Spiceworks Ziff Davis Reviews

Updated 17 Feb 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
82%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Spiceworks Ziff Davis President Steve Horowitz (no image)
Steve Horowitz
8 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good company culture, encourages success and rewards you well when you hit targets(in 15 reviews)

  • "Casual dress code, approachable team members, free food(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "It’s a mid-size company that has experienced some growing pains over the past few years(in 12 reviews)

  • "Company either can't or doesn't want to invest in developers in Austin(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. "Excellent people, great work environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Spiceworks Ziff Davis full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Overall great company to work for in Hyderabad. It has recently started its operation in Hyderabad in 2019. Modern tech stack Great resources and tools Global mindset Generous perks and outings Open work culture, less hierarchy Great Benefits and salary Flexible work hours Free food Cool office Care for growth and learning Working from home Understanding leadership, smart team and caring people MacBook for engineering team Start-up like nature yet part of the big multinational group

    Cons

    Little uncertainty in the direction

    Continue reading

    Spiceworks Ziff Davis Response

    February 21, 2021Recruiter

    Thank you for taking the time to write a thoughtful review! We appreciate hearing about your personal experience and are glad to learn that you enjoy working with your team members and our unique work perks. We care very deeply for our employees and love to hear successful stories about teams collaborating and becoming one team. We are growing quickly which we value your feedback. Your input informs what we do next so that we can cultivate our workplace for everyone’s success.

  2. "Decent Place to Work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Softwaren Engineer II 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spiceworks Ziff Davis full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Culture overall and good teams

    Cons

    Compensation is less when compared to market

    Spiceworks Ziff Davis Response

    February 28, 2021Recruiter

    Thank you for taking the time to write a thoughtful review! We appreciate hearing about your experience and are glad to learn that you enjoy working with your team members. We agree that it is super important for us to continue looking for ways to improve and never be complacent. We are always trying to match the market standards and try to keep our standards high.


  3. "Good company to learning"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Pune
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spiceworks Ziff Davis full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good company to Learn new technologies. Healthy Environment

    Cons

    Cab facility is not available for day shift

    Spiceworks Ziff Davis Response

    February 21, 2021Recruiter

    Thank you for taking the time to write a thoughtful review! We appreciate hearing about your personal experience and are glad to learn that you enjoy working with your team members and our unique work perks. We care very deeply for our employees and love to hear successful stories about teams collaborating and becoming one team. We are growing quickly which we value your feedback. Your input informs what we do next so that we can cultivate our workplace for everyone’s success.

  4. "Nice"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sr in New Delhi
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spiceworks Ziff Davis full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Best salary in industry.nice environment

    Cons

    Management, slow process for appraisals

  5. "consultant"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spiceworks Ziff Davis

    Pros

    good org to work with

    Cons

    none as such. overall friendly company to work

  6. COVID-19

    "Great Company Values for Decent Pay"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Devops Engineer in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spiceworks Ziff Davis full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    decent working pace mistakes are learned from and accepted fun culture progressive company values (Juneteenth & Election day holidays) unlimited PTO employee stock program 401K always considered employee health & safety first during coronavirus fully remote is okay

    Cons

    loose on structure, planning, acceptance criteria pay is at or just below (recruiters offering a bit more almost every time) no clear path to internal growth or promotion (like criteria for engineering tiers or career paths)

    Continue reading

    Spiceworks Ziff Davis Response

    February 28, 2021Recruiter

    Thank you for sharing your input. It is good to hear that you agree with what is being done for our employees regarding benefits, time off, and the working environment. We realize the importance of having a career path for every employee and are diligently working to put that in place. We value our employees and their impact on the company. We have a compensation philosophy that we follow and are working towards making sure each employee is paid appropriately. Please feel free to set up a time with HR to discuss any of your concerns. We want to hear from you.

  7. "Good Gig"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Spiceworks Ziff Davis full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Solid product suite, good management and team.

    Cons

    Took some time to get acclimated with the merger.

    Continue reading

    Spiceworks Ziff Davis Response

    February 21, 2021Recruiter

    Thank you for taking the time to write a thoughtful review! We appreciate hearing about your personal experience and are glad to learn that you enjoy working with your team members and our unique work perks. We care very deeply for our employees and love to hear successful stories about teams collaborating and becoming one team. We are growing quickly which we value your feedback. Your input informs what we do next so that we can cultivate our workplace for everyone’s success.

  8. "Great Company"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 

    I worked at Spiceworks Ziff Davis full-time

    Pros

    I loved my time at Spiceworks

    Cons

    I felt it was a difficult and complicated business

    Spiceworks Ziff Davis Response

    February 21, 2021Recruiter

    Thank you for taking the time to write a thoughtful review! We appreciate hearing about your personal experience and are glad to learn that you enjoy working with your team members and our unique work perks. We care very deeply for our employees and love to hear successful stories about teams collaborating and becoming one team. We are growing quickly which we value your feedback. Your input informs what we do next so that we can cultivate our workplace for everyone’s success.

  9. "Changed for the better post ZiffDavis acquisition"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spiceworks Ziff Davis full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The company expresses progressive ideals....

    Cons

    ...but the company still has a lack of diversity.

    Continue reading

    Spiceworks Ziff Davis Response

    February 28, 2021Recruiter

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate hearing that you value the company’s progressive ideals. We agree that it is super important for us to continue looking for ways to improve and never be complacent. We also value the importance of a diverse group of employees and will continue to expand that effort and treat all candidates fairly based on their skills. Please let us know if you would like to provide any additional feedback. We are always open to learning more about how we can improve. You can write us your suggestions to“recruiting@spiceworks.com”

  10. "Great place"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 

    I worked at Spiceworks Ziff Davis full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work at!

    Cons

    I have none to speak of.

    Spiceworks Ziff Davis Response

    February 21, 2021Recruiter

    Thank you for taking the time to write a thoughtful review! We appreciate hearing about your personal experience and are glad to learn that you enjoy working with your team members and our unique work perks. We care very deeply for our employees and love to hear successful stories about teams collaborating and becoming one team. We are growing quickly which we value your feedback. Your input informs what we do next so that we can cultivate our workplace for everyone’s success.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 143 English Reviews

Work at Spiceworks Ziff Davis? Share Your Experiences

Spiceworks Ziff Davis logo
or