Southwest Gas Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Southwest Gas Reviews

Updated Jun 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 72 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
John P. Hester
0 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Pay raises are inadequate and a high deductible health insurance(in 4 reviews)

  • "Is anyone conducting exit interviews to find out why there is such high turnover(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Representative in Tucson, AZ

    I have been working at Southwest Gas full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Loved my boss and my coworkers

    Cons

    No advice from management or coworkers

    Southwest Gas2019-06-11
  2. Helpful (1)

    "The Dinosaur that Survives as a Monopoly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tucson, AZ
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Southwest Gas full-time

    Pros

    Stability, strong employee work ethic (most employees), is a monopoly (regardless of the talk about being in the "energy" industry with competitors)

    Cons

    Stagnant management practices, a "we've always done it this way" atmosphere, a "big brother" atmosphere, and not wanting to hear new opinions/ideas.

    Advice to Management

    Stop treating employees like robots.

    Southwest Gas2019-05-17
  3. "good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Risk in Las Vegas, NV
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Southwest Gas full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good company to work for.

    Cons

    The health insurance is expensive but good.

    Southwest Gas2019-04-09
  4. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Gas full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good lunch and employee event

    Cons

    Management, "thank you young person" from advertisement

    Advice to Management

    New blood

    Southwest Gas2019-03-15
  5. "Good place management needs improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Southwest Gas

    Pros

    Loved most of the people I worked with and I knew my job was always secure. Also loved how philanthropic they were always gave back to the community.

    Cons

    Horrible middle management who aren't qualified to be managers.

    Advice to Management

    Work on your management staff and then you would have a solid company.

    Southwest Gas2018-12-28
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Gas full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great co-workers, engaged management, stable environment

    Cons

    Lots of long term employees. Change comes slowly

    Advice to Management

    Company needs to be more agile, more attractive to younger workers

    Southwest Gas2018-12-05
  7. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Southwest Gas full-time

      Pros

      Great company to work for

      Cons

      None I can think of

      Advice to Management

      Keep it going

      Southwest Gas2018-10-24
    • Helpful (3)

      "That's the way we've always done it."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Manager in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Southwest Gas full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Great benefits. Friendly people. Fun culture.

      Cons

      Great benefits, so no one leaves (especially those that are incompetent). No desire to make changes in the way they do things. Stuck in the past.

      Southwest Gas2018-08-16
    • Helpful (2)

      "Supervisor"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Southwest Gas full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      401(k) + Pension. Lots of experienced people.

      Cons

      Focus on healthy employee culture is disappearing and becoming less friendly. Employees are increasingly becoming treated as nameless, faceless drones. Lots of favoritism and shady hiring/promoting based on who you know.

      Advice to Management

      Stop throwing money at programs that do nothing for employee morale and start investing in your employees in real ways (bonuses, employee development, training opportunities). Start treating people like people, and allowing people on the front lines to have a voice, instead of every decision being made by people who sit in offices with a door that they can close to avoid interacting with the rest of the employees.

      Southwest Gas2018-08-06
    • "good work place"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - GIS Specialist in Tucson, AZ
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Southwest Gas for more than a year

      Pros

      Very stable, decent pay, an actual pension plan,

      Cons

      Few opportunities to learn new things unless they are directly related your assigned role.

      Advice to Management

      Better flexibility in scheduling would be nice.

      Southwest Gas2018-07-05
    Found 72 reviews