Spiceworks Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Spiceworks Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 127 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Spiceworks CEO Jay Hallberg
Jay Hallberg
59 Ratings
Pros
  • "When going through the interview process a lot of promises were made around the company culture, the autonomous nature of the role etc(in 15 reviews)

  • "Casual dress code, approachable team members, free food(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "It’s a mid-size company that has experienced some growing pains over the past few years(in 12 reviews)

  • "Company either can't or doesn't want to invest in developers in Austin(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Nice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sr in New Delhi
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spiceworks full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Best salary in industry.nice environment

    Cons

    Management, slow process for appraisals

    Spiceworks2019-05-01
  2. "consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spiceworks

    Pros

    good org to work with

    Cons

    none as such. overall friendly company to work

    Spiceworks2015-11-25
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Used to be a great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Spiceworks full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    -Good people -Products that help I.T. pros do their job. -Decent benefits.

    Cons

    -Lack of direction. -Applications that customers depend on are becoming neglected and outdated. -Bleeding employees. A whole lot of turnover in development. The engineering department is a shadow of its former self. -Company either can't or doesn't want to invest in developers in Austin. Now opening an engineering office in India. -Terrible commute on 360 -Below average pay

    Spiceworks2019-01-03

    Spiceworks Response

    March 13, 2019CEO & Co-founder

    Agree with you on the great people & helping IT pros do their jobs -- which is to keep millions of organizations worldwide up-and-running and moving forward with new technology every day. However, I'd like to address your concerns re: direction and turnover. For over 6 months ...

    Show More
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Culture shines through as company evolves"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spiceworks full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    The recent unveiling of the three year plan and the vision for the company in the future is compelling. Spiceworks adds value for IT Pros and the Vendors they connect with. This enables their businesses to move forward on their goals.

    Cons

    Some growing pains as the company transitions and aligns with the new vision.

    Advice to Management

    Get after the new vision and help transform the IT industry

    Spiceworks2018-11-06
  5. Helpful (8)

    "No clear company direction or focus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Spiceworks full-time

    Pros

    - Solid coworkers - Solid benefits

    Cons

    - It is hard to get things done when the CEO wants to micro manage every aspect of the business. - Lack of employee investment by the company, and career development here is non-existent - Without clear direction or focus on updating product technology, the company continues to fail users and customers while ultimately missing target sales numbers.

    Advice to Management

    The company has fallen off the 'best places to work' lists and employees are leaving in droves yet it seems leadership is not interested in improving sentiment....or maybe just not equipped to drive meaningful change?

    Spiceworks2018-10-09

    Spiceworks Response

    October 16, 2018CEO & Co-founder

    I'm disappointed to hear that but thanks for the feedback. Without knowing which team you were on it's hard to address each point specifically. I'm not sure what micromanagement you are referring to -- over the past year we have empowered our revenue and product teams through their ...

    Show More
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Loving it so far!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spiceworks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I’m fairly new so this review is based on my experience so far, but I’m loving Spiceworks! The people are so, so nice and helpful. The perks and benefits are great as well! I’ve had good and really bad jobs in my career and I can tell you that I’m very happy to have joined the SW team. I don’t dread going into the office everyday and feel at peace for the first time in years! Thumbs up so far!

    Cons

    Its pretty structured, but I personally love structure and process. If you’re used to lots of WFH days, may be a change. WFH may vary from department to department. Again, I don’t think this is really a con because it’s still very flexible and the work life balance is fantastic.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!

    Spiceworks2018-06-16
  7. "Account Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Director in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Spiceworks full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Spiceworks pays its salespeople by performance. Work hard, achieve a high level of success, and you’ll be paid pretty handsomely for it.

    Cons

    It’s a mid-size company that has experienced some growing pains over the past few years. The right infrastructure is not always in place to help you get you work done efficiently/effectively - often times, you have to create it yourself.

    Spiceworks2018-06-11

    Spiceworks Response

    October 16, 2018CEO & Co-founder

    Thanks for the feedback. As a company that achieved global scale and revenue that very few Austin-based companies achieve we absolutely had (and still have) a LOT of growing pains. That's why we brought in a management team that has experience in running teams and companies much ...

    Show More
  8. "One of the best companies to work for in Austin , by far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spiceworks full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Competitive salaries Great people Progressive in the market place Fun environment Awesome open door policy

    Cons

    Can't think of any currently.

    Spiceworks2018-05-23

    Spiceworks Response

    October 16, 2018CEO & Co-founder

    Great to see you're enjoying it! Thanks for being here and for sharing your feedback. As we say, "we don't have ESP" so please take advantage of the "open door" to share anything we should be improving.

  9. Helpful (1)

    "Email Marketing Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Email Marketing Associate in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Spiceworks full-time

    Pros

    The culture's a lot of fun, great coworkers.

    Cons

    Can't work remote, salary is pretty low for Austin Tech.

    Spiceworks2018-04-30
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Spiceworks full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Great people, snacks, paid maternity/paternity leave

    Cons

    Broken communication, no feedback provided, it's primarily a sales org and everything is about getting the dollars

    Spiceworks2018-04-02
Found 127 reviews