Spiceworks Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Spiceworks Reviews

Updated 21 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
68%
Recommend to a Friend
Spiceworks President Steve Horowitz (no image)
Steve Horowitz
0 Rating
Pros
  • "When going through the interview process a lot of promises were made around the company culture, the autonomous nature of the role etc(in 15 reviews)

  • "Casual dress code, approachable team members, free food(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "It’s a mid-size company that has experienced some growing pains over the past few years(in 12 reviews)

  • "Company either can't or doesn't want to invest in developers in Austin(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Nice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sr in New Delhi
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spiceworks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Best salary in industry.nice environment

    Cons

    Management, slow process for appraisals

    Spiceworks2019-05-01
  2. "consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spiceworks

    Pros

    good org to work with

    Cons

    none as such. overall friendly company to work

    Spiceworks2015-11-25
  3. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spiceworks full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company, great pay, and fun place to work.

    Cons

    Slow to develop product and scale

    Spiceworks2020-01-21
  4. "Start up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Success Specialist in London, England

    I worked at Spiceworks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Start up feeling, Good work-life balance

    Cons

    Too much attention on sales positions

    Spiceworks2020-01-06
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Great people, bad management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Art Director in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Spiceworks full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Good work/life balance - Smart, talented workers - Opportunities to make projects fun and creative - Support and trust from middle management

    Cons

    - Confused overall business strategy to the point where even executives can't tell you what exactly the company really does or how it makes money - Frequent mass layoffs - Highly political - Roles actively being exported to India - Dishonest positioning about state of company upon hire

    Continue reading
    Spiceworks2019-10-04
  6. "Great place!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Director in Austin, TX
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Spiceworks full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people are amazing to work with.

    Cons

    Lots of change happening, that is taking away from the work.

    Spiceworks2019-09-17
  7. Helpful (8)

    "Sinking ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Spiceworks

    Pros

    The people. That's about it.

    Cons

    Everything else. Well I guess you can consider snacks a pro but they are seriously lacking there too.

    Continue reading
    Spiceworks2019-08-16
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Brand Designer in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Spiceworks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits and okay culture

    Cons

    There is no clear company direction

    Spiceworks2019-08-03
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Used to be a great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Spiceworks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Good people -Products that help I.T. pros do their job. -Decent benefits.

    Cons

    -Lack of direction. -Applications that customers depend on are becoming neglected and outdated. -Bleeding employees. A whole lot of turnover in development. The engineering department is a shadow of its former self. -Company either can't or doesn't want to invest in developers in Austin. Now opening an engineering office in India. -Terrible commute on 360 -Below average pay

    Spiceworks2019-01-03

    Spiceworks Response

    March 13, 2019CEO & Co-founder

    Agree with you on the great people & helping IT pros do their jobs -- which is to keep millions of organizations worldwide up-and-running and moving forward with new technology every day. However, I'd like to address your concerns re: direction and turnover. For over 6 months in our bi-weekly company town halls, at Spiceworld, and in the community we've discussed our direction, vision and 3 pillar strategy on building connections in the IT marketplace. It is true that direction is increasingly less dependent on on-premise applications which is consistent with how the IT world has evolved over the past 13 years we've been around. With regards to turnover, the facts are that 3 years ago we had a much bigger engineering dept. Unfortunately many of the projects folks were working on weren't used by many people and weren't tied to our business model. We also had to evolve and change many of the skills we had on the team. I'm very proud of the scale and impact of what the team is now accomplishing. We are hiring engineers in Austin and in fact just recently announced a new head of engineering (former employee who returned to be part of what we're building). The India Development Center is an exciting addition to the company to help us tap a global talent pool - and to think and build products globally which is in line with the fact that we serve the global IT marketplace. And I agree - traffic in Austin is getting worse. I'm glad TxDoT has a good plan to evolve 360.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Culture shines through as company evolves"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spiceworks full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The recent unveiling of the three year plan and the vision for the company in the future is compelling. Spiceworks adds value for IT Pros and the Vendors they connect with. This enables their businesses to move forward on their goals.

    Cons

    Some growing pains as the company transitions and aligns with the new vision.

    Continue reading
    Spiceworks2018-11-06
Found 133 reviews