Spencer Stuart Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Spencer Stuart Reviews

Updated Jul 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 223 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Spencer Stuart CEO Ben Williams
Ben Williams
10 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits and compensation, lots of training(in 22 reviews)

  • "Great culture, friendly work environment and constantly have corp parties every month(in 12 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good Place to Work in Executive Search"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Mumbai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spencer Stuart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Quality work, Result Oriented, Rewards well, Opportunity to work with intellectually astute consultants, flexible to employee needs, nurtures diversity by action

    Cons

    Being Process Oriented is great but database profile updation is a pain.

    Advice to Management

    Database profile update needs to be done by someone else rather than an associate as it is not a good use of the associate's time.

    Spencer Stuart2014-02-10
  2. "Incredible opportunity to make an impact"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spencer Stuart full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work with smart, motivated people. Interact with some of the top companies across industry, while helping them solve complex issues. Opportunity to rise up in the organization over time. Snacks galore, great office space, friendly people.

    Cons

    The work can be intense, as we are working with the highest levels of F1000 companies. Collaboration can be difficult internally, but easier when you are proactive in reaching out to colleagues. Don't expect to be coddled. The Chicago office was once fairly formal....that has improved vastly.

    Advice to Management

    Communication across the firm has been increasing, which has been great...keep it up.

    Spencer Stuart2019-07-17
  3. "Finest human capital advisory firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Partner 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spencer Stuart full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Exceptional people, positive culture, world class leadership and advanced technology combine to create an extraordinary working environment.

    Cons

    Nothing worth mentioning that isn’t being addressed.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!

    Spencer Stuart2019-07-17
  4. "A career more than a job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spencer Stuart full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Smart and team oriented people who are genuinely dedicated and who are largely driven by the same motivations in pleasing our clients. We have the good fortune of having a great brand in the market so we are blessed to be able to work at the top with some of the best companies in the world. Over the last few years, it has been gratifying to see how the next generation of people have joined the firm at entry levels...

    Show More

    Cons

    Serving clients is sometimes hard so clearly too many of us sometimes get out of whack on work/life balance. That said, I love this place and my colleagues.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing including, continually encouraging the hiring of more diverse talent.

    Spencer Stuart2019-07-16
  5. "Making an impact"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spencer Stuart full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Committed and talented colleagues Interesting client work

    Cons

    Work life balance can be a challenge

    Spencer Stuart2019-07-12
  6. "Nice people, poor culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Spencer Stuart full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits and flexible about working from home/in other offices Nice individuals Good exposure to industry Effective searches - almost always successfully close

    Cons

    Not a diverse work force (on the research/consulting side) Homogenous office personality Passive aggressive culture, little to no feedback which creates lots of anxiety Not much room to advance unless you're lucky and have a great boss (unlikely since consultants are so busy/absent from office)

    Advice to Management

    Invest in more managers (non-consultant bosses) to oversee learning and development at firm Invest in more diversity & inclusion

    Spencer Stuart2019-07-09
  7. "Not for ambitious people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Milan
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spencer Stuart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance and friendly enviroment

    Cons

    No career progression and lack of meritocracy

    Spencer Stuart2019-06-20
  8. "analyst experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Analyst 

      I have been working at Spencer Stuart full-time

      Pros

      benefits possibility to meet and interact with stimlulating people

      Cons

      slow career path low investments on people

      Spencer Stuart2019-06-14
    • "Great Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - IT Manager in London, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Spencer Stuart full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      A phenomenal team of passionate people, dedicated and supportive of colleagues...

      Cons

      ... can be demanding on work-life balance.

      Advice to Management

      keep on innovating

      Spencer Stuart2019-05-21
    • "Stay away if you value your time, your life or yourself"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Peon in Chicago, IL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Spencer Stuart full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      It's nice to be in River North...once you get there. You can learn a lot about how a company runs itself into the ground at top speed.

      Cons

      Leadership is fractured, unorganized and dysfunctional. There is no collaboration. Micromanagement and authoritarianism abound. Business model is outdated & it shows in their results.

      Advice to Management

      What for?

      Spencer Stuart2019-06-17
    Found 223 reviews