Sovos Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Sovos Reviews

Updated 12 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
74%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Sovos President and CEO Andy Hovancik
Andy Hovancik
118 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "There is high turnover, whether it be people quitting regularly or the company constantly changing the way departments are organized(in 11 reviews)

  • "Low pay but funny management system, no planning(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Interview/Onboarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sovos full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A company with a great culture and lot of transparency within all departments. The interview consisted of a cognitive and behavioral test online & proctored as well. Upon the interview, I was invited for an in-person interview with multiple people from the management team. It lasted for about 2 hours. Pretty straight forward behavioral questions with a lot of information about the position and the role. The entire process took about 2 weeks. Top notch communication system throughout the company. Got a phone call few days upon my interview with an offer and accepted it.

    Cons

    Just started a week ago so I don't have any. Perhaps the pay grade can be improvised based on the applicants' experience and skill set.

    Continue reading
    Sovos2020-03-06

    Sovos Response

    March 19, 2020Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thanks for taking a moment to leave your thoughts. I’m glad that you had a positive interview experience! Our process is a bit unique, but it’s that process that allows us to hire so many talented people that make up that great culture that you pointed out. I’m so pleased that, despite only being here for a short amount of time, you have already been able to identify some of the areas that really make Sovos great. Be Collaborative is one of our core values. As a global organization with offices in 10 countries – collaboration and transparency are two areas that enable us to be as successful as we are. As you work here longer, I am sure that you will identify areas that you do think can be improved upon and I encourage you to not be shy and to step up and off your suggestions on how to make them better. You can make meaningful changes here at Sovos from Day 1. Thanks for joining us, we are so glad that you are a part of our team.

    Continue reading
  2. "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sovos full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The opportunities to advance your career at Sovos are incredible. The company consistently takes chances on it's own employees instead of hiring from the outside. People tend to think that you have to leave Sovos to make more money, or get more opportunity - but all you really have to do is raise your hand. The company is consistently investing in resources - whether it be its recent reboot of Salesforce or the consistent time and effort put into renovating offices globally. You will not want for anything while you work here The flexible time off is awesome. You are consistently challenged. Not everyone likes that. Some people enjoy being able to coast. And that's fine. But that's not Sovos. You learn, you're challenged and you're never bored. I know that there are some complaints about salary. I am very happy with mine. I have always felt like I was paid fairly. Some of our entry-level roles start lower, but the opportunities to advance quickly are there if you look for them. I am sure that there are some senior leaders here that aren't great -but the ones that I know personally are awesome. Connecting it back to that first thing about development - they are always always always cheerleaders for you if you want to grow within the organization. They will never hold you back. I just really like working here. I've worked in many different environments at a bunch of companies - and this is by far the best. I think a lot of people who leave here - especially those of you that were hired here straight out of college - are going to be really disappointed to find that the grass really isn't always greener. We have it pretty good here!

    Cons

    Things do change a lot. I actually view that as a pro as well - but sometimes it gets annoying. This is nitpicky - but there are no admins to help you. There are people who sit at the front desk (sometimes - its hit or miss if they're there when you need them) and they are pretty clear that their job is not to help you with anything from an admin standpoint. Like figure it out yourself. Which I get - we are all grown ups but maybe we could just hire some people who like, don't mind telling you where the notebooks are.

    Continue reading
    Sovos2020-02-10

    Sovos Response

    March 1, 2020Chief Sales Officer

    Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts. I wanted to respond to this review personally because it touches on so many parts of our organization that make me proud. We put a lot of time, effort and resources into making Sovos a great place to work – and a cornerstone of that is the idea of career development. We hire talented, career-minded people who can contribute, develop and grow. Sure, I enjoy watching people contribute, but watching our employees develop and grow is far more rewarding. I’m pleased to hear that you have experienced and taken advantage of these opportunities and that your manager has supported you throughout. I’m also pleased to see that even though sometimes change can be frustrating, you can also see the positive in it. We do change a lot, but you can’t have a big, audacious goal like Solve Tax for Good and remain complacent. Part of those changes often do come from acquisition and I take your point about not losing our sense of self as we grow. We have over 1,400 employees in 10 countries – but our core values have always remained the same. I will pass along your feedback about the front office staff. Our office coordinators are tasked with a tremendous amount of work. It’s not easy to support all these offices – but if we can do anything to improve that we will try. Thank you again for your feedback.

    Continue reading
  3. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer III 

    I have been working at Sovos full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Place, salary, growth oportunities, meal ticket.

    Cons

    Most people are guided by reward. One of the company's principles is proactivity, but I feel that people are only proactive if they are recognized. It shows that people are not really proactive.

    Sovos2020-02-09
  4. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sovos full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Really good facilities, health insurance and general benefits

    Cons

    No opinion to give about this company

    Sovos2020-03-12
  5. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Devops Engineer in Santiago
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sovos full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Big company a lot of opportunities

    Cons

    Nothing yet is a good place for work

    Continue reading
    Sovos2020-01-28

    Sovos Response

    February 5, 2020CTO

    Thanks for your feedback. We’re happy to hear that you see the value and opportunities our organization can provide. Because we have a big mission to Solve Tax For Good you can anticipate that those opportunities will continue to increase. We’re looking forward to seeing your career grow as a result.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Software developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 

    I worked at Sovos full-time

    Pros

    Flexible work time and balance between work and life

    Cons

    Need do kitchen work sometimes, old coffee machine.

    Sovos2020-01-20

    Sovos Response

    January 30, 2020CTO

    Thanks for the feedback. We’re glad you appreciate the flexible time and have found a balance that works for you. We also appreciate you assisting with helping keep our breakrooms clean! If the coffee machine could use some updating we encourage everyone to reach out to our facilities team for assistance. Bringing your feedback directly to them is the most efficient way to address those types of concerns.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Dishonest leadership + poor compensation + a bad product"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sovos full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I met some great friends here in my 2.5 years. Almost everyone I worked with was a genuinely good person. It’s also very easy to move up the corporate ladder in a short span of time if you prove yourself to be smart and enthusiastic.

    Cons

    The pay is very low. I was promoted (for the second time) after a year and a half, and was making $20,000 under the median salary for my new title in my area. I was told I was only eligible for a performance-based raise; not for a new salary reflecting my added responsibilities. And they even nickel-and-dimed me on the performance-based raise, despite consistently positive reviews from my supervisors. The corporate culture is nonexistent; they hire entry-level talent for cheap and people leave constantly because of it. The “Boston” office is actually 20 miles north of the city right off 93 in a depressing corporate office park. Ditto “Minneapolis” and “Atlanta.” By far the most comical was their attempt to spin Farnborough in the UK as “London” – it’s nearly two hours away! The “Executive Leadership Team” is completely full of it, and they barely attempt to hide it. Everyone knows the product and the company are not viable long-term; the software is 30 years out of date and all recorded revenue growth is a result of ill-fated acquisitions to “expand our global footprint” (read: acquire companies that are actually good at what they do in the hope that it’ll rub off on Sovos).

    Continue reading
    Sovos2020-02-25

    Sovos Response

    March 1, 2020CEO

    It is no accident you worked with great people during your time at Sovos, or that you saw a career path here for smart, engaged professionals. Our strategy is to hire for culture and talent – even over experience – because we know talented people will rise to the challenges of a dynamic, growing company in a dynamic, growing market. Nearly half of our 1,300+ employees are early in their careers. They come to Sovos because they can get experiences they wouldn’t get anywhere else. Is this a company where you will work in the heart of a city? In some of our 14 global locations, yes, and in others, no. Is this a company where career-minded people have the chance to learn and advance while helping our customers manage the digital transformation of tax? In every Sovos office, the answer is “yes.” This approach works for the company and most of the people that work here. IDC named Sovos a leader in its 2019 MarketScape report on our market, and Gartner recently positioned us as one of only three compliance vendors of note (including one we’ve since acquired) in a competitive landscape. I hope everyone who works here takes pride in how these independent industry analysts have evaluated Sovos product vision and individual solutions. The people who thrive at Sovos, as it sounds you did with two promotions in less than three years, do so because they embody our core values to be collaborative, accountable, adaptable, proactive and professional. That is the Sovos culture. Thanks for your contributions to Sovos during your time here. We wish you the best in your future career.

    Continue reading
  8. "Awesome place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Compliance Services Associate 
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sovos full-time

    Pros

    Are truly supportive of growth and invest in people.

    Cons

    too short duration to assess

    Sovos2020-01-18

    Sovos Response

    January 21, 2020Chief Sales Officer

    Thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback. We’re glad to hear that you've enjoyed your experience so far, and have noticed the investment in career growth and our employees. After all, our employees are what make Sovos so special! Welcome to the team and looking forward to watching your career grow.

    Continue reading
  9. "Welcome to Sovos!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sovos full-time

    Pros

    Welcome to Sovos. In the next 48-hours, you will learn (from a 30,000 ft overview) the following: - What the company does (short and sweet) - Leaders of the company - 5 Core values that define a Sovosian (Be Adaptable, Be Professional, Be Proactive, Be Collaborative, & Be Accountable) - Your benefits - Work culture & emphasis on organizational health - How to be successful in the company Next, you will partake in a series of intense (but very valuable) training to help you further learn about the key concepts, terms, personas, company's goals & objectives, and trends [relevant to your role] to move you up the ladder of success. Each and every activity has been carefully designed and created to set you up for success. And more importantly, to show you that you are not alone in this company -- you'll have access to a group of brilliant minds, a great vast of resources (guide/cheat sheets, presentations, etc.), and unlimited support from the management. Because after all, it all boils down to this: We are one Sovos, and we are here to help you grow and be successful. And this is why I gave Sovos a 5-star rating.

    Cons

    Cons? I just can't seem to pinpoint to one when this company places so much emphasis on promoting organizational health and one who is committed to its employees' welfare as much as its customers'.

    Sovos2020-01-16

    Sovos Response

    January 21, 2020Vice President, Corporate Marketing

    Thank you for the tremendous feedback. We're happy you enjoyed your onboarding experience and have felt welcomed, supported and valued. Training Magazine recently recognized the Sovos First 48 program you described with a Best Practice award, and experiences like yours explain why. As you've already seen, Sovos is composed of engaged, talented and career-minded people like you, and we're excited to have you join the team. Welcome! We look forward to playing a role in your career growth.

    Continue reading
  10. "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Connectivity Engineer in Wilmington, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sovos full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great teamwork, fast paced, room for growth

    Cons

    Consistent realignment for no apparent reason

    Continue reading
    Sovos2020-01-13

    Sovos Response

    January 20, 2020CTO

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. I completely agree with all of the nice things you say about Sovos. There is a ton of room for growth here and the people are great. You nailed it. I also understand your critique. We do change a lot – occasionally that comes in the form of realignments. I can assure you that there are always reasons for why – sometimes it’s because the market is changing in ways that require us to adapt, sometimes it’s because we have acquired a new company and are integrating new employees. It’s important for our employees to understand the why of what we are doing – and we have put an emphasis on improving top down communication at Sovos in recent years to make it clear, effective and timely. We have seen improved feedback from employees on engagement surveys, but it’s an area that we will continue to focus and improve on. I want to thank you for being at Sovos for over 5 years! We value your service, and encourage you to continue to speak out about areas you would like to see improvement with myself directly or any other member of leadership.

    Continue reading
Found 198 reviews