Sony Pictures Animation Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Sony Pictures Animation Reviews

Updated 25 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
83%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Sony Pictures Animation President Bob Osher (no image)
Bob Osher
7 Ratings
  1. "Great Studio!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vis Dev Artist in Culver City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sony Pictures Animation full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    SPA is a great company to work for in the animation industry. They treat the employees well and keep everyone up-to-date on information through "Monthlies," which are actually bi-monthly. The leadership team of Kristine Belson and Pam Marsden are artist-friendly and do care about their teams. I hope I get to work here again.

    Cons

    The onsite cafeteria could be better. However, there are lots of options in the area. Love the addition of the grill.

    Sony Pictures Animation2019-09-25
  2. "Great Place to Work (If You Don't Mind Not Having Much Input)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Video Editor in Culver City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sony Pictures Animation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great atmosphere, friendly people, employees are respected.

    Cons

    - I was respected, but not necessarily trusted to do my job the right way. Was mostly a set of hands. - Most of the movies are not great. Not too proud to work on them. - Upper-level politics among executives create a TON of problems (particularly at SPE, not SPA).

    Advice to Management

    Focus on creating better movies. Trust your artists to create art.

    Sony Pictures Animation2019-01-17
  3. "Love my job; Studio has much room for improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Sony Pictures Animation full-time

    Pros

    My experience working here has been very positive. I love the people and enjoy the work. I feel supported and have opportunities to learn and grow.

    Cons

    Still feels like a new studio (which can be a good thing), but it comes with growing pains, especially with its recent expansion.

    Advice to Management

    Trust in the talent (directors/artists) to create new, unique, diverse stories and fight hard for these stories to get made. It's already starting to happen but keep fighting.

    Sony Pictures Animation2018-02-12
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Production Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Coordinator in Culver City, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sony Pictures Animation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    401k Great Medical & Dental Location Nice people Creative environment

    Cons

    Cliques No room for advancement; have to leave and come back to get a higher position.

    Advice to Management

    Fire the EVP of Production

    Sony Pictures Animation2017-07-11
  5. "Intermediate Animator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Animator in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sony Pictures Animation for more than a year

    Pros

    It is a great environment for growth in your art career

    Cons

    You have to be knocking doors at the end of your contract

    Advice to Management

    Find way to keep the people that proof to be good

    Sony Pictures Animation2017-06-05
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Decent Internship Program"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Intern in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sony Pictures Animation for less than a year

    Pros

    -You get to work alongside some of the most creative professionals in the industry -On-site cafeteria + walking distance from Trader Joes and various restaurants -Free movie screenings

    Cons

    -Lack of structure: Work consists mostly of getting food and drinks for everyone. Aside from that, you're pretty much on your own.

    Advice to Management

    Give production interns a more structured program that allows them to participate in film production beyond getting food and drinks.

    Sony Pictures Animation2016-08-30
  7. "Love this place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Modeler in Culver City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sony Pictures Animation

    Pros

    Very low politics level. Respect is given and salary is very good - commensurate with the other big studios.

    Cons

    The commute. Other than that, nothing so far.

    Advice to Management

    Keep being awesome!

    Sony Pictures Animation2016-08-25
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Good Job, but opportunities are inconsistent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Sony Pictures Animation

    Pros

    Small business/intimate environment feel in a large, global company. Proven success in animated films. Salaries are higher than competitors. Annual bonus! Good location.

    Cons

    Production teams can be cliquey and make it challenging for newcomers to assimilate. Staffing needs fluctuate greatly, so it's hard to determine possible job security, regardless of performance. Opportunities for career growth are limited. Perks are inferior, compared to competitor studios (gym, commissary, company discounts, health insurance).

    Sony Pictures Animation2016-01-20
  9. Helpful (1)

    "None"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     in Culver City, CA

    I worked at Sony Pictures Animation

    Pros

    Excellent location and work environment

    Cons

    No downside I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    Continue the commitment to animation and television.

    Sony Pictures Animation2015-05-14
  10. "Great and unique opportunity! Had the chance to work on animation projects and test my limits."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Summer Internship in Culver City, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sony Pictures Animation for less than a year

    Pros

    Great experience with friendly and talented people! I learnt a lot there thanks to the advices of my mentors and other employees from my department.

    Cons

    Except interns from my department, there are not that much events that make other interns meet each other. No help for housing.

    Advice to Management

    Maybe create friendly events for interns (parties, lunches/dinners)? I would have liked to be connected with other departments too.

    Sony Pictures Animation2015-03-30
Found 16 reviews