Spencer Gifts Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Spencer Gifts Reviews

Updated Jul 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 740 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Spencer Gifts CEO Steven Silverstein
Steven Silverstein
367 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low pay: When your Sales Sup only makes 60-75cents more than your associates, that's already a problem(in 63 reviews)

  • "Upper management positions rarely opened up for advancement(in 55 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "My 1 year expeiriance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Spencer Gifts

      Pros

      I do the job very sinciyearly

      Cons

      Give me any challenge i do

      Advice to Management

      Give me job please

      Spencer Gifts2018-11-12
    • "Great job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales Supervisor in Fayetteville, AR
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Spencer Gifts part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Flexible schedule, great team

      Cons

      Pay is subpar and a lot of times, add ons aren't counted correctly.

      Spencer Gifts2019-07-13
    • Helpful (1)

      "It was okay but really bad management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Pensacola, FL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Spencer Gifts full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      It was fun and you learned a lot about retail

      Cons

      My manager was a micro manager and didn’t teach, coach or train. Didn’t find out until later that I was supposed to be done so much more but she never showed us. It sucks because then it looked like I didn’t know how to do my job, which I didn’t, thanks to her.

      Advice to Management

      Have a consistent plan on how each store should train their employees so that it’s consistent. Then if they move stores, they know what to do.

      Spencer Gifts2019-07-11
    • "Great environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales Associate 
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Spencer Gifts part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      It’s a great place to work at, great coworkers and fast paced

      Cons

      Lack of hours and benefits. Pay could be better.

      Spencer Gifts2019-06-14
    • "Great Job Advancement - Little recognition for hard work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Boston, MA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Spencer Gifts part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      always an opportunity for advancement within districts, health, dental & vision benefits, fun place to work - very diverse

      Cons

      little recognition, pay is average with small yearly raises, barely any relationship with upper management beyond district manager

      Spencer Gifts2019-06-25
    • "Don't come in!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Store Manager in Lexington-Fayette, KY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Spencer Gifts full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      *Good discounts *open atmosphere *Great benefits

      Cons

      *Horrible Upper management *No effort to train people *lack of upper support

      Advice to Management

      Find a good district manager that will help you not hurt you.

      Spencer Gifts2019-06-24
    • Helpful (1)

      "Fun to shop there, horrible to work there"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Store Manager in Kansas City, MO
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Spencer Gifts full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Fun products, fun employees, good work hours

      Cons

      Low pay, no appreciation for hard work done, no respect from upper management

      Advice to Management

      Expect little appreciation, recognition or rewards for exceeding all goals. Do not expect to feel valued for doing a great job

      Spencer Gifts2019-06-11
    • "Not good for paying bills"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Supervisor 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Spencer Gifts part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Fun and lax environment.

      Cons

      Penny pinching company. Will fight tooth and nail so you won't get a raise.

      Spencer Gifts2019-06-05
    • "Part-Time Job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Assistant Manager 

        I worked at Spencer Gifts part-time

        Pros

        Fun part time job while in high-school and college.

        Cons

        Worked evenings and weekends.

        Spencer Gifts2019-05-23
      • Helpful (1)

        "Store manager"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Store Manager 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at Spencer Gifts full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Dress code is laid back!

        Cons

        Regional is very fake and acts like she cares, but doesn’t and you can see it! Wages are way to low for retail! This is not the best place to work!

        Advice to Management

        Don’t work for them!

        Spencer Gifts2019-06-11
      Found 740 reviews