changed and the culture was no longer as pleasant.

    SolutionSet2015-04-29
  7. "Tread carefully"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SolutionSet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Salary, location, clients, snacks, location

    Cons

    Nature of the work (boring, not creative), management has their heads up their rears, highly political, seeming lack of vision and pipeline, soulless culture

    Advice to Management

    Throw a dart at a strategic direction and stay on course. You all are rudderless.

    SolutionSet2014-05-18
  8. "Overall positive experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee -  in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SolutionSet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Worked with some kind and smart people here. Respectful and professional atmosphere, for the most part. Excellent recruiter. Got some really good experience, while working across a range of clients.

    Cons

    Project work was dull/monotonous at times.

    SolutionSet2014-02-26
  9. "Lot's of opportunities to learn."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SolutionSet full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    This is a consulting agency, so most get the opportunity to work on a myriad of projects. As a result, one can pick up a lot of different skill-sets along the way. Can get busy at times, but overall the work/life balance is good.

    Cons

    Acquired by a large company (Alliance Data Systems / Epsilon), which has led to a lot of recent turnover.

    Advice to Management

    Need to communicate about the short, medium, and long-term vision for SolutionSet within the context of the overall company (Alliance Data Systems / Epsilon).

    SolutionSet2014-02-06
  10. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SolutionSet

    Pros

    Good clients, good process, good learning opportunity, good co-workers. I learned so much in the time I was at SolutionSet due to the demands of the projects I was working on.

    Cons

    Acquisition by Epsilon changed the tone of the company to a much larger corporate one. The company update meetings have become just reviews of company financials and are totally impersonal.

    Advice to Management

    Don't be absorbed into Epsilon

    SolutionSet2014-01-23
Found 12 reviews